We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended for easy and light stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sasarindou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sasarindou
Ranked #124 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Recommended for easy and light stay”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Chose the "run of the house" room type and given the twin double room. Overall its slightly above average. Old-ish furniture though and its priced on high side. Location is convenient in Gion, public transport within walking distance (nearest bus stop 5-10m) and more shopping (15-20m walk). Food in kyoto is generally more exp than osaka. Great and easy transportation amenities!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blumaryn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    43
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
35
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
zurich
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Location right in the middle of old neighborhood of Gion, close to temples etc. Free wifi, working well both in rooms and lobby. Room comfortable. Not too small for Japanese standards.

The staff is friendly but most of them speak only Japanese. I needed some help to do the laundry either myself or using the hotel service. But it was very difficult to communicate, I spent 2 hours in trying to understand where and how to do the laundry. Eventually I did it when I went to Tokyo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zbattiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Sasarindou has a great location - right in the heart of Gion, within very easy walking distance of plenty of restaurants, temples and attractions. The room was very large, and though the decor was quite tired (rather 1970s) and the bathroom was especially appreciated after a night in a rather dodgy ryokan, as not only was hot water plentiful and water pressure good, but there was a jacuzzi: perfect for refreshing templed out feet and bodies! We only stayed one night, but were delighted with this hotel and would happily have stayed longer - this was the best value of all the places we stayed in Japan, and the staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I knew this hotel hadn't many reviews so we took a chance booking with it. I think it was a great decision. Although, difficult to find initially, once we found it, it was easy to remember the location.

It is located in a beautiful area that is so quiet and quaint. You can get to subway and buses within 5 minutes and some of the best attractions are nearby.

The rooms were very nicely designed, spacious and clean. However, the fan of the ventilation system in one room kept us awake on the first night. The manager tried to help but no other rooms were free until the morning when he promptly moved us. The second room didn't have any issues. Breakfast wasn't to my liking. No one greeted me when I came in and I had no idea what I could and couldn't eat and where I could sit. In future, staff should greet people and invite them to sit down and help themselves.

That aside, the staff here were amongst the friendliest I have experienced in a hotel. They are so polite, courteous and despite their weakness in speaking English they endeavoured to help us with every request. They simply wouldn't give up until they found a solution and we really appreciated their attitude.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel. I left Kyoto with very fond memories and cannot wait to return. This hotel was part of that experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel was in a really good area for public transport, shops and sightseeing. Our room on the top floor overlooked a lane way and was quite noisy, including bars fare welling their customers and water blasting the bike park area after midnight one night. Included breakfast in a grim room served by a lovely Japanese woman - miso soup and vegetables, eggs, croissants made with margarine, green tea and orange juice. The decor was rather extraordinary every surface decorated and most of it pink or brown. Brown towels pink bathtub etc. huge bathroom with no windows and comfortable bed, although pillows seemed to contain some sort of bead. We paid A$540 for four nights which was quite a lot more than we paid in Tokyo for a smaller but nicer room. Would look for something else in same area if going back next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the lanes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kowhai22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Booked 4 nights with this place.

Pros: Located in the heart of Gion, where restaurants and shopping are aplenty. 5-10 minutes away from the nearest station. Saw geishas walking about at night.
Clean room but obviously tired. Spacious bathroom with a jacuzzi tub.

Cons:
Housekeeping fail - We checked in after 3pm to find the room uncleaned / tidied - reception did not know it was not ready. Not wanting to waste time, we wanted to explore the city and trusted them to tidy the place in our absence, only to find our door unlocked when we got back late at night. on the 3rd day, a shirt that was laid on the bed went missing after housekeeping. We informed reception only to be told that their laundry is outsourced and will contact us if they find it - till today there is no news.

Being non-smokers, we were placed on a smoking floor due to lack of rooms. The floor constantly smelled of smoke, thankfully the rooms inside had no smell though. The lobby area is constantly smokey.

All in all, would definitely stay in this location again but perhaps another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carlyy_car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The location is awesome: heart of Gion. Moments from the subway and major attractions and yet set on a quiet side street. The hotel is basic and functional, clean (naturally, in Japan) but does have a slight feeling of a "Lost" underground bunker in the breakfast/dining room. Also a random vintage Rolls Royce in the reception! The bedrooms are a reasonable size by Japanese standards. The TV is local only, no CNN etc yet bizarrely compelling. The bathroom in my room was unusual for two reasons: 1. It was bigger than the bedroom. 2. It had a Jacuzzi bath. After 5 hours riding round Kyoto on a hired bike (recommended) it was an amazing surprise. I grabbed a couple of Ice Cold Asahii's from the vending machine in reception, ran a hot bath, jumped, cracked open a beer and turned on the jacuzzi.....and nothing. Disappointment or what. Breakfast was fine, a few of the staff have some basic English, it's a great location and if you just want a clean, central place to get your head down then I recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Gion
APA Hotel Kyoto Gion Excellent
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Grand Bach Kyoto Select
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gion
Rumor Plaza
Rumor Plaza
#83 of 366 in Kyoto
49 reviews
Gion
Kizashi The Suite
Kizashi The Suite
#175 of 366 in Kyoto
23 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Aoi Hotel Kyoto
Aoi Hotel Kyoto
#97 of 366 in Kyoto
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sasarindou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sasarindou

Property: Sasarindou
Address: 570-102 Minamigawa Gionmachi Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0074, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Gion
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sasarindou 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Rakuten, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sasarindou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing