We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Kyoto”
Review of Sakara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyoto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sakara
Ranked #34 of 370 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We had a great experience in Kyoto and stylish place Sakara.
It is just 2 mins walk to train station, 2 mins walk to convenient store.
No smoking policy make the room smell always good.
The kitchen and bathroom is amazing, all necessary equipment are included, ricecooker, plates, bowls, cups, chopsticks, cooking oil, washing machine, powder........up to coffee machine.....etc.
we wish to visit the place soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacky_Rieko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Thank you so much, and we are very happy we had a chance to host you. Please come back again any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 89 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed in the Sakura room during the height of cherry blossom season and it was a fantastic choice. We were right next to a subway station and a bus stop, making it easy to travel around and within walking distance to Kiyomizu temple. The room had everything we needed and was exceedingly comfortable and had well-utilized space. The market the house is located in was lovely and had some of the nicest people we met on our entire trip. I absolutely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sg420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

We are so happy that you enjoyed Sakara as well as its special location. It is a wonderful experience to stay on this small market street, where you can find food and much more. The people in the area are indeed very friendly, and there are many good options for cafes, fresh sushi, breakfast, lunch, and dinner, all within walking distance. Again, thank you so much,
-mgmt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful five-day stay at the Sakara for the cherry blossoms. Sakaka is very conveniently situated for exploring the Higashiyama area where a great number of temples and landmarks are located. It is excellent for the cherry-blossom viewing too. We were lucky to have caught the peak of the cherry blossoms. We walked to Heian Jinku, Philosophers’ Walk, Gion, Maruyama Park and several other well known sites for cherry blossom viewing. For farther away exploration, the subway station is literally right at the door step of Sakara.
Overall we had a comfortable and memorable stay at Sakara. We definitely plan to stay at Sakara again when we go back to Kyoto.
1. We emailed and asked to drop off our backpacks early in the morning and check in early. We got a positive response promptly and Yuko was there to help and take our luggage. This allowed us to have the full day sight-seeing without having to worry about checking in later. Previously, we have arranged to have our big luggage shipped to Sakara to arrive in the afternoon. We found them already moved into our room when we came back to Sakara later in the day. Excellent service.
2. Requested blanket and got them promptly and towels too. Thanks.
3. Yuko arranged taxi for us to the train station and met us at the entrance to the Furukawa shopping Arcade to see us off.
4. We split our stay among Ninja and Bamboo. Ninja is compact, stylish and modern. The stairs to the loft bedroom is steep and without a handrail, thus most suited for the young and agile. Bamboo is spacious, comfortable and convenient on the first floor with the view of a small private Japanese garden. We enjoyed both. We packed our bags and left them in the Ninja room and went out for sightseeing. Mike/Yuko had our luggage transferred to the Bamboo suite during the day, so we could spent the whole day sightseeing. Very nice.
5. The entrance to Sakara is located inside the Fukugawa pedestrian shopping arcade off Sanjo. Fukugawa turned out to be a hidden gem and rare opportunity for us to get a feel of the traditional Japanese market. It is much smaller compared to the famous Nishiki but mostly devoid of tourists. We got our daily supplies of fresh fruits, a few take-home dinners assembled from several stores and some toiletry items there. It is always a welcoming sight after an exhausting day of sightseeing, shopping and walking. The arcade closes down around 7ish in the evening and is quiet afterwards until next morning when the shops start to open around 7 or 8 . It also acts as a good buffer and distance to the busy Sanjo street and provide a quiet homey environment during our stay.
Note: Sakara is not a hotel. It is more like a home with multiple dwelling units. You do not get daily maid service. This however gives us more privacy than the typical hotels. The front desk is not always staffed and it takes a little planning ahead. Yuko and Mike are always a phone call or email away. And they response promptly to our questions and needs through email and phone calls.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pilolowcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Thank you so much for your detailed review. We always appreciate the comments of our guests and do our best to improve Sakara constantly. The Ninja room is indeed compact but has everything that you need. We are having a handrail installed to make the stairs safer and easier.

You made a good point about the fact that Sakara is not a hotel. We try to combine the best aspects of a stay in a pension or serviced apartment with a hotel, offering privacy and independence with the help and attention that you need.

Hope to see you again for the changing colors in the autumn!
-mgmt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My daughter and I stayed in the Ninja Room. It was nice to have the kitchenette to make eggs and toast for breakfast. We also used the washer/dryer combo. I had to contact the owner to figure out how to run the dryer longer, did not dry very well. I guess this is standard in Japan. The bed is upstairs, it was ok but had to keep the luggage downstairs. The location is a great. I wish the owners were there more for help with travel questions. There was a number to call for help in English but it was a Japanese message, so it didn't help at all.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank We4palls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments and review. We have now changed the answering machine message to an English one for future guests. If guests leave a message after the 'beep' we always do our best to answer them promptly and assist in whatever way we can. In the interest of providing the best support possible, we have also made the explanation of the washer/dryer more detailed; Japanese "all in one" machines are very different from laundry machines found in other countries.

Again, we are pleased that you enjoyed Kyoto and Sakara, and look forward to serving you or your friends/family in the future.

-mgmt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I made my first trip to kyoto in nov 2011. I stayed in the sakura room at the sakara kyoto and my friend stayed in the hinoki room. Mine was small and overlooked the shotengai- covered shopping street and was great for 1 or two, though they had out in a loft so kids would work too. It was everything i needed. A deep soaking tub after a long day taking in wonders of kyoto, a washer dryer to clean up clothes so i didnt need to pack too much. A kitchen so i could save money on breakfast. It was small but it was great.

It was right next to higashiyama station. Though i never went in there is a macdonalds in 2 blocks, but better than that was great local places that Yuko-san led us to. She took care of making arrangements to getting to airport and was a helpful presence. My friend's Hinoki suite was bigger and could handle 4 comfortably to eat and sleep.

I whole heartedly recommend Sakara Kyoto. I have just booked my return there. That's proof enough.

Room Tip: Hinoki probably qieter as Sakura opensto street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bkblake513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

It was great to meet you and we are very happy that you enjoyed Sakara. We look forward to hosting you again this year, and we hope that you enjoy the improvements we have recently made for 2012!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed in the Hinoki Suite at Sakara for 5 nights and found it perfect for our family group. The loft bedroom gave us extra living space downstairs and the children loved it. The design and facilities in the apartment (kitchen, bathroom, laundry, sep living and sleeping areas) made our stay very easy and comfortable. Yuko, Mike and the staff were terrific and provided all information needed. We loved the quiet laneway plus the convenience of the location with nearby subway as well as many easily walkable destinations. Mike's snowshoeing tour was a highlight on our trip, made all the more unforgettable by his genuine hospitality and enthusiasm.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panorama50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We recently stayed for 3 nights in the Hinoki Suite. The two kids were easily accommodated in the loft bedroom. The room had a kitchen as well as a washing machine/dryer. There is also a separate communal lounge area. We were more than satisfied with the room and had a great stay. Sakara is located right next door to the subway station and within 10-15 minutes walk from Gion. Access to the major sites and downtown is easy. The managers (Yuko and Mike) were very helpful and friendly. Organizing the accommodation was easy and Mike kept in contact by email. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Noku Kyoto
Noku Kyoto
#10 of 376 in Kyoto
230 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Gracery Kyoto Sanjo
City Center
HARUYA Hostels Kyoto
HARUYA Hostels Kyoto
#42 of 370 in Kyoto
89 reviews
City Center
Guesthouse OKI's Inn
Guesthouse OKI's Inn
#27 of 370 in Kyoto
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakara

Address: 541-2 Furukawacho Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0026, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 370 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing