We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service and amenities”
Review of Kyoto Hana Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kyoto Hana Hostel
Ranked #14 of 333 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and amenities”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in July 2011 as we traveled around Japan. We stayed here for five nights as Kyoto is a really convenient base to sight see in lots of different places nearby, and it was so comfortable it felt like home. We thought the price was exceptionally good for everything we got. This is a relatively new hostel so the decor and facilities were really modern and clean. The rooms are comfortable (though not generous) in size and had everything we need. The facilities were quite extensive, anything that we could think of that we might want (washing machine, bikes, vending machines, kitchen facilities, great wifi... you name it) was available, and because we stayed for so long we got to rent bikes for free one day which was a nice bonus. The thing which really impressed us though was the service. The staff, all of whom spoke English very well, and were very willing to suggest places to see and restaurants to go to - we found a great raamen shop on one staff member's recommendation which was the type of place only a local would know about. This place had everything I want in a hostel and for a very reasonable price. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    98
    23
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
85
53
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seremban, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2012

stayed there for 3 night,very good location, near to kyoto main station.
room is very clean,staff is super friendly and helpful, give alot of information.
wifi connection is very fast too compare to others hotel/hostel!
very enjoyed our stay at there. :)
the cons is no lift . it difficult for heavy luggage especially girls.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siewtheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Great location, great price, and lovely lovely tatami room ;)
Super clean & Awesome staffs!!! And sooo peaceful. Great for couples and family.

Stayed for 7days and I'd been recommending to EVERYONE who is going to Kyoto, MUSTstay at Hana Hostel.
Pay for hostel rate but stay like a 5star hotel ;)

Location: Super near Kyoto Station and some great eating place nearby. Ask the staff for recommendation! Thy will direct you to the best Ramen & Okonomiyaki around the corner ;) yumyumyum. Thanks Shizuka, Erika, Mio & Mana for the great hospitality and great advice on where to go and to eat (like a local). I am missing you guys very much and Japan~

Note: remember to ask them for the map of places to eat, ;)

They also have a great stamping system where you can collect stamps to either redeem vouchers or discount. It's for lifetime! no time limits! and best of all, you can use it at all Hana Hostel's branch and J-hoppers too. Save us alot in renting bicycles hehe


Oh, do not miss:
1.Fushimi Inari Shrine-mother of all tori gates!! the ultimate tori gate experience
2. Kyoto Station-Level 10, Ramen Street- for the ultimate Ramen experience! you can try all possible type of Ramen available in whole Japan here. abit pricey compared to shops but no where else you can find all of Japan's Ramen variety under 1 roof.
3. Rent a bicycle!
4. Kiyomizu-dera and nearby streets-very cultural and great spots for photographs

The list will go on foreva, better stop now.

Writing this review makes me feel like booking a flight to Japan now.
Cheers~

Room Tip: Go for the private en-suite tatami room. Worth every penny ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirniong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2012

i stayed there for 3 days and it was a very good base for our kyoto experience, and trips to nra and osaka. the room clean and decent, all common rooms nice, and staff friendly. also very conveniently located close to the kyoto station. would stay there again when in kyoto!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Having stayed at the Hana Hostel in Hiroshima and had a good experience there, I was really pleased to find they had a base in Kyoto as well. My friends and I stayed in a triple ensuite Japanese style room, which was cosy and comfortable. The area was quiet and I didn't get roused by a lot of noise from guests so that was good as well. Loads of ammenities including a kitchen, fridge, free rice etc. The staff are very helpful and chatty, and yes, they will hold bags after you check out so you can wander the city unencumbered!

The hostel is a short walk from the station, so easy to find. In the area are convenience stores and restaurants, but best of all the main road you go up towards the hostel passes the Yodobashi megastore (located behind Kyoto tower) which a brilliant place for shopping!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sachanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night in a double ensuite room for Y6800. Room is small as expected but given the money paid, i think thats a good value. Comfortable futon for 2 persons and your own ensuite bathroom and toilet at Y6800, what more can one expect ? i am happy with it, slept well here.
Location is good, 5 minutes walk from Kyoto Station. Plenty of food outlets at kyoto station. Nearby hostel is UCC coffee, Lawsons and Sumiya beef gyudon for cheap eat.
Staff is friendly and helpful. On my list for future stay if i return to Kyoto again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whereisfatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This hotel just next to Kyoto station which allows us 5 minutes to take the bus or the train is really convenient, the hotel staff super friendly and always there to answer our needs, there is everything takes to make his small kitchen, the room spacious enough for a hotel of this kind and everything is really clean, everything that to say that AC makes the stay here very appreciable and a quick note to say that Kyoto bike for a whole day was a great adventure for me, a very pleasant time to be able to move it in this way as do the inhabitants of this city thank you again and all the team's hotel Sugoi ;)

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 798vincentd798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Kyoto Tower Hotel
#70 of 369 in Kyoto
541 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Fujitaya Kyoto
Fujitaya Kyoto
#5 of 333 in Kyoto
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Piece Hostel Sanjo
Piece Hostel Sanjo
#1 of 333 in Kyoto
437 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
K's House Kyoto
K's House Kyoto
#4 of 333 in Kyoto
790 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Piece Hostel Kyoto
Piece Hostel Kyoto
#2 of 333 in Kyoto
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Hana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Hana Hostel

Property: Kyoto Hana Hostel
Address: 229 Kogawacho, Shichjo Agau, Akezudori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8149, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 333 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kyoto Hana Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hana Hostel. “Hana” means “Flower” in Japanese. We try to be a fresh and cheery hostel like a lotus flower floating in the pond. Kyoto Hana Hostel opened in April, 2010.The building used to be a local “Ryokan”. We remodeled this into an advanced international hostel. As we are very close from the station and the guest rooms are well-equipped, we will be an good option to stay for not only backpackers but also for ordinary tourists with suits cases. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kyoto Hana Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing