We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Convenient, friendly staff and clean rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kyoto Hana Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kyoto Hana Hostel
Ranked #11 of 279 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Very Convenient, friendly staff and clean rooms”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Its located just few minute by foot from the Kyoto station, a lot of amenities including free rice :-) Definitely would use again if there's a chance

Room Tip: Buget Traveling very affordable prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelNYUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    97
    21
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
83
51
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

This is an excellent place to stay the night because it is so close the JR rail station and it has all the ammenities you could want including a shared hot water kettle, instant coffee, cups, hair dryer and mirror in each room, and shampoo.

You'll need to bring your own conditioner if you use that (this is typical of most of Japan). Also, it's a fairly long walk to the subway station. I reccomend that instead you borrow one of the bikes from the hostel, Kyoto is best traveled by bike.

When you arrive in the room all of your bedding will be put on the side with the table in the middle. You need to pull the table to the side and move the bedding out. The good thing is that you only need to do this once as they don't put the bedding back during the day like most Ryokans.

Room Tip: Private rooms fit 2 comfortably. Dorm rooms are also available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParadyNexus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at Kyoto Hana Hostel for 4 nights and were very happy with our choice.
The staff has always been very friendly, advising us how to go to different places around Kyoto. They give bus maps and also sell the 1 day bus pass at the front desk.
We stayed in a japanese double room with ensuite bathroom. We were pleasantly surprised with the big size of the room given the price we payed! There was a long hallway, with doors to separated toilets and bathroom. Then the room could be separated from the hallway using panels. The floor was made of tatami, which smelled very nice as it was still new. There was a little table with two cushions to sit on, and a double futon with an amazing comforter. We also had enough place for our 2 big suitcases.
Soap and shampoo are available in the bathroom, however you need to rent towels at the front desk (for 70Y, it is really not expensive). There is internet in the room, using either wifi or cable. We also slept very well on the futons, but they have western style rooms for people who don't like this kind of beds.
We definitely recommend this place, as it is one of the cheapest we stayed in Japan, for a very convenient location (like 5mn from the JR station) and very good service. We would love to come back !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Endareyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

This hostel is about a 7 minute walk from Kyoto station which is nice because you can very easily access the subway, trains and buses from Kyoto station in order to travel to other areas of Kyoto that aren't within walking distance. The hostel is well-kept and full of brochures or signs describing local attractions or recommendations for things to do in Kyoto or nearby Kyoto. The staff speak great English and were so helpful in giving directions or offering advice on local attractions. There is a common area with a TV, two computers (free to use) as well as a kitchen area for preparing you own meals if desired. The common bathrooms were clean and they even offer rooms with private bathrooms and showers in the room. There are washing machines and dryers for use, I believe 100yen gets you 15 minutes in the dryer but I'm not sure about the washing machine. I found the bedding to be comfortable and in good condition and the tatami mats were also in good condition. Sometimes the smell of the tatami mats can be a bit overwhelming but it's likely because they are new mats.

There wasn't too much interaction between the different guests at the hostel so if you're traveling alone and looking to find a travel buddy at the hostel, it might be a bit difficult.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burnsae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stayed here in February & April & both times were excellent! I havent reviewed alot of hostels because for me theyre mostly all the same . In fact im making this review from my average hostel in amsterdam. hana hostel is way better than average. Walking distance from Kyoto station. Sue checked me in both times. She is extremely nice & helpful. showers & toilets are the cleanest of any hostel I've been to. Wifi works great & lounge room doesn't feel too small. Kyoto is one of my favorite worldwide cities. I highly recommend visiting this city & staying at THIS hostel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ratonmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Good hostel, ideal place to stay if you intend to explore Kyoto. Room is small but comfortable. Would definitely stay here again especially if I am alone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corafabros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

I stayed here for a night because I extended my stay in Kyoto and could not stay at my first hostel. This hostel is clean (as is mostly everything in Japan), just as cheap as all the others (2500 Yen per night in a dorm) and centrally located (just as a lot of other hostels, too). The building is very cramped, not a lot of space, very few windows in the dorms. The beds are great, though, very big. The info (maps etc.)they provide is also provided by other hostels or any tourist information.
Staff is friendly but not too interested. Having stayed in a LOT of hostels during the past months and MANY of them in Japan, I have to say that the atmosphere here is bad. Travellers barely greet each other, there are constantly some men hanging around and it doesn't become clear whether they are travellers or work there because they don't greet either. Loners sitting around the very small common room/ kitchen watching TV, weird people having a lot of alcohol for breakfast - brrr. No, I was glad to leave! I've stayed in a few of other hostels and strongly recommend K's house chain, they are great, personable, have very nice buildings and offer great opportunities to meet people. Hana hostel does not.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Annana2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 366 in Kyoto
2,828 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
Shimogyo-ku
K's House Kyoto
K's House Kyoto
#5 of 279 in Kyoto
757 reviews
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Piece Hostel Sanjo
Piece Hostel Sanjo
#1 of 279 in Kyoto
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Hana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Hana Hostel

Property: Kyoto Hana Hostel
Address: 229 Kogawacho, Shichjo Agau, Akezudori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8149, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 279 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kyoto Hana Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hana Hostel. “Hana” means “Flower” in Japanese. We try to be a fresh and cheery hostel like a lotus flower floating in the pond. Kyoto Hana Hostel opened in April, 2010.The building used to be a local “Ryokan”. We remodeled this into an advanced international hostel. As we are very close from the station and the guest rooms are well-equipped, we will be an good option to stay for not only backpackers but also for ordinary tourists with suits cases. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kyoto Hana Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing