We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Simple room,Quiet place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Jiyu-jin
Ranked #48 of 279 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean and Simple room,Quiet place”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Close to subway station.Its not far from Kyto station.
I stayed Dom.
Its simple,small room but space is enough for just a sleeping.
There is located residential areas.so quiet.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    16
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
6
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
291 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I would NOT recommend this hostel to anyone..I paid for 2 nites..and when..I told them..that I would ONLY stay one nite because I was staying with my friend Miki in her home in Kyoto..they would not refund my money for the 2nd nite..this is unacceptable.I have stayed in various hotels in ..US..and MExico..and if I dont stay..what I pay for..I am refunded the money.without any questions..asked.they also.ONLY have one washing machine..and no vending machines to get drinks..if you are thirsty.you have to go outside and buy one...It is also extremely hard to find..and I wasnt offered a map when I left the premises..I am MExican..I dont speak Japanese..dont stay here...!!!.I GAVE 2 PTS..because it is at least clean..!

Room Tip: I dont want to say anything bad..I have said enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marta E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saitama Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I stayed at Jiyuujin for 3 nights in August 2011. It's easily accessible from Kyoto Station on foot and you can travel to different parts of Kyoto from there without any difficulties.

This guesthouse was established in 2010, so the furniture is still in a great condition. Not only the rooms, but the whole interior is immaculately clean and you will be able to relax after a day of walking around Kyoto. You can connect to the Internet by Wi-Fi or you can borrow a LAN cable at the reception. There's a TV, a microwave oven, a fridge, a kitchen, a PC, and a hair-dryer available for use in the common room, where you can hang out with others.

The reception is closed from 11 AM to 4 PM, but if you ask the staff, they will tell you the code for the door lock. If you plan to check-in during this time, tell the staff beforehand. At the time of checking out, you can keep your luggage at the reception and pick it up in the evening.

Last but not least, the staff is excellent and very friendly. Sayaka, the main receptionist at the time when I stayed there, went out of her way and gave me a hand-drawn map of the neighborhood with supermarkets, convenience stores, restaurants, etc. She was a great person to chat with.

I intend to stay at Jiyuujin again the next time I travel to Kyoto.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mahkun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at Guesthouse Jiyu-jin for 3 nights at the end of October 2011. When we first arrived in Kyoto, it was a bit of a challenge looking for the guesthouse, because it didn't have any obvious signs on the outside and was located on a side street. The guesthouse is about 12 minutes from JR Kyoto Station on foot.

Inside the guesthouse, the staff were extremely friendly and the place is incredibly clean. Staff members, Sayaka and Nori, were very welcoming and gave us a hand-drawn map of the neighbourhood, which had restaurants, subway stations, and grocery stores. We were very delighted to find out that we were the first Canadians to stay at Jiyu-jin!

The Twin Room we stayed in had a bunk bed and enough floor space to put our luggage. The room doors have an automatic locking mechanism, so be sure to have your keys on you. The shared showers, toilets, sinks and kitchen were very clean. Overall, we were very impressed with the staff and the relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kix24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HONG KONG
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

So lucky to get a room during Kyoto's peak season despite of last-minute booking. JIyu-Jin offers comfy accommodation at a very reasonable price, which is really hard to find in Kyoto. The single room I stayed was spotless & quiet. You will feel like as if you were staying in your relative's house with your privacy respected. Its common room has a kitchenette with toaster-oven/microwave/large fridge, PC & TV. You can also use its self laundry at 200yen/service, or if going further economical can rent a bath towel at 150yen/pc. As the reception may close for 11am -- 4pm, you will have to inform the staff in advance (preferably at a time of booking) if you want to drop in or pick up your baggage during these hours. I already plan to come back with my family next time...!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggm_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I came here from Kyoto rail station having no idea where to go Kyoto rail station having no idea where to go. I met one nice lady and she gave me this address. Hard to describe what Ifelt when I held the piece of paper in my hand. Once I arrived at the paper in my hand. Once I arrived at the place I was just happy. The staff is unbelievable, especially for westeners,,, so helpful and the interior is kept 100 percent clean, I totally recommend the place for visitors. The price is good given the guesthouse is located directly in the downtown or being too precise max. 5 minutes walk from there. Of course the size of room is smaller comparing to western counterparts but this is Japan. Unless you are too picky, this is a superb value. uesthouse offers discount with extended stay as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianKyoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Only 10-min walk from Kyoto station (or 1 subway station away), this guesthouse is located in the center of Kyoto city, where you can go sightseeing or shopping conveniently.
They just opened in Oct 2010, so everything is new and clean. I stayed in a twin room with my sister and was 3600yen/person/night. The bed was big and comfy!
Shower rooms and toilets are shared with other guests and you are free to use the 2-in-1 shampoo, body soap and cleansing facewash.
They have just enough equipment to cook such as pans, plates, seasonings, toaster, microwave and ricecooker etc. There are also free coffee and tea.
You can watch TV, use internet or gather some sightseeing info and meet new friends in the public room.
Their staff is kind and friendly.They can store your luggage before check-in and after check-out.
For travelers on budget, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chokichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Guesthouse Shiorian
Southern Kyoto
Kyoto Hostel Ryokan
Kyoto Hostel Ryokan
#46 of 279 in Kyoto
42 reviews
Gion Ryokan Q-beh
#8 of 279 in Kyoto
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
The Lower East Nine Hostel
City Center
Suzuki Guesthouse
Suzuki Guesthouse
#56 of 279 in Kyoto
15 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Hana Hostel
Kyoto Hana Hostel
#11 of 279 in Kyoto
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Jiyu-jin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Jiyu-jin

Property: Guesthouse Jiyu-jin
Address: 524 Izumicho, Higashino Toin-dori 5-jo sagaru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8188, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 279 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jiyu-jin is a just new Guest House, opened on 10 October, 2010.The shortest 4 mins. from KYOTO stationKyoto station is only 2 minutes train ride away or you can also walk to the station. It is very easy!Inside of house is very warmth with Japanese paper and healing woods.Wallpaper and curtain are used special material for soundproof and fire prevention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Rakuten so you can book your Guesthouse Jiyu-jin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing