We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Japanese hotel at its best”
Review of Hotel Kanra Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Ranked #6 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Modern Japanese hotel at its best”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Hotel Kanra is a gorgeous boutique hotel situated just 10 minutes walk from Kyoto station. We had a room on the top floor (5th floor), and it was very peaceful and private. Throughout our stay, we didn't run into anyone else on the floor! The decor is stunning - a mix of traditional and modern Japanese. Our room had a lovely tatami mat sitting area, shoji screens, a generous bed, and a beautiful cedar Japanese bathtub. The service was wonderful too. The staff had some great recommendations for a soba and kushiage restaurant, which were the best we tried on our 3 week trip. The Japanese breakfast is worth the price, though I would caution against the Western breakfast, which is more of a Japanese interpretation of what a Western breakfast is. They stock gorgeous yukatas as well. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
We are only grateful to hear that you are satisfied with our service. I must add, if I shall, that our western-style breakfasts are improved ever since and in fact making fans of own now. We look forward to welcoming you again- with a new and improved taste at the Kitchen Kanra as well.. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    154
    26
    8
    2
See reviews for
191
254
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Wonderful location, tradiontal Japanese room, hreat staff & amazing food, dinner as well as breakfast. We booked this hotel as a short break while visiting family in Yokohama, on arrival we weren't sure what to expect but were very impressed with what we found. Our room was on 2 levels & perfect for our every need.
Would recomend this hotel to friends & family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
We are only grateful to hear that you are satisfied with our service. Hoping we still have what it takes to impress you all over again, though it will sure not be the same as the first time expectations you hold, we look forward to welcoming you again -regardless. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great small boutique hotel...lovely rooms (we had a two floor room with bed upstairs and a sitting room and bathroom downstairs). Faultless service, great food, and an all in super experience. A bit pricey, but so is everything at these exchange rates.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBG2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
We are only grateful to hear that you are satisfied with our service. We look forward to welcoming you again, anytime. As a matter of fact, it could be a smart tip to be careful with the currency exchange rates when booking, especially we offer at the same price for both domestic and international reservations... Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Cannot fault. Staff are helpful and friendly. 15 minute walk from JR and 15 minute walk to centre of Kyoto nightlife. Rooms were modern yet traditional. Remember to rent those free bikes - will stay again!

Room Tip: Level 4 for the vending machine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel has everything you would ask for:

great service - the staffs here speak very good English compare to other hotel, they provide the best class of service;
great room - very spacious room with a modern and traditional Japanese fusion design, they provide a very comfy bed as well.
great location - you can walk to the Kyoto within 10 minutes

I'd high recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winston L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel to stay with.
It is our pure pleasure to do what we could to cater the best service possible to all of our guests. We continue to diligently make effort to sophisticate our service, as we very much appreciate your pleasant comments. We look forward to welcoming and serving you again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Spend 4 nights and really enjoyed. It is small hotel, beautiful rooms( modern and yet feels very Japanese), helpful hotel staff and great location! A big plus hotel is offering bikes with electrical support. We used them almost every day and it helped us to see much, much more of Kyoto. Public transport is good in Kyoto, but using bikes let's you go wherever you want to and so you have much more chance to discover hidden treasures of this amazing town.
One thing is to improve is their breakfast. As someone said in the previous reviews it is not special for the price you pay, so definitely skip it and go local!
Make sure you check Japanese version of hotel's web page reservation engine. The prices usually are lower than on English version ( with chrome browser it is easy to make reservation), strange that they do not offer the same prices on their English version web site.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arturas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
We are ecstatic to hear that you are satisfied with our service. We look forward to welcoming you again, anytime. In addition, we are sorry if the system did not show the same price for the stay plans on the English reservations page on our website at the time. The rates must be offered exactly the same regardless of the languages you would prefer to be guided with. When using the service, please check on the dates and plans as the chosen options; and if you notice any difference in the rates occurring, please contact us directly. We would provide immediate assistance to ensure the accuracy and fairness to all of our equally precious guests. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Lovely and very tranquil hotel near (10 minutes walk) the train station. Rooms are spacious and beds comfortable. Service is impeccable and all restaurant recommendations have been great. Only complaint is that the room is quite dark. Very difficult to put on morning make up or even shave. Free wi-fi and superb breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cialainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
Standing by what we stated, as to respond one of the most requested services, we now provide a lighted make-up mirror in each room, and extra light stand is available upon individual requests. We would love you to make a use of them for the next time. Please come back to spend some time with us, again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 369 in Kyoto
2,958 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#13 of 369 in Kyoto
2,348 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kanra Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kanra Kyoto

Property: Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Address: 190 Kitamachi Karasuma-dori Rokujo Sagaru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8176, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kanra Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kanra Kyoto is a modern designed hotel in style, and yet aiming to acquire and provide the uniquely sophisticated service of Ryokans(the traditional Japanese hotels) to every single guest. The 68 rooms decorated with the minimal touches and scents of Kyoto are the "Small Luxury". Once you step in to the lobby, you are immersed in the cozy warmth in the sun and the rejuvenating coolness under the shades of the green leaves that will emotionally take you to the front garden of the "MA-CHI-YA"(the historic Kyoto's townhouses).Our famous Hiba-cypress wooden bathtub and a separate shower are built in each room.We would do our best to assist your trip in Kyoto to be the precious memory of a lifetime.*Free Wi-Fi throughout the facility.*Located approx. 12minutes on foot from the Central Exit at JR Kyoto station, 1 minute walk from the Exit 8 at Gojo Subway Stop to your right(the South direction). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Rakuten, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kanra Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing