We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“happy with the choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi
Ranked #22 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
manila
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“happy with the choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

am happy that we got a room here. room is clean and new...bathroom is nice..walking distance to the kyoto station...location is on the less busy side of the station. near malls like avanti, isetan and aeon. good walking distance (5 to 7 mins) to new miyako hotel, where most tours (city night cruise and japanican/sunrise tours) start. many eating places and shopping nearby. most of all the service by the staff is superb! they are always more than happy to help you out!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxliegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    329
    50
    8
    8
See reviews for
111
272
89
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Front desk staffs were very nice. They offered differents amenities at front. It takes 10 min walking from Kyoto Station. The room were clean and confortable. There were lot of restaurants and stores around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelover_sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Daiwa Roynet hotel was located within 10 minute walking distance of the Kyoto train station and gave ready access to the buses which provide excellent transport around Kyoto. A day bus pass was 500Yen while individual trips were 230Yen. There were also lots of restaurants and shops available at the train station. While our double room wasn't large it was comfortable and clean and we could have breakfast for 1000 Yen. Umbrellas were provided by the front desk and staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosepetalBunbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malacca, Malaysia
Level Contributor
408 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a very nice and comfortable hotel. The staff is also very amazing. Easy and fast checking in and equally fast in checking out. There is a machine that we just need to insert our room key...and walla...you are free to check out.

The room is very comfortable even though the bed is a bit "hard". The location of the Hotel is also very strategic...it is very near to the Kyoto Train station and bus station. They provide nice bath aromas and hair clips for ladies. The wi-fi is super fast too.

For those who want to stay in Kyoto, I would recommend this Hotel. Before checking in to this Hotel, I've searched for the exact location. However, whatever that was stated in Tripadvisor or other forum did not give an accurate location.

For the benefit of those who will be going to this Hotel from Kyoto Station....walk to the Hachijo West Side exit. Upon reaching this exit, take the elevator (which is located on the right) down to the main road. Cross the main road and walk to your left. From afar, you will see a big departmental store "Avanti". Just before "Aventi" there is a lane. Walk along that lane for about 75 meters and you will see the Hotel on your left.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sheronlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I really liked this hotel, it had some of the larger rooms of hotels we stayed in throughout Japan.
That said, rooms were pretty small by European standards. It was a nice touch that they offered the ladies extra things such as bath salts and hair clips on check in. The free wife was a nice touch and they had washing machines (that included the laundry detergent) and driers that was really convenient with a suitcase full of laundry!
The directions provided by other travellers to head for the Avanti store were bang on. It's also nice that this route has lifts etc to/from the underpass that saves you from lugging your heavy suitcases up and down stairs.
The only slight disappointment was the breakfast, there weren't as many western options as in other hotels we stayed in, but we certainly didn't go hungry!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto for 3 nights. Though it had mixed reviews, I decided to book the hotel because of its location and price...glad I did. As it turned out, most of the positive reviews were accurate. The hotel was conveniently located (about a ten minute walk) two traffic lights away from the Kyoto Station and near Avanti (which served as a great landmark to find our hotel when we arrived). As we came out of the Hachijo exit, we didn't know how to cross the street since we didn't see any crosswalks, so we carried our bags up and down a set of stairs to get to a crosswalk. We later found a cross walk at the far end of the street that you exit onto. The hotel is also convenient to the bus stop that takes you to the Kiyomizudera and other temples and walking distance to Toji Shrine (about 15 minute walk). The hotel staff were EXCELLENT! They were extremely helpful and while not all spoke English, most of them spoke English well. The rooms were decent-sized for rooms in Japan. The wi-fi in the room (and lobby) were great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willtravel777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We loved this hotel. It's a very convenient and short walk from Kyoto train station (about 5-10 minutes), so there's easy access to the metro and bus systems. There is so much to see that is so far apart in Kyoto that I think being close to public transport is far more important than staying in the "central" or historic parts. Our room was clean, quiet, and comfortable, and the staff was friendly and polite. We arrived with walking sticks from climbing Mount Fuji, and they directed us to a local post office so we could mail them home. One little complaint: there is no Western breakfast option there (at least as of July), so if you're picky about what you eat in the morning, then I'd forgo having the breakfast option. There are lots of options at Kyoto station.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Meg7134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijokarasuma
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#23 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace
Sakura Terrace
#17 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi

Property: Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi
Address: 9-2 Higashikujo Kitakarasumacho, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8017, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 4min walk from KYOTO STATON.Very convineence to sightseeing,dinning,shopping.There are huge shopping center near the hotel.From Airport(Kansai-Osaka) 80min by Limousin bus.Japanease-Kyoto style design hotel.English available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Hotwire, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing