We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel but huge room and great location > great value option”
Review of Sasarindou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sasarindou
Ranked #143 of 376 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Staff not so friendly (especially for Japan) and little English - but hey, you don't really need much. Breakfast room was like a nightmare school cafeteria - don't bother, they only have bad coffee and croissants with jam (plus some seaweed stuff). Rooms were MASSIVE! Made for a great change. Shower and toilet OK too. Great spot - 3 minutes walk from the river and famous Pontocho street. Heaps of shops and restaurants around, can walk to many places - and 3 minutes walk to Gion Shijo station and bus stops. Overall, a decent budget option.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nade1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 96 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

Very average hotel which is priced too high in my opinion.

Pros:
- Location in Gion was lovely and very traditional. Saw geishas of a night which was awesome and there was a spectacular shrine just 200 metres from the hotel as well as many other shrines/temples nearby.
- Room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was great as there was a door between the toliet and shower so people could use both at the same time. Kimonos and towels were supplied and replaced daily during room service. There was also a mini bar and bottled water delivered daily which was free.

Cons:
- Whole hotel smelt of cigarette smoke which gave it a really dirty feel and was so unpleasant.
- Hotel obviously found it hard to follow instructions as we requested a non-smoking room twice in the booking process but we were given a room on a smoking floor! Very annoyed. We also requested a double bed but we just got two single beds.
- Staff had very very poor English. I would expect most staff in hotels to have some very basic English. They did not know what a "laundry" was. Speaking of which, there was no laundry on site which was a bit inconvenient.
- Breakfast was terrible! The dining room felt like a prison dining room and all food was Japanese style (cold fish, salads etc) apart from some tiny cold croissants. We only had breakfast at the hotel one morning of our 5 day stay and the other mornings we went to a local cafe. Don't get me wrong, I love trying new foods which I did plenty of in Japan but I can't face fish for breakfast.
- Unfortunately this hotel didn't have bike rentals (which we knew when booking) but it proved to be a shame as there was no bike rental anywhere near the hotel either - we had to catch a cab to the closest one as it would have been over a 30 min walk. I would recommend looking up Kyoto bike rentals and choosing a hotel relatively close to the shop if you want to do any cycling around the city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paige C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Nice clean hotel with a beautiful bedroom and bathroom and great location to all the attractions, shops and restaurants, approx. 7 min walk from the train station.
The staff are great and happy to assist with any bookings.
Recommend the 'dress up as a Geisha', it takes about 3 1/2 hours, information can be found in reception, also take a cab there as you may get lost trying to find it or leave at least 30 mins for the walk.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

very spacefull rooms, a nice bathroom and lots of accessories, water offered, very convenient for buses , a self service breakfast - no laundry in the hotel, need to go to a lavomatic -no hangers for the clothes, which is a bit surprising !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank helene b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Chose the "run of the house" room type and given the twin double room. Overall its slightly above average. Old-ish furniture though and its priced on high side. Location is convenient in Gion, public transport within walking distance (nearest bus stop 5-10m) and more shopping (15-20m walk). Food in kyoto is generally more exp than osaka. Great and easy transportation amenities!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank blumaryn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Location right in the middle of old neighborhood of Gion, close to temples etc. Free wifi, working well both in rooms and lobby. Room comfortable. Not too small for Japanese standards.

The staff is friendly but most of them speak only Japanese. I needed some help to do the laundry either myself or using the hotel service. But it was very difficult to communicate, I spent 2 hours in trying to understand where and how to do the laundry. Eventually I did it when I went to Tokyo.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zbattiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Sasarindou has a great location - right in the heart of Gion, within very easy walking distance of plenty of restaurants, temples and attractions. The room was very large, and though the decor was quite tired (rather 1970s) and the bathroom was especially appreciated after a night in a rather dodgy ryokan, as not only was hot water plentiful and water pressure good, but there was a jacuzzi: perfect for refreshing templed out feet and bodies! We only stayed one night, but were delighted with this hotel and would happily have stayed longer - this was the best value of all the places we stayed in Japan, and the staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Gion
APA Hotel Kyoto Gion Excellent
Gion
Kyoto INN Gion
Kyoto INN Gion
#70 of 376 in Kyoto
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pontocho
Hotel Ponto
Hotel Ponto
#211 of 376 in Kyoto
10 reviews
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Grand Bach Kyoto Select
Gion
Rumor Plaza
Rumor Plaza
#96 of 376 in Kyoto
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sasarindou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sasarindou

Address: 570-102 Minamigawa Gionmachi Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0074, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Gion
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 376 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $94 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sasarindou 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sasarindou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing