We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“BLISS”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The exterior of Shikokuan Machiya Residence Inn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The exterior of Shikokuan Machiya Residence Inn
Kitchen
\'Hiniki buro\' or Japanese cypress bath tub
Stylish and innovative Machiya Townhouse lcoated in the central Kyoto near Kawaramachi and Gion
Entrance
Living room, Tatami Bedroom and Garden
Corridor
Bathroom
Lounge room / Tatami Bedroom
Western Twin Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue P
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“BLISS”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We just loved this place after 15 days of travel it was so nice to have a home.
The staff were fabulous in all areas.
Close to everything including Gion the Geisha area. Convenience store just around the corner, department store 10 mins away and loads of eating places.
Best way to Kyoto Station is to catch the bus at KAWARAMACHI MATSUBARA bus stop. Get bus 4,17 or 205. It is 5 stops either way. Just down from the convenience store and near a hotel. Train too complIcated!
Would go back tomorrow!!!

Date of stay: May 2016
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Position.
Liked least: Pillows
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2016
Dear Sue,

Thank you for your kind words regard your stay with Machiya Residence Inn Kyoto! It was a pleasure having you stay with us at our "Shikoku-an" machiya house, and we are so pleased to hear that you were able to utilize the house as if it were your own home.
As you have pointed out, the location of this house is fantastic for those looking to walk around the neighborhood, or use the public transportation to explore Kyoto as a local. We hope that your time with us made your visit to Kyoto even more memorable. Again, it was a pleasure welcoming you into our city, and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Machiya Residence Inn Kyoto Staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynette76...
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great first-time experience in a vacation rental.”
Reviewed April 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our 4th trip to Kyoto but first time renting a machiya instead of a hotel room. It was a much more relaxing experience. The proximity to the cherry blossoms (our reason for this trip) made it an ideal location. The Takasegawa river (canal) was nearby and was in full bloom. It is lit up at nights so we were able to enjoy the blossoms each day and night . A covenience store is around the corner and many places to eat nearby. The machiya itself was quite cozy for 4 adults. The photographer should be lauded for making everything look much larger than actual. As noted in other reviews, the stairs are quite narrow and steep, and can be a challenge for older folks, like us. Beds are very hard, almost like sleeping on the floor. But we all agreed we had a very enjoyable stay.
Warning: we arrived at night and gave the taxi driver the map we were provided, but he had a difficult time finding the place . We circled around again after passing it the first time. Difficult to find in the dark. Used our cellphones for light to enter the entry code. Very dark. I believe they could have left the lights on after we notified them that we would be arriving after dark.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and wifi
Liked least: Hard beds and steep stairs
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2016
Thank you for your comments and review of your stay in our "Shikoku-an" Machiya House! All staff members at Machiya Residence Inn are pleased that you were enjoy your time with us, and your experience in an authentic Kyoto house.
In regards to the stairs in this house, as you have pointed out, they are steeper than stairs normally found in Western-style houses. However, in keeping with the original architecture, we have kept the Japanese-style stairs and added a hand rail for extra support. As for guests arriving later in the evening (past our guest services hours), we will take all of your suggestions into consideration to help make your and future guests arrival more smooth.

We are pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of this machiya house's location, and experience cherry blossom season in Kyoto to its fullest extent. Again, thank you again for your review, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back into our city again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Machiya Residence Inn Kyoto Staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJD20
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
“Wonderful Authentic Experience”
Reviewed December 18, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The machiya offers a fabulous introduction to Japanese lifestyle, has a great location and is so very well equipped, with everything you could possibly wish for (we were even provided with a couple of adaptors as we had brought the wrong ones)
An iPad and mobile phone is available for guests with lots of additional information in a welcome book.
The service was absolutely amazing and caters so very well for the visitor’s needs. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and from initial enquiry to check out, the entire experience has been exceptional.
The only downside I could envisage would be the steep stairs(but these are in keeping with the original structure of the building) if people have mobility issues, but these are easily accessible with a little bit of care. Having traditional Japanese downstairs and Western upstairs is simply the best of both worlds!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Shikokuan and will be back.Thanks so much to all the staff at Machiya Residence Inn who made our stay so memorable.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 20, 2015
Dear PJD20,

Thank you for taking the time to write a thorough review of your time here in Kyoto with Machiya Residence Inn Kyoto! We are extremely happy to hear that your stay at Shikoku-an Machiya was everything that you had expected and more. All of our staff members strive to ensure that each guests' stay is not only memorable, but comfortable enough to relax in as if it were your own home (while still experiencing the Kyoto lifestyle!).
In regards to the stairs, they are slightly steeper than what western-style houses are currently designed with. However, as you have pointed out, the stairs are designed with the traditional and original structure of each machiya house in mind. If guests would like us to prepare futon bedding on the first floor (to avoid going up the stairs), we are able to provide this service also!
It was our pleasure accommodating you and your guests during your visit in Kyoto. All of our staff members are pleased to hear that you had a memorable time in Kyoto, and we hope to have the chance to accommodate you again in the near future! Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards,
The Machiya Residence Inn Kyoto Staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
audreychi...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Machiya Residence Inn makes our stay in Kyoto so much more enjoyable!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

From the time we made enquiries to the end of the stay; we were looked after with services above 5 star hotels. We also enjoyed the beautiful facilities and the convenient location. THANK YOU to all the staffs in Machiya Residence Inn for a memorable and enjoyable stay in Kyoto.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2015
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you were able to enjoy your stay in Shikoku-an and Kyoto. Please don't hesitate to let us know if you plan another trip to Kyoto in the future! We'll do our utmost to make your stay enjoyable!
From all the staff at Machiya Residence Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MovingTeu...
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“What an experience!!!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

If you want an authentic Kyoto experience you must stay here. The home was beautiful, clean and had modern amenities. The location is perfect and pretty easy to get to. We loved the neighbourhood with all the restaurants and lovely walking path along the river.

We have 2 young children and we had plenty of space to eat and sleep. They loved the tatami mats and the deep bath.

The staff was very helpful when ever we had an issue and even mailed a toy we forgot at the house to our next stop in Miyazaki. Thanks!

The only thing that can be improved on is the directions to the check in office. The signage is not consistent with instructions and we had some issues finding the office

Date of stay: June 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2015
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear that your family enjoyed Shikoku-an, and had plenty of space for everyone. Our apologies for the confusion with the location of the check-in office. We will strive to make the instructions easier to follow in the future. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again in the future!
From all the staff at Machiya Residence Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxecarol
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Definitely the way to go for second timers to Kyoto”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Recently stayed at the Shikokuan in January 2014. We were really looking forward to this and were not disappointed. This machiya is situated in a great location. It is near to all of the action - both shopping, dining and sightseeing - but still quiet and peaceful during the evenings - which is very welcome for Kyoto due to the huge tourist numbers. Nearby the machiya we found a lovely restaurant called Kawa Cafe - located right on the river - for New Years Eve - this was perfect. The machiya is also close to train transport, so it was very easy to travel to Arashiyama and Fushimi during this stay. We purchased breakfast items at a nearby supermarket and thoroughlyy enjoyed consuming this in our own private garden in the mornings. As it was a midway point during our holiday - we made use of the laundry facility - and our clothes dried very quickly overnight.

We had a delightful stay.

Pros - ambiance, old world charm meets elements of modern luxury, super location
Cons - the house is delicate so only those who are mindful of original glass features and steep stairs should stay, also the table for breakfast isn't flat.

I would recommend to those who can truly appreciate the charm of the building and are happy to be independent.

Date of stay: January 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambiance, location
Liked least: Dining Table (nice to look at though but not practical)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2014
We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Shikokuan. As you mentioned, the great location makes it easy to access all the popular sites in the city, while still maintaining a sense of quiet and privacy. Since we try to preserve the authenticity of the traditional machiya, the original staircase and some of the original furniture are left intact. Thank you for bringing it to our attention that the table was a bit wobbly. It is lacquered in the traditional way so we are looking into a way of making it more sturdy. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Kyoto. We look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetrosDG
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Living in Central Kyoto”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Wonderful central location, authentic experience, beautifully designed and decorated with taste and style, very clean. Hiro-san was very helpful with recommendations and familiarizing us with the city, went out of his way to see we were comfortable and enjoyed our stay. Will definitely book again when we are next in Kyoto. Next time a larger house for a larger group!

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, decor & architecture
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your stay at Shikokuan Machiya Residence Inn. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time in Kyoto. It was a great pleasure accommodating you all and we look forward to hearing from you again next time. We now have a variety of houses to offer you for next time! Thank you very much for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing