We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent japanese style boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Kanra Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Ranked #6 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“excellent japanese style boutique hotel”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The room was huge and the ofuro bathtub in the bathroom is great to relax. It is a very good choice if you are looking for modern mixing japanese style. The location is excellent, not far from station and main attractions. The japanese breakfast was great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSQ-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
We are very glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service. We look forward to welcoming and serving you, again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    150
    25
    8
    2
See reviews for
182
246
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Kanra Kyoto was wonderful, most of their staff spoke excellent English and the ones who did not still have good enough skills to understand what we wanted. We did have some Japanese speaking ability which also helped. We stayed for four nights and I loved every moment of our time at Kanra. The wooden baths are so lovely after a long day of trekking around temples and shops. The room was beautifully appointed with a fridge that we could use, small writing desk and ample space for our luggage and possessions. It really felt like a home away from home.
Staff also organised our luggage to be delivered to our hotel in Tokyo and when I had a tooth ache the concierge bought up something for the pain (to this day I have no idea what it was but it helped my pain within 10 minutes - probably just ibuprofen but still a life saver when you have a late night tooth ache in a foreign country). Close to Kyoto station, 4m walk in a straight line!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
We are only grateful to hear that you are satisfied with our service. Believing that we understand, anyone could get anxious at any point to be in a foreign country where the independent language is spoken and even written on the labels of everything. Having you kindly mentioned that we could make you feel our hotel as a "home away from home" is one of the best compliments we could ever ask for! We look forward to welcoming you again, anytime. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Hotel Kanra is about 10 minute walk from the Kyoto station and 1 train stop away from the main shopping alley. It is located in a small alley and you can easily walk by without noticing it. We had google map to navigate from Kyoto station and if we did not look up, we would have missed the sign of the hotel. It is quite easy to get around and if you have to travel further, it is just a short walk to Kyoto station, If you are lazy, just walk to the train station which is about 20m away. There is a bus stop in front that will bring you to some of the tourist attraction spots. And if you are game for some biking, the hotel rents them for free. However, if there is any indication of rain, no bikes.

The hotel is small but beautiful, chic and exquisite. it opens up to the restaurant which serves a wonderful breakfast in the morning and it is always busy during lunch and dinner (with the locals). The service is impeccable. While I had no complaints about my stay, I do want to caution you on 2 points:

1. There is only 1 English Channel - CNN. Everything else is Japanese. There is no french, German, etc channels.
2. In my room, we did not have any closet space or space to house our empty suitcases. So amidst the beautifully arranged decor, our suitcases sat by the side.

The hotel seems to sacrifice function for style. I found some of the design terribly impractical.

While I like to the hotel, I don't think I will come back when I visit Kyoto again. After long walks, I would want to come back, park myself in front of the TV and just veg / channel surf. It is not possible in Kanra. Also, the lack of closet space is terribly inconvenient and our stuff seemly spilled over disrupting the beauty of the room.

Room Tip: I chose the room which is on the ground floor and had split levels Do NOT choose this. The main door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loongmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
All the staffs here at Hotel Kanra Kyoto are willing to help making you feel as if you are at your “Japanese home”and relax, as much as possible. If you could consider coming back to us again, please let us serve another type of room that should offer more space to store. Also, we appreciate you sharing your notes on the variety of available international TV programs. As we certainly take it as a valuable feedback of yours, we would like to see what we could do about it.
We would very much look forward to serving you, again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

If you are looking for chic Kyoto, well located ( 10 minutes walking straight from Kyoto Station, 10 minutes biking to Kiomizudera Temple and best traditional small alleys for shopping around this temple), great contemporary Japanese interior with spacy rooms (which is a real luxury in Japan), and great service, Hotel Kanra Kyoto will not dissapoint. We particularly loved the rooms, with private entrance in each room, additional tatami living room, and adored the hinoki wooden bath tub! Ammenities were nice, my husband ended up buying the hotel´s exclusive yukata wrobe. Free bike rentals are abailable, and a 24 hours Seven Eleven in the front corner. We would definitively recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EKM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
The Kanra's exclusive YUKATA is one of our top-selling merchandises. We hope it is now something that reminds you of us, and your stay in Kyoto.
We look forward to welcoming and serving you again, anytime. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Spent two nights in this hotel which was two nights too many. Real style over substance as the room had very limited storage space, lighting so poor that had to take hot water in a glass and mirror to window to shave. Impossible to read in bed. Western breakfast was ok, bed comfortable and location ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HambledonSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel to stay with.
We would diligently make effort to sophisticate our service, as we very much appreciate your feedback. Please do ask us for the extra light stands and other requests, the next time we are serving you. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We spent 12 days in Japan and stayed in 6 different hotels. The Kanra was the best by far. The rooms are spacious and very private with a wooden screen that separates the entry from the hallway. While it is very modern and has an excellent shower and enormous bed, it maintains a traditional feel with a wooden bath, low sofas and minimalist decor. What makes the hotel so special is the level of service provided by the staff. Every request is dealt with in detail, maps are printed out and we were walked out to waiting taxis. Even our guide said that he had never been greeted so well in any other hotel in Kyoto. The location is excellent - close to the train station and the subway.
Being so contemporary, lights are not bright enough. The massive sink which sits in the bedroom area does not have a plug but these are small issues when the overall experience is so positive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, Reservations Department at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
We all are truly delightful to receive such positive reviewing comments on your staying experience with us, and appreciate it very much.
Please kindly be noted that, though we could not provide the clog which to use for the sink in the room due to the construction of its sink, we have extra washbasin to bring in to rooms upon request. We would love to welcome and serve you, again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed in this hotel during our stay in Kyoto.
The hotel is near a train station and within walking distance to a bus stop so it is very conveniently located. There's also a 24hr convenience store nearby.
The entrance is a little bit hard to find as we have to go to an alley first but once you step in you find yourself in a modern contemporary hotel but still maintain its Japanese feeling

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, Reservations Desk at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel to stay with.
For your information, if you are coming to us by a taxi the next time, please advise the driver to call and let us know that you are on the way arriving within a certain time, we would like to come out to the corner of our property so that we could take your luggage as well as to lead the way. We look forward to welcoming and serving you, again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 369 in Kyoto
2,935 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#13 of 369 in Kyoto
2,309 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kanra Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kanra Kyoto

Property: Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Address: 190 Kitamachi Karasuma-dori Rokujo Sagaru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8176, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kanra Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kanra Kyoto is a modern designed hotel in style, and yet aiming to acquire and provide the uniquely sophisticated service of Ryokans(the traditional Japanese hotels) to every single guest. The 68 rooms decorated with the minimal touches and scents of Kyoto are the "Small Luxury". Once you step in to the lobby, you are immersed in the cozy warmth in the sun and the rejuvenating coolness under the shades of the green leaves that will emotionally take you to the front garden of the "MA-CHI-YA"(the historic Kyoto's townhouses).Our famous Hiba-cypress wooden bathtub and a separate shower are built in each room.We would do our best to assist your trip in Kyoto to be the precious memory of a lifetime.*Free Wi-Fi throughout the facility.*Located approx. 12minutes on foot from the Central Exit at JR Kyoto station, 1 minute walk from the Exit 8 at Gojo Subway Stop to your right(the South direction). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kanra Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing