We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Run by possibly the nicest people in the world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Mundo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel Mundo
Ranked #65 of 225 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
London, England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Run by possibly the nicest people in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Really nice stay here. If you want a stay in a traditional Japanese home then this is it. Make sure you print off the directions they give you on the website from the JR station; once you walk it once you will be fine. The guys here are so nice, shame we didn't get to chat with them much as we were asleep or out and about taking in Kyoto life. Just be careful if you are 6"4, I headbutted quite a few beams walking around :P

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hakf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
14
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Hostel Mundo provides more than just a comfortable and relaxing shelter. The house is a well looked after traditional Kyoto town house with many lovely details. The owner was incredibly friendly and helpful. Having a communal kitchen and living room means guests can interact with each other.

Excellent value for money for the great experience. Will definitely stay again!

(P.S. Traditional Japanese house does imply the walls are made with paper which is not the best noise-resisting material, just be mindful if you choose to stay in the female dorm)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lennyjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I had a lovely stay here last year. I was travelling alone but met some new friends at Hostel Mundo when I joined in the gyoza party that was happening on the first night I arrived. The owner is really friendly and helpful. Next time I go to Kyoto I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yasuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

This was the first place we stayed in when we arrived in Japan and we couldn't have been happier. It's an old house that's been 'converted' into a hostel but in reality it just feels like you're renting a room in someone's house and that 'someone' is super friendly, relaxed and very helpful. He was full of suggestions, directions, and information concerning Kyoto. We stayed in a private room upstairs which had a comfortable bed and not a lot of room for anything else but this suited us as we were only there to sleep and the heater kept it very warm. Facilities are basic and homely and the owner has a number of bikes that he rents out very cheaply. We were ther in Jan 2011 at which time it had only been open for a few weeks? so am keen to see how it's going approaching its first year of operation. I hope it's doing well for the owners sake - a genuinely nice fella.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marigoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

The location of the hostel is central. The room was quite small in size but clean. The staff of the hostel arer very friendly and kind. Generally, the atmoshere of the hostel made us feel like home. The styling of the hotel was like a typical traditional Japan place.Free wifi and free laptop use was also a plus. Finally, cheap rent of bicycles is available.
On the other hand, there is no sound isolation, so if you are sensitive in noise maybe you ll have problem.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ifbourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

This is the first time I have slept in a traditional Japanese house and I would stay at Hostel Mundo again anytime. The location central(literally in the center of Kyoto). The owner is very sweet, friendly and helpful, it was always great to have a chat with him.The shower room is quite small though and the toilets are outside so it can be cold in late autumn and night.The hostel also has bikes you can rent for the day at a great price.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xalara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hostel Mundo Chiquito
Hostel Mundo Chiquito
#60 of 225 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
City Center
Suzuki Guesthouse
Suzuki Guesthouse
#98 of 225 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
City Center
Guesthouse OKI's Inn
Guesthouse OKI's Inn
#19 of 225 in Kyoto
5.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nishijin District
Hannari
Hannari
#69 of 225 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Khaosan Kyoto Theater
Khaosan Kyoto Theater
#13 of 225 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Yado HARUYA Aqua
Yado HARUYA Aqua
#23 of 225 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mundo

Property: Hostel Mundo
Address: 596 Tenbincho Kamigyoku, Kyoto 602-8105, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Nishijin District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 225 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Mundo 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hostel Mundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing