We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable hostel stay”
Review of Kyoto Hana Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kyoto Hana Hostel
Ranked #19 of 420 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

For it's wonderful location, extremely clean facilities, friendly staff and very reasonable price, this has to be the best hostel experience i ever had! Maybe an even better choice than hotel.

Conveniently located just 5 mins walk from JR Kyoto Station, you know you are on the right way once you see Lawson along Shichijo-dori. It is not located along the main street, but still safe even if you are travelling alone. Easy access to food, convenient stores and of course, to the rail and buses. You can just walk over to Higashihonganji temple too!

The friendly staff at the reception speaks good English so no worries about communication. If you wanna visit Kyoto by bus, you can get the Kyoto City Bus One-Day Pass at the reception. Although i opted for dormitory, there is a curtain for you to close up so you can still enjoy some privacy at your bed space. There is also a wooden rack to put some stuff, hangers, bedlight and two power sockets for each and every bed. Everything here is really EXTREMELY clean! The shared shower rooom, toilet and lavatory are all very well maintained so you feel comfortable using them. There is also a Living/Dining area and kitchen which is available for use by all. I saw that there are some free beverages so you can help yourselves to those too.

To add on for being reasonably priced, I even got a discount for staying in its same chain over in Osaka for n-th night!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Piggogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 271 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the twin ensuite with toilet, Japanese style room for 5 nights. It is about 8min walk from the Kyoto station. It is very clean and the staff are very friendly. This hostel even provides shower foam and shampoo. There is also a hair dryer in the room. So I should say it is value for money. There is also a kitchen where you can cook. The cons are that we had to climb to the 3rd storey when we needed to get back to our room and every morning about 5 plus, we could hear the temple nearby sounding its gong.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pin78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had traveled to Hana Hostel in 2010 with just 2 adults and decided to head back this year with our 7 month old.

It was very comforting to walk back into Hana and be greeted with a smiling face, even though we were about 1 minute off reception closing at 2200. We we're staying in a Japanese Double Ensuite room, complete with Futon Bedding. We preferred the futon bedding, especially with our bubba as we didn't have to worry about her rolling off.

The Common area and kitchen is very clean and comfortable with everything you could need to kick up a storm. Hana is quite small with only a couple of dorm rooms and a sprinkle of ensuited rooms around the 3 storey building.

The Reception staff are absolutely amazing, they helped us out with any questions we had and made the cutest post card for us when we checked out!

Access is super easy from the massively connected Kyoto Station (Shinkansen, JR Local, Kintetsu railway and Subway lines all pull up here!) You can walk most of the way underground, popping up right outside of a Lawson to stock up and then only needing to cross a road, turn right and walk 10m, turn left and walk about 20 m to get there.

We would have absolutely no hesitation with staying here again and intend to do so soon!

Room Tip: The 3rd floor is great as there is a fridge on the floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bass_ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had 2 private Japanese rooms for a family of 4, loved the futons & found them comfortable. It was easy to find & a very convenient location, walking distance to Kyoto Station & buses to everywhere. They gladly stored our luggage as we arrived quite early. The bathrooms were clean & adequate & very close to our rooms. We carry our own quick dry towels so didn't need to rent towels.The free wi-fi & use of computers was a bonus for us. The staff spoke excellent English & were extremely helpful & caring when we needed medical help late at night, calling the clinic/hospital & telling the taxi driver where to take us. (reaction to a wasp sting, stung at a festival). We enjoyed Kyoto & would happily stay at Hana Hostel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Like previous reviewers, I'd had trouble getting affordable accommodation in Kyoto and stumbled upon this on the net. I booked a private room for 2 nights and was quite impressed with Hana hostel, and will definitely stay here again in the future.
The 'shared bathroom' was right across the hall from my small but clean & functional room - yes, towels cost extra to rent but it's literally small change, and you make your own futon.
The staff are pleasant, helpful & speak excellent English. There is a good kitchen (free tea & coffee) & common room, luggage storage and lots of other travellers to chat with, and the station is literally a few minutes walk away.
The excellent English guide & witty signage around the place make the experience more relaxed, and I really enjoyed my time in Kyoto thanks to Hana Hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked the private room with bath, and it was a good size, albeit the room was just a box, with a view looking at the back of another building.
The staff were very friendly, but charged us for towel rental, which really should be provided when a private bath is booked. The location is good for the railway station, and it is a 30 min walk to the downtown restaurants,and Gion district.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WHDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

After seeking a real ryokan experience, we struggled to find availability in a reasonable priced category. So, we booked with Hana. The people there were hugely helpful with good english. We asked lots of questions to avoid getting lost again and they were happy to be of service.

The room was ryokan style with tatami mats and futon beds, which was good fun. They were also very comfortable. We had to move into a ryokan on our 3rd night nearby as Hana did not have availability. This was twice the price and a very similar room! The bathrooms in both were almost identical - v small but functional and plastic. The rooms in both were also quite load due to thin walls. But, with eye-patch and earplugs, I slept brilliantly.

Location was also brilliant, being 5 mins from the main station for good bus routes, subway and trains. Would use again, for sure. Also, met some really nice guests there - very friendly atmosphere that we did not get at the ryokan or would do at a hotel

Room Tip: the private rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timbowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Fujitaya Kyoto
Fujitaya Kyoto
#6 of 420 in Kyoto
260 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
K's House Kyoto
K's House Kyoto
#5 of 420 in Kyoto
845 reviews
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Piece Hostel Sanjo
Piece Hostel Sanjo
#2 of 420 in Kyoto
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Piece Hostel Kyoto
Piece Hostel Kyoto
#1 of 420 in Kyoto
978 reviews
Gion Ryokan Q-beh
#18 of 420 in Kyoto
119 reviews
Nishijin District
Ryokan&Hostel Wasabi Kyoto Soba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Hana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Hana Hostel

Address: 229 Kogawacho, Shichjo Agau, Akezudori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8149, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 420 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range: $23 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kyoto Hana Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hana Hostel. “Hana” means “Flower” in Japanese. We try to be a fresh and cheery hostel like a lotus flower floating in the pond. Kyoto Hana Hostel opened in April, 2010.The building used to be a local “Ryokan”. We remodeled this into an advanced international hostel. As we are very close from the station and the guest rooms are well-equipped, we will be an good option to stay for not only backpackers but also for ordinary tourists with suits cases. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kyoto Hana Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing