We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay while exploring Kyoto” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kanra Kyoto

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Ranked #5 of 363 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay while exploring Kyoto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Spend 4 nights and really enjoyed. It is small hotel, beautiful rooms( modern and yet feels very Japanese), helpful hotel staff and great location! A big plus hotel is offering bikes with electrical support. We used them almost every day and it helped us to see much, much more of Kyoto. Public transport is good in Kyoto, but using bikes let's you go wherever you want to and so you have much more chance to discover hidden treasures of this amazing town.
One thing is to improve is their breakfast. As someone said in the previous reviews it is not special for the price you pay, so definitely skip it and go local!
Make sure you check Japanese version of hotel's web page reservation engine. The prices usually are lower than on English version ( with chrome browser it is easy to make reservation), strange that they do not offer the same prices on their English version web site.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arturas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
We are ecstatic to hear that you are satisfied with our service. We look forward to welcoming you again, anytime. In addition, we are sorry if the system did not show the same price for the stay plans on the English reservations page on our website at the time. The rates must be offered exactly the same regardless of the languages you would prefer to be guided with. When using the service, please check on the dates and plans as the chosen options; and if you notice any difference in the rates occurring, please contact us directly. We would provide immediate assistance to ensure the accuracy and fairness to all of our equally precious guests. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    136
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
159
222
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Lovely and very tranquil hotel near (10 minutes walk) the train station. Rooms are spacious and beds comfortable. Service is impeccable and all restaurant recommendations have been great. Only complaint is that the room is quite dark. Very difficult to put on morning make up or even shave. Free wi-fi and superb breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cialainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
Standing by what we stated, as to respond one of the most requested services, we now provide a lighted make-up mirror in each room, and extra light stand is available upon individual requests. We would love you to make a use of them for the next time. Please come back to spend some time with us, again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Kanra is one of those hotels that goes for design awards at the expense of practical functionality travelers expect. The lighting over the in-room double sinks is so poor that shaving or putting on makeup is difficult, at best, What little storage there is is taken up by the hotel's paraphenalia (tea sets, rice cooker, room service menus, etc.). The same goes for places to store toiletries: aside from a good-sized table in the sitting area, there's no unoccupied horizontal space to put anything. I'm sure the architect & interior designer are pleased with the awards & kudos they've received for the Kanra. But I'll bet they stay somewhere else when they're in town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peters42016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel to stay with.
We would diligently make effort to sophisticate our service as to respond to all feedbacks from our guests mean so much to us. We would look forward to serving you again, hoping that it will be a better stay to recall. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

I am blown away by this hotel. The room is both authentic yet modern. Beautiful design and decor. Feels like Japan. Not your corporate feel. Wooden bathtub and lively shower, the entire shower room smells like a pine forest. The huge bed is very comfi. My only complaint isthat room maid knocked on the door around 8:30AM despite "do not disturb sign". She woke me up. But not do bad since lots to see in Kyoto:)
This hotel will certainly be one of the most memorable luxury hotels I've ever stated at!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danib99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel to stay with.
We are very sorry for knocking on your door in the morning and woke you up while it was unrequired at all. In spite of this trouble caused by our mistake which should not ever repeat, with all respect, we appreciate your generosity for turning it into an early start of the day to expand the Kyoto experience of your own! We look forward to serving you again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
259 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Unbelievably good. The quality of the room and its fittings will make you giggle with astonishment and excitement. First class hotel and ranks right alongside some of the rooms at the big hotel chains like Ritz Carlton and Fours Seasons groups I have stayed at. The exception is that here as the hotel is so small the service goes beyond anything I have experienced before. Simply amazing. The entire front desk couldn't have been more helpful with suggestions and recommendations and one of them (Tabata) went out of her way to make our stay as enjoyable as it was. Our two nights there went too quickly. Tip - Take advantage of the free bicycles the hotel offers and take yourself for a self guided tour of the city. Given you can ride on the footpaths it makes for a fanstatically safe way to see the sights. Oh...and get your breakfast outside the hotel. What they charge at the in house restaurant for breakfast is rather sill so we just skipped it and ate at local cafes for a fraction of the price.Can't recommend this hotel strongly enough. Nor its staff. All first class. The only drawback would be total lack of stroage space. Zero. none. But lilving out of a suitcase for 2 nights is not a hardship at this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nw05250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us, and providing such overwhelmigly positive review of the stay. All the staffs here at Hotel Kanra Kyoto are more than happy to help making you feel that your time spent here is worth the memory of life time. We would very much look forward to serving you, again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
173 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is a gem. Bouique hotel focused on service and your experience. Stayed for 4 nights. Staff are amazing - dedicated to you for your stay. Largest bed I have ever slept in - 2 queen beds put together. Had the duplex suite - worth the money for space and amenities. The cedar bath is great after a day of touring - and it holds two comfortably! The outdoor zen area off the downstairs living room is a treat for sipping sake. Bath amenities are top flight. The top-of-the line Toto will not disappoint in the bathroom. Our room faced the street, but was shielded from most street noise - light sleepers may need white noise. One thought is that with the size of the bed, suitcase storage can be limited. When you enter it is Zen-like - colored lighting, small restaurant. The taxi drops you off beside the 7-11 as the entrance is slightly down a side street - this adds to the feeling you are definitely in Kyoto - this is good. Most guests appeared to be American or European. Overall - 5 stars. Highly recommended. Taxis in Kyoto are expensive for getting around - 640 yen to start. Metro is limited as Metro does not exchange with private railways or JR, but a 2 block walk away to Gojo Station. Get the JR Pass and use it for the trip from Tokyo and vist Nara and Arayshimaya. Nara is well signed; Arayshimaya unsigned for English - but you will get lots of help when you are standing in front of a signpost. Hotel is a walk from the tourist sites, but learn to use Metro, bus and trains and you will get the better travel experience. Amazing trip made exceptional by the staff at Kanra.

Room Tip: Duplex or large suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel to stay with.
Next time, we would love to have you stayed in other kinds of rooms at our hotel as well, and know how you would find the different concepts in style then.-hoping you would enjoy just as much. Furthermore, please let us advise you the little tips to get around the town making the full use of public transportation. You could be, hopefully, surprised how efficient it could get once you know the trick! We look forward to serving you again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My parents and I stayed at Kanra for 3 nights. Kanra is a modern hotel with traditional Japanese touch. We stayed in the superior room, it looked just like in the photos from their website, feel more spacious and very comfortable. The entire place was pleasant, clean and beautiful. The staffs were wonderful, speak excellent English, help us arranging the restaurant and taxi, always responded quickly to our needs.

It's about 15 min walk from Kanra to Kyoto Station. Other than many restaurant choices in and around the Kyoto Station, we also went to supermarket to buy fresh fruits and vegetables, which we normally didn't get to eat enough while traveling. Other than food, the central location allowed us to return in the afternoon, took a little rest at the hotel and out for fun again after some recharging. This was extremely helpful since we walked a lot in Kyoto.

The lighting in the room was very soft and surely not bright enough for lady to do makeup, we asked for a sitting chair next to the window so the problems solved while there's plenty daylight in the morning.

We had a great stay at Kanra and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mochi-paws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
We understand, welcoming guests daily from all over the world, that the needs of our amazing guests vary broadly and requires individual attentions in order to make us provide the best experience possible to them. Please let us share your ideas, and we would love to see what we could do about it.
We would very much look forward to serving you, again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#13 of 363 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,795 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#11 of 363 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kanra Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kanra Kyoto

Property: Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Address: 190 Kitamachi Karasuma-dori Rokujo Kudaru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8176, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 363 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kanra Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kanra Kyoto is a modern designed hotel in style, and yet aiming to acquire and provide the uniquely sophisticated service of Ryokans(the traditional Japanese hotels) to every single guest. The 68 rooms decorated with the minimal touches and scents of Kyoto are the "Small Luxury". Once you step in to the lobby, you are immersed in the cozy warmth in the sun and the rejuvenating coolness under the shades of the green leaves that will emotionally take you to the front garden of the "MA-CHI-YA"(the historic Kyoto's townhouses).Our famous Hiba-cypress wooden bathtub and a separate shower are built in each room.We would do our best to assist your trip in Kyoto to be the precious memory of a lifetime.*Free Wi-Fi throughout the facility.*Located approx. 12minutes on foot from the Central Exit at JR Kyoto station, 1 minute walk from the Exit 8 at Gojo Subway Stop to your right(the South direction). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Kanra Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing