We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great choice for each season!”
Review of Hostel Mundo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostel Mundo
Ranked #125 of 346 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Reviewed April 10, 2012

the staff here can really take care of you, in many times were help a lot! they're also travel many times. i stay here around 2 weeks, quite clean, good atmosphere, traditional japanese house, located at the center of this ancient city, close to supermarket, Onsen, also bus station which i'd say it's the best way to travel around Kyoto, and it's always nice to have a cup of hot tea anytime you want. one of my best stay :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Mundo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 55 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

Really nice stay here. If you want a stay in a traditional Japanese home then this is it. Make sure you print off the directions they give you on the website from the JR station; once you walk it once you will be fine. The guys here are so nice, shame we didn't get to chat with them much as we were asleep or out and about taking in Kyoto life. Just be careful if you are 6"4, I headbutted quite a few beams walking around :P

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hakf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Hostel Mundo provides more than just a comfortable and relaxing shelter. The house is a well looked after traditional Kyoto town house with many lovely details. The owner was incredibly friendly and helpful. Having a communal kitchen and living room means guests can interact with each other.

Excellent value for money for the great experience. Will definitely stay again!

(P.S. Traditional Japanese house does imply the walls are made with paper which is not the best noise-resisting material, just be mindful if you choose to stay in the female dorm)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lennyjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I had a lovely stay here last year. I was travelling alone but met some new friends at Hostel Mundo when I joined in the gyoza party that was happening on the first night I arrived. The owner is really friendly and helpful. Next time I go to Kyoto I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yasuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

This was the first place we stayed in when we arrived in Japan and we couldn't have been happier. It's an old house that's been 'converted' into a hostel but in reality it just feels like you're renting a room in someone's house and that 'someone' is super friendly, relaxed and very helpful. He was full of suggestions, directions, and information concerning Kyoto. We stayed in a private room upstairs which had a comfortable bed and not a lot of room for anything else but this suited us as we were only there to sleep and the heater kept it very warm. Facilities are basic and homely and the owner has a number of bikes that he rents out very cheaply. We were ther in Jan 2011 at which time it had only been open for a few weeks? so am keen to see how it's going approaching its first year of operation. I hope it's doing well for the owners sake - a genuinely nice fella.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marigoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

The location of the hostel is central. The room was quite small in size but clean. The staff of the hostel arer very friendly and kind. Generally, the atmoshere of the hostel made us feel like home. The styling of the hotel was like a typical traditional Japan place.Free wifi and free laptop use was also a plus. Finally, cheap rent of bicycles is available.
On the other hand, there is no sound isolation, so if you are sensitive in noise maybe you ll have problem.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ifbourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

This is the first time I have slept in a traditional Japanese house and I would stay at Hostel Mundo again anytime. The location central(literally in the center of Kyoto). The owner is very sweet, friendly and helpful, it was always great to have a chat with him.The shower room is quite small though and the toilets are outside so it can be cold in late autumn and night.The hostel also has bikes you can rent for the day at a great price.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xalara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hostel Mundo Chiquito
Hostel Mundo Chiquito
#91 of 346 in Kyoto
40 reviews
Northern Kyoto
Small World Guest House
Small World Guest House
#228 of 346 in Kyoto
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Western Kyoto
Hat'n Hat Hostel
Hat'n Hat Hostel
#39 of 346 in Kyoto
39 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Guest House Kyoto Inn
Guest House Kyoto Inn
#68 of 346 in Kyoto
15 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Fairfield House Backpackers Hostel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mundo

Address: 596 Tenbincho Kamigyoku, Kyoto 602-8105, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Nishijin District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 346 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range: $14 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Mundo 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Rakuten, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hostel Mundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing