We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay and friendly owner, highly recommend!”
other travelers have booked this property
Japanease style main room/bed room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Japanease style main room/bed room
Entrance House front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Japanease style main room/bed room
Entrance
House front
Bedroom
Living room
Kitchen
Utility room
Bath room
Toilet
Garden
Heian Jingu Shrine -3minutes walk-
Nanzenzi temple
Philosopher's Walk
Ginkakuji temple
Kyoto Handicraft center
Honenin temple(20minutes walk)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ching_wa
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely stay and friendly owner, highly recommend!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My parents and I stayed for 5 nights in mid-March. From the first email correspondance, Nobu was very quick in responding and helpful. He also provided maps of Kyoto, as well as bus routes for us.
The house is very conveniently located, because there were 3 of us, we took the taxi from the train station to the property. and at 7pm on a week day, it costed about 1600yen (about $17CND. Which is not to bad compared to taxi fares in Vancouver. Also, a ride to the famous Kiyomizu temple, was I think around $850 yen, so $9cnd split between the family.
There is a grocery store about 3min walk from the house. We cooked many of our own meals, since vegetarian food was hard to find in Kyoto. Do make sure to visit the grocery store, as the prices on junk food/pudding is cheaper than tourist areas:).
The futons in the house, we all thought, were very comfortable, and it was very cool to sleep in a traditional house with paper doors. The kitchen was well stocked, and we used the sauce/salt/oil left behind by other guests. The hot water is always very hot, and the bath tub is very cute as well.

Fast Wifi, and always connected, not a problem with that.

One suggestion I would make is to make the heating system stationed a bit lower, because when I was walking around the house, the top half of the rooms feel very warm, but when I was lying on the futon at night, the heat down not travel down low, so it was a bit chilly. Perhaps you could adjust the heating angle, but we weren't too sure.

Overall, excellent location, and clean comfortable house and most importantly, a really freindly owner. If we ever go back to Kyoto to see the cherries or maple, we would not hesistate to stay here again.
Thank you Nobu San!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Reviewed February 16, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne
Reviewed January 13, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
6
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisbane
Reviewed December 16, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Guy K
Yackandandah
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Lovely place, great location”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Neneko house is a lovely place to stay. It is an authentic house and so much better than a hotel. Booking was relatively easy and Nobu, the host, was very helpful and friendly. The house is well located and it is very easy to get around Kyoto by bus. For Japan this is quite large too and has everything you need. some good places to eat are nearby and it's easy enough to walk right into the Kyoto CBD and Gion, each taking about 20 minutes or so.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself and the location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Reviewed October 12, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bains
Reviewed August 15, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$122
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing