We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so tempted to stay in room all day just doing nothing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
Ranked #11 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“so tempted to stay in room all day just doing nothing”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

i stayed here for 2 nights during my 5day trip to Kyoto and i wish i'd stayed here longer! It is a fuss-free and nicely designed hotels, especially for wood and industrial furniture lovers like us. Anteroom is a 5-10min walk from Kujo subway station, which is 1 stop away from Kyoto station. Do note that Kujo is a subway line, different from the JR trains or railways lines. We loved all the furnishings and details in the room, right down to the toiletries and shampoo/body wash in the bathroom! our room was quite spacious since we booked twin room with terrace and the furnishings and natural lighting in the room made it really tempting to just stay indoors and do nothing. The free laundry (washer with dryer) was very much put to good use as we had arrived with 4 days' worth of dirty laundry. Free bicycle rental was an added incentive for guests but too bad we didn't have time to cycle around the neighbourhood as there's too much to explore in Kyoto. Breakfast was an additional 1000JPY but it was a healthy and filling spread.

We couldn't bear to leave and ended up buying so many of the merchandise just to remember the place by. One thing though, we went out at 1+pm, put up the "pls clean room" sign and there was a recyclable bag hung on our door with clean towels and new toiletries for the day, which we thought the cleaner hung there to clean up later. When we returned that night, our room was unmade. So we're not sure if they have a cut-off time for making rooms.

Otherwise, all was well and Anteroom is definitely one of the reasons we can't wait to return to Kyoto for.

Room Tip: room with terrace are more spacious and full of natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twitchhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    157
    30
    5
    4
See reviews for
43
125
175
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Hotel Anteroom last week during my trip to Kyoto, very nice room design, especially for ppl who're looking for something different and unique design in Kyoto. Location is OK, one subway station to Kyoto station, might cost more on the traffic. Others are perfect

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ccchiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
732 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Unexpected pleasure - great value for Kyoto and Japan! It is more convenient than it would seem even though it is one subway stop from Kyoto station or a short walk. If you are an urban person who wants to be in the middle of all activities with everything right outside your door this may not be the place for you. IF however you are more realistic and willing to walk a few minutes or take a quick subway ride you will really appreciate this hotel. Not too many non-Japanese here, but no real issues. The free laundry is great but takes some time so plan accordingly. Food is very good - especially breakfast. And the "worms" that were supposed to be eggplant turned out to be baby sardines.

Room Tip: Rooms tend to be on the small side so if there is more than one person you may want to make sure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowpixels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We loved staying at this designed, industrial style, budget hotel. Cool music in the lobby, friendly, warm and helpful staff. Nice interiour from recycled materials and contemporary art in the lobby. Stylish! Good beds. Very fresh breakfast, we got pitas and wraps with chiken, salad buffet, fruit and vegetables shots, croissants, coffee, tea, orange juice etc in a nice and cool breakfast room. Quiet area, not far from Kyoto station, but you´ll need to take a taxi or go by the subway to the city center. We paid 8-900 yen from the hotel to the old city. We are so glad we found this hotel! It was recommended in the wallpaper guide.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gjest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you've already done the Japanese ryokan (inn) experience and you want convenience, this is the place! You can almost see Kyoto Station from here, and it's only one stop away on the subway, and then a 5-minute walk.
This hotel is new and very clean. The rooms are typical business hotel accommodations, but nicer than usual, with very comfortable beds. But it's not just the rooms that make the place extraordinary. The hotel is also a simple art gallery, and paintings adorn the walls, even in the rooms. It is spacious and attractive with a lovely garden outside, a little library and a quiet lounge where you can have a drink, use wi-fi or just relax. The laundry is high-tech, and completely free (and so is the detergent!). On each floor in the corridor are new irons, ironing boards and steamers which you can also borrow for free. In other words, all your needs as a traveler are anticipated.
The best thing about the place is the breakfast. For $10, here's what you get:
today's homemade delicious roast pumpkin soup (or broccoli, corn etc.), a big fresh salad with all kinds of condiments: ground sesame, yuba (fried tofu cream), crispy fried onions, bacon bits and sesame dressing; a different kind of smoothie every day; two kinds of pita wraps: sometimes chicken and salad, omelette, lots of veggies and sausage, etc. And a big dish of fresh yogurt with many choices of toppings. the best is green pepper jam from a nearby temple. And of course, coffe and tea. After this breakfast, you definitely can skip lunch. A very young staff, sometimes a little stiff, but oh-so-helpful. The feeling one gets is that they are proud to be serving you.
I will definitely come back again The best value I;ve found in Kyoto.

Room Tip: Probably all are similar. You can't open or see out of the windows. This might be disconcerting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oishii13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel is just a cheap and looks nice but that's it. Service is not professional level. The staff who can speak English didn't have any hospitality and nice attitude. Also in midnight someone knocked our room's door and tried to open, but staffs didn't do anything. I've never had this kind of experience in normal level hotel.
If you are a university student,this hotel is acceptable. but if you are not and you want to enjoy your travel, I don't recommend this hotel, never.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kcu12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is about 15 min walk from Kyoto train station and 5 min walk from the Kujo station on the karasuma line. Can use the karasuma line to easily get to the imperial palace, get off at the imadegawa stop. A taxi ride to the Gion district was about 1200 yen but can also use the bus. Hotel sells one day bus tickets for 500 yen.

Hotel is stylish and had a minimalist industrial feel. Rooms are well laid out. They upgraded our room for free which was nice. Good amenities in the room, razors, toothbrush, hair ties etc. Shower was strong!

Definitely reccomend the breakfast for 1000 yen. Might be the best meal we had. Very fresh and filling to start your day. It is offered 7a till 10. Nice bakery across the street as well. Hotel bar looked nice but had limited hours.

Overall great hotel with good service. Would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmshaw823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace
Sakura Terrace
#17 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anteroom Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anteroom Kyoto

Property: Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
Address: 7 Aketacho Higashikujo Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8044 , Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Anteroom Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're staying at this hotel starting tonight and would love to be able to provide a review. The hotel JUST opened in April and looks super great, affordable and stylish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Anteroom Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing