We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Ranked #16 of 396 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The hotel is very well located and the service is impeccable. We send our bags from Nagoya and when we reached the hotel they told us that they were already inside the rooms previously reserved for us. During check-in, we asked to stay in connected rooms and when we got to the new rooms, our bags were already there. I never saw more efficient service!
The breakfast is very good and the staff very friendly. The hotel has a modern and stylish decor. Highly recommended this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariafaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

964 - 970 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

Beautiful trendy hotel! Perfect location for shopping (Kawaramachi and Shijo streets, Teramachi and Shin Kyogoku Shopping Arcades...), walking distance to Gion and many attractions but also easy to take a subway/bus/train, many restaurants nearby... Friendly, hospitable, polite and helpful staff! Rooms were nice & clean and beds comfy. There were coffee and tea maker, small fridge, slippers, yucata = cotton kimonos and the bathroom has both bath and shower/rain shower (relaxing after a long day). The breakfast is a bit pricy with mostly japanese food. Needless to say, the hotel is just lovely!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reggaeton73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

i booked this hotel through agoda and hotels.com reason being is one was offering a queen bed and the other 2 singles- for some reason none were offering the same thing...
We were travelling from Tokyo - the best way to get to the hotel is via a 15 min taxi ride if you have a lot of luggage; although the nearest metro station is only a ten min walk down the road.

I chose Royal Park because of the location and the fact that it was new - and I'm glad I did! the location was fantastic! At the hotel doorstep if you take the left and turn right your headed 3 mins to Ponto Cho, if you go right your headed to the shopping district.

The hotel staff were helpful; offering us an umbrella when it was raining and helping us arrange a courier for our luggage to our next hotel (highly recommend this service) and someone is always there who knows enough english to get by.

The rooms were on the small side however the facilities were new and comfortable. We had to rearrange some of the furniture to fit our snowboard bag and large luggage so it was a bit tight, however we only really used the room to sleep so the cramp space was fine for our three night stay.

The hotel buffet breakfast was very nice, had a lot of variety; western and japanese but it is on the expensive side - it is worth a try though. If you want something simple grab some pastry downstairs at the bakery which is pretty tasty.

I'd also recommend hiring a bike as soon as you're able - its the best way to see the city.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I booked this hotel on expedia, having read some really positive reviews on trip advisor, My wife , daughter and myself were in Kyoto for 3 days and was looking for somewhere reasonably central to Kyoto's attractions,I was drawn to this hotel because of its location, price and the age of the property. I was not dissapointed on any count, the rooms were beautifully appointed , a little small, but, this is Japan, The reception staff were efficient and helpfull, and spoke anough English to be able to communicate adequatley.The main shopping district is a short walk, and there are literally thousands of restaurants near by. I have to strongly recomend the coffee shop on the corner in the next block on the river side of the hotel (amazing).I would also recommend a day trip to Nara, which you can access easily by train, allow yourself a day. I would give this hotel two thumbs up and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: i think all the rooms would be of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ianlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

After a week-long business trip in Tokyo, my husband and I took an extra week to travel to Kyoto and Kobe. Booked this hotel a few weeks ahead of time on GREAT site, Agoda.com, and got a double bed, nonsmoking room for a very good price for 3 nights. Although the hotel is not walking distance from the train station (we took Shinkansen from Tokyo) the cab ride was about 1200 yen, so not too terrible. First impression walking in: clean, classy, expensive, modern. Front desk staff spoke good English and were very helpful in recommending nearby restaurants and where to go. Kyoto very easy to get around via bus and subway! Room was small, but clean, with a comfortable bed and very nice bathroom. Free wifi and LAN connection available in room too which was great.

Location of the hotel is very central to great restaurants, shopping with close and easy access to subway and bus. We didn't opt for the hotel breakfast buffet and instead happily ate next door at Boulangerie (their Croque Monsieur is outstanding!) Their pastries and savory little ham and cheese croissants were great to have for a midday snack while sightseeing. Overall, loved our experience here!

Room Tip: Book your room at www.agoda.com - great prices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanielleWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Our family of five were delighted to arrive in the lovely, modern lobby of the Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto. The staff were always very helpful. The rooms were spacious enough, very clean, modern with quality furnishings and complimentary amenities. Our three teenagers had a larger triple room with an indulgent bathroom/shower. Everyone enjoyed using the cotton pajamas. We found that the availablity of a laundry very useful.
We thought the location an easy walk to train stations, shopping, and a variety of restaurants. It was lively and felt safe at night. And we all loved the bakery next to hotel.
Our daughter was not well during our stay and this was the one hotel that was pleasant to spend the day sleeping and recovering in.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulieMcC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This hotel was just completed in Kyoto in summer of 2011. I travel to Kyoto about 8 times a year and have stayed in all the hotels in this area of the city. This is the best area in Kyoto to stay for convenience. The Kyoto Royal Hotel, and the Kyoto Hotel Okura, and now The Royal Park Hotel all share this excellent location. But, currently this hotel is hands down the best value in my opinion.

The place is brand new and it shows. Not tired like the nearby Kyoto Royal. Prices are currently excellent, nowhere near the higher prices of the Kyoto Okura with the current yen value, that makes a big difference. The rooms are smallish, to a typical Japanese standard. But, they are attractive, well appointed and comfortable. If you are all about luxury, the Okura will offer more high end amenities and larger rooms. But, this is a much better value often at a third the price or less.

Location, price and overall appearance, these people currently have the best combination in this area of Kyoto. Going back next week.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BigInJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 396 in Kyoto
3,120 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#19 of 396 in Kyoto
921 reviews
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#21 of 396 in Kyoto
1,298 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto

Address: Higashiiru Kawaramachi Sanjodori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8004, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 396 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $94 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Rakuten, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing