We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value boutique hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vista Premio Kyoto
Ranked #27 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Good value boutique hotel!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

During our Kyoto trip planning for the third week of October, we had intended to stay at another hotel but unfortunately it was fully booked. Upon the recommendation of Japanican, we decided to book directly with Best Western for our 2 nights' stay as we were told that the hotel is relatively new and have good reviews on Tripadvisor. Our standard Twin room with breakfast costs Y14000 per night.

As we had pre-booked our JR West Kansai area 1 day pass @ Y2000 per person, upon immigration clearance @ 1010 hrs, we headed to the 2/F where the JR West Ticket Office is located to collect our passes. As there was a queue of 8 persons ahead of us, it took us about 15 mins to be served. Do present your passport, E ticket, and a printout of your Pass Booking confirmation to speed the process. Buying this 1 day pass to travel from Kansai Airport to Kyoto saves us Y1,490 per person. We took the Haruka Express from Kansai Airport to Kyoto @ 1116 hrs. As this pass is for the non-reserved seats section, we boarded the train between coaches 4 - 6. Duration was 75 mins.

From Kyoto Station, we hailed a cab & told the cab driver in English to go to "Kawaramachi Rokkaku" and also showed him the Japanese name of Best Western! Ride took about 10 mins and costs Y870. He alighted us along the main road where LOFT department store is, and signalled us to turn left along the small road by Kyoto Mina. Best Western is less than 50 metres walk. Its location is quiet & charming. There is a small bakery across the hotel exit and to the right a few metres away is a cafe where you get your fix of iced coffee and tea. Teramachi and Nishiki Market is a short 10 mins walk, and for shopaholics these 2 areas will keep you happy and entertained. There are lots of eateries where LOFT is located at Kawaramachi Sanjo. The standard twin room is spacious and comfortable and I loved the bathroom amenities, especially the little hair brush which is of good quality! Breakfast spread at the Charles Chaplin Cafe is a mix of continental and Japanese and we are happy with it. Check in was a breeze and the staff members are friendly and helpful. We caught sight of several Geishas in Gion in the evening but they disappeared before we could get their pictures. We also ate mochi at the famous Tokuyu @ Gion after queueing for 25 mins. The white mochi (7 slices) was placed on a little grill burner and after it was toasted, we dipped the mochi in a bowl of red bean soup before eating. With another bowl of jelly mochi served on ice, we paid Y3200 which was a princely sum for desserts! Nevertheless, we enjoyed the experience of trying it. We also watched a Meiko Dance Performance @ Gion Corner @ 1900 hrs @ Y3150 pp.
We had planned to go to Arashiyama (small picturesque town on the Oi River) the next day by train, but we changed our mind as travelling by bus will give us a little city tour of Kyoto. We were advised to take either bus 11 or 62 from Bus Stop D across the main road facing LOFT. Bus fare to Arashiyama was Y 240 and journey took 45 mins (compared to train journey of 16 mins to Saga Arashiyama (Y230). Arashiyama is charming and scenic with the autumn foliage and we had a wonderful day traversing the Moon Crossing Bridge, Togetsukyo Bridge, the little Bamboo Forest & Tenryu-ji Temple. There was a small fair near Tenryu-ji Temple and it was here that I bought a beautiful Japanese bag with a Kimono-type design. There are lots of souvenir shops and eateries.

Our stay at Best Western was pleasant and top marks goes to its front desk staff! A stay here is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Rainbowlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    240
    46
    11
    5
See reviews for
94
236
47
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The rooms were a good size, compared to the rest of the rooms in Japan anyway! Nice hotel layout, FANTASTIC location for exploring kyoto. A little far from the main Kyoto station but there are cheap local buses, it took us about 25mins to walk it. Good location for nightlife as well, lots of little places across the road. The service was great as well. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Excellent, central location - within walking distance to many shops and restaurants.
Exceptionally helpful staff - customer service at it's best. They went out-of-their-way to help with any/every request (such as kindly translating addresses for taxi drivers to know our destination).
Rooms comfortable and bathrooms spotless. Useful fridge in room (supermarket-type store two minutes from hotel). For convenience to those it matters to: Money exchange and Starbucks locations also two minutes from hotel.
Would definitely recommend and return to this hotel due to: helpful and pleasant staff, cleanliness and comfort and centrality of hotel.
P.S. Had easy computer access in lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We did not want to leave this place after staying for two nights (double room was GBP60 a night). Many tiny, typical Japanese-style guesthouses charge this much. But, for this at Best Western, you get a brand new hotel, amazing décor in the rooms, a spotless bathroom and lovely toiletries, a huge TV, mini fridge, gorgeous big comfy bed and tea/coffee in the room. DON'T MISS - the window wall panel slides over the bamboo-paper blinds, so the room can be totally pitch black if you so wish, was lovely for a lie in.

It's about 5 minutes walk to the nearest subway, which takes you past an amazing bakery on the main road. The staff were so friendly, couldn't do enough for us, remembered our names, taught us a bit about Pachinko when we asked and had every map/leaflet going.

Our only bug bear was the free wi-fi was in the lobby. It was super-fast but annoying having to sit in reception to use it.But we were so happy and relaxed being in the hotel, we didn't really mind. We'll definitely be back to Kyoto in the future and shall be booking in again. Thank you for having us.

Room Tip: CLose the window wall panel to have a pitch black room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Booking this hotel off the internet, for a quick trip with my in laws, left me wondering if I'd done the right thing. Wonder no more!!
This was a FABULOUS choice in many ways. Located in a quite "lane way" off the main road, in the middle of the shopping district, close to all bus and train lines (no problems getting to the MANY tourist destinations here) and with so many dining options nearby, even my very "particular" in laws were impressed.
The rooms, while compact, had every thing that you could need. The staff were incredibly helpful (especially as we arrived well before check in time and needed to store bags - NO problem) and language was not a problem. Even when, 5 minutes after check in, I locked myself out of my room....
We booked via motif.com and they gave comprehensive instructions to get to the hotel, no matter which transport method you chose.
I will be back and I'l be dragging my (fussy) husband along next time. There will be NOTHING for him to complain about :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We used the BW Kyoto as a base to explore Kyoto, Osaka, Nara and Hiroshima. The location is brilliant, right in the centre of Kyoto and very convenient for exploring the city (about a 10 minute walk to the Minamiza Theatre and Ponto-Cho area). You can easily reach the subway line (and corresponding bus stations) within a few minutes walk from the hotel which take you to the main Kyoto station (though this is also only a 45-minute walk). The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were very clean (and came with a new set of PJ's each morning). We booked directly with Best Western and the free breakfast featured a good selection of both Japanese and Western foods.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PJice9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TXL
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I need to split the review into a hotel part and a best Western part. I would rate the hotel itself with 4 points and the BW aspect with 2 - that is why I show a 3-point rating.

The hotel itself was quite new, in very good shape (apart from one detail), and in a very busy, energetic location within Kyoto. The rooms were quite small for BW standards but featured the usual amenities, such as a soft bed, kettle, free wired Internet, and a full set of toiletries. Little details such as a rice-paper window shade made the room blend in Japanese features quite nice and created a lovely appearance. However, all rooms seemed to have been smoking rooms at an earlier point in time and this shows by a subtle smell. Fortunately, the hotel has equipped all rooms with an air purifier that makes even the subtle hint go away in minutes. Hints: In and around the hotel all ATM's only process Japanese-issued VISA and AMEX cards - the front desk has a map for a rather hidden 7-11 (200m away) whoms AT accepts international cards. There s no coin laundry in r around the hotel, the front desk has a map for a very small but 24/7 facility about 1 mile away (15m walk). The staff was accommodating at all times and pretty friendly. However, stating that all staff is bi-lingual might be an overstatement.

However, for the issues we encountered not the hotel but Best Western is to blame:

Accessibility: The hotel is located within a pedestrian zone and a shopping center. Thus the hotel is not accessible by car without breaking the traffic rules and navigating through a massive crowd of shoppers. People with limited mobility will need to either get off at a major and very busy road and walk 150m or at the parking garage and walk over 500m through a shopping center and side streets (with at least one quite steep ascent).

Parking: Although on the English hotel page at bestwestern.com there is not a single notice of this aspect, there is NO parking at or very close to the hotel. A garage is available 500m away but has only two charge models: per hour or per day. Per hour makes you poor (not joking here) and per day is about $30 a day but they won't let you get the car out at this rate. Overall we paid an extra "premium" of $80 for two days :-( If you have a car, I cannot recommend this hotel and the extra charge could be invested into a better hotel with free parking.

Breakfast: Although bestwestern.com clearly states "complimentary breakfast" in this hotel, this only is true when you book by bestwestern.com directly. This fact is not documented. I booked the hotel at another page with extra activities and sightseeing and was very surprised that I was charged an extra $25 per person and day for the "complimentary" breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank super-grobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Grand Bach Kyoto Select
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#36 of 369 in Kyoto
521 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Gracery Kyoto Sanjo
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
#26 of 369 in Kyoto
318 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Premio Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Premio Kyoto

Property: Hotel Vista Premio Kyoto
Address: 457 Matsugaecho, Kawaramachi, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8034, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vista Premio Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Vista Premio Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing