We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi
Ranked #26 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

It's a very good choice if you want to visit the city for tourism purpose.
It's veryclose to the Kyoto Station, so convenient if you come by train as most tourists do (perhaps with a JR pass..).
The staff is very kind and helpful (furthermore able to speak a good english), the hotel is clean and everything is new. There is a free wifi high speed connection into the rooms.
I strongly suggest this accomodation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1381Paolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 765 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Perfect choice if u r looking at a near (steps) rail station location, quite far from central Kyoto. Hotel looks new and rooms are "giant" according Japanese standard, bathroom too. crystal clean everywhere. Free WiFi in lobby, only disappointing is breakfast, too much Japanese oriented.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sar1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We enjoyed 5 nights at the Daiwa Roynet Kyoto in June 2012. The hotel is located less than 5 mins walk from Kyoto Station. From the Shinkansen side of station, take the East/Hachijo Exit, use the underground walkway under Hajchijo dori. You will come out by Avanti Shopping complex. Then walk about 100 m up the Karasuma dori to the hotel on the left side of the road (with the station to your back).

The hotel has a very nice lobby and friendly staff at check in. We were staying on the 3rd floor in a Deluxe Double corner room and could see directly up Karasuma dori to Kyoto station and the Kyoto tower.

We were very pleased wtih the size of our room, being a corner room the bed with a small side table and lounge chairs was on one side and a large desk with a set of drawers and plenty of space for our lug.gae on the other side. Relatively snug bathroom area but nothing unusual for a Japanese Hotel. The room and hotel in general was very clean and tidy. The free (wired) internet was very fast also). We also made use of the laundry room on the 5th floor which was reasonably priced.

There are several convenience stores on walk between station and hotel and a CoCo Curry house is straight across the road (a favourite of ours across Japan for cheap and cheerful Japanese curry). Of course Kyoto station is very close and is in itself a tourist attraction. There are dozens of wonderful places to eat here, you will not go hungry! There is also shopping centres off to the side of the station and a large BIC Camera also.

We were really pleased with this hotel, would happily stay again. Very convenient to Kyoto Station which makes everything easily accessible for a traveller.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tumnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Great location in Kyoto, only a few blocks from the train station. Good sized room and friendly staff.
We walked to the Nijo-jo, which was a bit of a hike but nice to get a feel for the city.

It's not really near any nightlife but overall a good place to stay at a decent price (we opted out of breakfast).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beckside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights after arriving in Kyoto by shinkansen from Hiroshima. It is kind of hard to find the hotel so best to ask the people around. The hotel is very clean and nice. Check in went smoothly and they will teach you how to self-check out. They will bring out a basket with amenities and you can take as much as as you want. This was the only hotel during this trip that provided bath powder for relaxing. Also they gave us drip coffee which was a nice touch. We stayed at the highest floor so the view was nice. The room is quite spacious from other business hotel and it's really worth it. The price during this time was higher as there was a big event at Kyoto that hotels around there were all fully booked. If you reserve much earlier through their site, the price can be even more reasonable. At the lobby, they have few Japanese tourist magazines of Kyoto which is very handy. I will definitely stay here again and explore Kyoto. But there is no safety box....

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luluchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here two nights after arriving in Kyoto on the shinkansen from Tokyo. The area around this hotel isn't much to see but that seems pretty typical of Kyoto - most of the sites are located a bit further from the city center where the affordable hotels are. This hotel works well as a base near the train station, which was convenient for our day trip to Arashiyama and for taking the JR Train back from Fushimi Inari Taisha.It was really easy to find - it's a straight walk a couple blocks south of the station.

After a full day spent walking all around temple grounds and markets, having a hotel close to the station was wonderful. We walked to Tofuku-ji and Fushimi Inari from the hotel area - it wasn't far but it's quite easy to get lost as the roads are tiny and unnamed. We were also able to walk to Gion - it took a while (25 minutes) but it was very pleasant along the river - and there are a couple of good, affordable bike rental places around the station as well, which I highly recommend as a method for seeing Kyoto.

We were traveling without a laptop and were hoping to meet up with a friend in Kyoto, so we took advantage of the free laptops in the hotel lobby providing internet access - very convenient. The staff were friendly and really quick about everything and were happy to keep our bags for us till the evening after we checked out. The room was unremarkable but a good value and fine if you're not planning on spending much time in your hotel room - a bit larger than you would probably get in Tokyo for the price - modern, convenient, and comfortable. We got a really good deal by booking in advance on hotels.com - stay 2 nights and get 50% off.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its location. A short walk from Kyoto station meant it was easy to find and very easy to explore the city from. The JR line, Shinkansen and the City buses all depart from here making it me and my partners first port of call every morning!
The room was clean and tidy (I found all the Japnese hotels I stayed in were) and the size was average for hotel rooms at this price in Japan. We did not find the room too much of a problem seeing as we spent most of our time in Kyoto exploring therefore it was used as a place to crash after a long day! However the view from the window left much to be desired - a brick wall is all we could see out of the window.
The service was alittle impersonal. Check-in and out was done on machine - great however if you are aware of this beforehand and your Japanese is not up to scratch.

We did not try the breakfast so I cannot comment on its quality however the restaurant was busy every morning so I expect it was good.

Would recommend this hotel purely on its location - great for people who are planning to explore alot of Kyoto!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijo Karasuma
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#25 of 379 in Kyoto
740 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace
Sakura Terrace
#16 of 379 in Kyoto
907 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
#21 of 379 in Kyoto
344 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#42 of 379 in Kyoto
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi

Address: 9-2 Higashikujo Kitakarasumacho, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8017, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $79 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 4min walk from KYOTO STATON.Very convineence to sightseeing,dinning,shopping.There are huge shopping center near the hotel.From Airport(Kansai-Osaka) 80min by Limousin bus.Japanease-Kyoto style design hotel.English available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Hotels.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing