We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Vista Premio Kyoto
Ranked #27 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great rooms”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The room was great - the best we had during our trip to Japan (and most were pretty good). The location is excellent, right in the center of Kyoto. It's very close to Musashi Sushi (if you like conveyorbelt sushi) and within walking distance to busses that will take you to all the sights in and around Kyoto. A lot of the sights are within walking distance as well, if you'd like to walk.

The hotel was a bit hard to find the first time. The hotel is tucked in between buildings, and you can't see it from the main street, Kawaramachi Dori. Look for the Loft store on the main street and go down the street next to that and you'll see the hotel almost immediately on your right.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cado_Ameila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    231
    46
    10
    5
See reviews for
92
224
44
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed in Kyoto for a week and couldn't have asked for a better location. The hotel is walking distance to lots of sites, and felt to us like we were in the heart of the city - easy access to restaurants, we could walk easily to Pontocho, we were right next to the food market. The hotel itself was recently opened and was very clean. Everything ran in good order, the buffet breakfast was fine (not delicious but it was all we really needed). We had our baby with us and the double room was big enough to fit the travel cot in. Only negative was we had specifically asked for a non-smoking room and when we arrived the room we were put in really smelt of smoke. However they addressed the issue immediately and were able to find us another room at once. We have also stayed in the Okura in Kyoto where the rooms are a great deal bigger but more expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fjp112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel is located walking distance from subwy stations, Kawaramachi street, Gion District, the Yasaka Shrine and other places of interest. As it seems to be the norm in Japan the room was very small and spotlessly clean. There is plenty of shopping and restaurants of all price levels around the hotel area. We never ate at the hotel restaurant as we fond the prices steep and there was so many places just a short walk from the hotel.
The help desk ladies were very courteous and extremely helpful and provided us with directions, maps, advice and even umbrellas. In general the Japanese people are the most polite people I have encountered. They were allways willing to help even when they were struggling communicating in English.

Room Tip: There is a lot of smokers in Japan, so make sure you book a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the double room for three nights, and the whole experience was fantastic. It was the first time we visited Kyoto and we're glad we chose this hotel.

The hotel is in a SUPERB location right in the middle of downtown Kyoto, where all the malls, shopping streets, restaurants and markets are located. Nishiki market and Teramachi street are within five minutes' walk, while all the major malls are also within 10-15 minutes' walk. We could do some shopping, then come back to the hotel to leave bags and go out again easily. Pontocho is 5 minutes' walk while Gion district is about 15-20 minutes walk. Ogawa coffee (cappuccino recommended) is also within 5-7 minutes' away by foot, or if you prefer Starbucks then it's just a minute's walk from the hotel. We also visited all the key sights around Kyoto by hopping on a bus or taking subway, with the hotel serving as a very convenient base. Every day we would return to the hotel in the afternoon or evening to freshen up after sightseeing, and go out again for shopping and dinner.

The hotel was new, modern and clean. The room is about average size by Japanese standard and had everything travelers needed. The toilet was also a good compact size (not tiny at all) and had all the stuff you'd ever need.

Overall, we very highly recommend this hotel. Location is unbeatable, access to public transport is great, and room cleanliness and facilities are modern and spotless. At first we considered staying close to Kyoto station, but having stayed at Best Western, we are very pleased that we chose to stay there, right in downtown Kyoto.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pongvora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

A good location, near the shopping street. Easy to access by bus or subway. The people there were very nice and helpful. Hotel looks nice and our rooms were very nice. Only downside was that there was no wifi in the room, only in the lobby. Room only has ethernet cable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Hotel is centrally located just in the heart of the shopping district. It is also very close to the subway station. Room has very fast internet connection but no Wifi - only available in the lobby.
As some others stated already the breakfast is pretty lousy.
Staff is freindly and helpful and i still believe it is great value for money

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Its in the Kawaramachi area, arrived in kyoto central station and took bus to Karawamachi area. Its in middle of all shopping centre. just behind the hotel is the shopping area. The room is excellent, downside is out room 508 facing cemetery..ask for other room area. Unless the room just amazing, excellent, clean with big bottles of body shower from big brand japanese cosmetic. spotless, spotless!! Great base to explore the city, close to gion corner, where alot of restaurant with geisha experience, watched maiko performance and dine out along the famous Hanami koji street or along kamo river..priceless..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy-lnhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Grand Bach Kyoto Select
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#31 of 366 in Kyoto
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
#33 of 366 in Kyoto
1,984 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijokarasuma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Premio Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Premio Kyoto

Property: Hotel Vista Premio Kyoto
Address: 457 Matsugaecho, Kawaramachi, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8034, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vista Premio Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vista Premio Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing