We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi
Ranked #25 of 405 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its location. A short walk from Kyoto station meant it was easy to find and very easy to explore the city from. The JR line, Shinkansen and the City buses all depart from here making it me and my partners first port of call every morning!
The room was clean and tidy (I found all the Japnese hotels I stayed in were) and the size was average for hotel rooms at this price in Japan. We did not find the room too much of a problem seeing as we spent most of our time in Kyoto exploring therefore it was used as a place to crash after a long day! However the view from the window left much to be desired - a brick wall is all we could see out of the window.
The service was alittle impersonal. Check-in and out was done on machine - great however if you are aware of this beforehand and your Japanese is not up to scratch.

We did not try the breakfast so I cannot comment on its quality however the restaurant was busy every morning so I expect it was good.

Would recommend this hotel purely on its location - great for people who are planning to explore alot of Kyoto!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 776 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

This hotel is well located, only a few minutes walking distance from the JR/Shinkansen station in Kyoto. It's not what I would call downtown though but you can easily reach the main spots using public transport.
Check-in was quite different. You go to the desk, they greet you and acknowledge your reservation then direct you to a self check-in machine. You basically enter your details and your credit card and pre-pay the entire stay. Check-out is the same. You put your room key inside and pay whatever extra you had. Quick and efficient but maybe a bit unpersonalized for this kind of hotel. Auto check-in and out would be more appropriate for budget hotels.

The room was small. Might be ok for a "small" couple but two big adults would feel a bit cramped in there.
The room is clean though, and the bed comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enelym1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This hotel is located very close to the main trainstation which is convenient for transport, shopping and eating.

The rooms are on the small side but all clean, modern and fresh.

Breakfast included western and asian options.

Recommended if you're looking for a business hotel in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank If_only_I_were_rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Not in the 'exact' city center but close to Kyoto train station (only 3mins walk from the south exit, *if you're not lost in the station), which is a huge advantage if you have a big luggage with you; and the train station is also a subway/bus hub, so it's very convenient. Big shopping malls & 24hr convenient shops are within walking distance.

Friendly & welcoming staff; hotel amenities similar to same grade business hotel with thoughtful toiletry packages included (hairband/hand lotion for ladies and shaver with cream for the man on top of the usual stuffs), clean & comfortable room. Automated check out system is a breeze, just insert the room key & check out process is done (if you paid up front, of course).

They're opening another branch in the middle of Kyoto (on the 4-th street) and if the same standard is maintained, then Daiwa Roynet is definitely my first choice of hotel in Kyoto at this price range.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hariister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I was travelling for business but with family (i.e., grandparents & 1-y.o. child). We had the 'universal twin', which is made for wheelchair access, so that we could fit in an extra bed. This 3rd bed didn't leave much space in the room, but that bathroom was very nice and spacious.

The hotel is less than a 5 min walk from Kyoto Station (JR & subway), which made it very easy for me to travel between there & where I needed to be for work.

The rooms were clean and new, with plenty of amenities (they tended to overload us with new toothbrushes every day). The sound proofing was excellent! My child would scream in the room and I would perhaps hear it faintly in the hallway.

With a little coin laundry in the hotel and LAN connection in the rooms, it was very convenient for our 5-night stay.

Japanese breakfast was fine--buffet for 1,000 yen is a pretty good deal, although there wasn't much variety once you stayed longer than 2 days and the Western food was terrible.

Great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyEm-in-Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

The hotel is right beside the train and bus stations but it is a little bit outside the city centre. However the buses are really easy to use and the staff in the bus station are very helpful. The hotel staff were very friendly, not all had much English but they usually found someone who did! The laundry room was a godsend, as we had been travelling for a week so it came at just the right time. There was a free LAN connection in the room too.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathmce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled solo
Thank catnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijo Karasuma
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#23 of 405 in Kyoto
752 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace
Sakura Terrace
#18 of 405 in Kyoto
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
#30 of 405 in Kyoto
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi

Address: 9-2 Higashikujo Kitakarasumacho, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8017, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 405 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $67 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 4min walk from KYOTO STATON.Very convineence to sightseeing,dinning,shopping.There are huge shopping center near the hotel.From Airport(Kansai-Osaka) 80min by Limousin bus.Japanease-Kyoto style design hotel.English available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing