We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, though starting to look its age”
Review of Hotel Kanra Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Ranked #6 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, though starting to look its age”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Like others here we booked this hotel wanting a more modern take on the traditional ryokan. Our room was literally enormous and in fact we actually thought the bed was too large! Everything was spotlessly clean, though the shared areas are starting to look a little shabby. The staff were very friendly and took a lot of time to help us with our restaurant bookings. The only thing I would have wanted is some water in the rooms (though a 7-eleven is right next door). A great choice in Kyoto due to its location.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Putney_resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel to stay with.
We would diligently make effort to sophisticate our service, day by day, for that all feedbacks from our guests mean fortune to us. We would cater bottles of water to your room, upon your requests, so please let us the next time.
We would very much appreciate your comments, and look forward to serving you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    157
    26
    8
    2
See reviews for
196
259
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is by far one of the most beautifully designed ones in which I have ever been. From the lights in the room to the furniture style, it gives the whole place a very home-like atmosphere.

One not so good thing is that the toilet is separated from the bathroom, It feels a bit claustrophobic in there.

Another negative comment is the lack of space to place the suitcase or store anything else. I guess it's the price to pay for brilliant design.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miketrix30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel to stay with.
We would diligently make effort to sophisticate our service, for that all feedbacks from our guests mean fortune to us.
We would very much appreciate your comments, so must the Architects and the designers in our team! We all look forward to serving you, again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Bearing in mind that this place isn't expensive by Japanese standards, our room in the Kanra was the most stunning, creatively designed rooms we've ever had at any price. Our superior room was huge, very modern, luxurious, beautifully lit and atmospheric at night, and importantly for us, very Japanese. OK, so it's not the most practical room - not enough storage space particularly, but it's well worth the trade off. Second best thing about the hotel were the free bikes - they're electrically assisted so made getting all over Kyoto a pleasure! Kyoto is a big place and the sights are a long way apart, and these bikes made it all accessible for us which improved our whole experience. Also worth noting the staff were very helpful booking restaurants for us - a must in Kyoto since there are so many great places to eat but many make it quite difficult for non-Japanese speakers to book.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoolsandAbbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
All the staffs here at Hotel Kanra Kyoto are more than happy to help making your trip as extraordinary as possible!
We would very much look forward to serving you, again -with the bikes ready for you.. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We loved this hotel and all of the staff! We were initially looking to book a ryokan but felt that may be a little too traditional for our taste, so we chose Hotel Kanra and got a modern twist on the traditional ryokan concept. The rooms are very spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated in zen-like Japanese style. We even had our own tatami room where we ate a great meal from the hotel restaurant. The rooms are equipped with great little luxuries and conveniences such as an ipod dock, delicious green tea and a tea kettle, stylish kimonos and slippers. The bathroom is also quite impressive with a deep soaking cedar bathtub and a large modern shower, as well as the usual Japanese state of the art Toto toilet!

All the staff we encountered at Hotel Kanra couldn't have been more helpful, polite and hospitable. The staff made our stay that much more enjoyable and ensured our every need was met, including planning out our day of sightseeing. We even bought a discounted 1-day bus pass from the front desk which is well worth doing. The service at Hotel Kanra was truly top notch.

Finally, the hotel's location is very convenient. It is close to the subway and major bus stop, and is only steps away from a major street with plenty of taxis. It's also only 1 km from Kyoto Station. The hotel is not in Gion which was our favourite part of the city, but it's a quick 10 minute taxi ride away. We found it quite easy to get around during our stay, despite all the sights in Kyoto being extremely spread out across the city.

Overall, we would not hesitate to return to Hotel Kanra and would recommend it to anyone looking for all the modern luxuries and comforts of a 5-star boutique hotel with a unique and traditional Japanese feel and influence.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyM_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
We are overwhelmed to receive such warm comments from you, as it is certainly our pleasure to assist arranging your stay in Kyoto to be one that is memorable.
We would love to welcome and serve you, again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

loved this hotel, close from the train station, easy to walk around the city, metro and they have bicycles you can use to go around, bedroom are amaizing, beautifull design , clean and very confortable, excelent service and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndresMarinIsart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed in their smallest room. Other reviewers have commented on the smallness. There was not a ton of room for our suitcases nor could we watch TV from bed (they should really mount them on an adjustable mount), but we knew all of this before booking.

The hotel was a short walk from Kyoto Station, approximately 10min with our luggage. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted and shown to our room. The bathroom was beautiful and the bed was comfortable. We had a view of a side street/school part of Kyoto, and some mountains in the distance.

We used the motor assisted bikes on the last day to bike along the river. I highly recommend it.

We had the room service 2 nights in a row (a little embarrassing, yes). We ordered appetizers, pork, chicken, and a pasta dish. All of them were delicious, though some were a bit cold. The food was restaurant quality, but perhaps not selected well for travelling to our room?

All in all, we had a wonderful and comfortable stay at Kanra. I would stay and eat there again.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Lovely boutique hotel that combines western and japanese styles - you get the style of a western boutique hotel with a japanese feel. Very friendly, excellent service, incredible rooms and bathrooms and plenty of space. Whilst not in the centre, it was very near Kyoto station which was useful and right next to a train station but it was really easy to walk to places. Dinner was outstanding. Pre-book bikes before you go - hire is free and it was a great way of getting around.

Room Tip: we went for the middle range which was excellent and really stylish
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#12 of 373 in Kyoto
2,371 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 373 in Kyoto
3,004 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 373 in Kyoto
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kanra Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kanra Kyoto

Property: Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Address: 190 Kitamachi Karasuma-dori Rokujo Sagaru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8176, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kanra Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kanra Kyoto is a modern designed hotel in style, and yet aiming to acquire and provide the uniquely sophisticated service of Ryokans(the traditional Japanese hotels) to every single guest. The 68 rooms decorated with the minimal touches and scents of Kyoto are the "Small Luxury". Once you step in to the lobby, you are immersed in the cozy warmth in the sun and the rejuvenating coolness under the shades of the green leaves that will emotionally take you to the front garden of the "MA-CHI-YA"(the historic Kyoto's townhouses).Our famous Hiba-cypress wooden bathtub and a separate shower are built in each room.We would do our best to assist your trip in Kyoto to be the precious memory of a lifetime.*Free Wi-Fi throughout the facility.*Located approx. 12minutes on foot from the Central Exit at JR Kyoto station, 1 minute walk from the Exit 8 at Gojo Subway Stop to your right(the South direction). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kanra Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing