We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delicious afternoon at Emi's house”

Uzuki Cooking Class
Kyoto
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A delicious afternoon at Emi's house”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Me and my daugther had an amazing experience at Uzuki. Her class Is definettely a must when visiting kyoto. She's very nice and kind, and the food is amazing! She also gives a very good explanation about the tipical japanese food, wich is very helpful for foreign visitors.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Beto1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great experience, great food”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a great time with Emi. She prepared the course very well. She had descriptions of typical Japanese ingredients printed for us to take home, and had all the ingredients ready for use. We prepared lots of sushi rolls and also boxed sushi! Emi is a patient teacher and takes her time to explain and answer all our questions. We loved the opportunity of this close encounter with Japanese food culture. After the course we ran to a big warehouse to buy some of the kitchen utensils which we use at home now with fond memories of this great experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
630 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
“Dishes we'll definitely repeat at home-thanks Emi!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We had such a wonderful afternoon with Emi. She has excellent teaching skills - clear explanations, simple demonstrations and then patient guidance as we tried the recipes for ourselves. We have done a number of cooking courses in Europe and Sth East Asia and they were all very good but some were complicated, time consuming recipes. Emi's recipes used simple ingredients that should be available in Australia and when we were unsure, she suggested alternatives. We found the preparation of the dessert (mochi balls) fascinating...a bit like preparing gnocchi. Children would love making them! (Just take care with boiling water). These balls were served with strawberry purée, green tea ice-cream and a soybean paste. We liked the soybean paste best of all as Emi's isn't as sweet as what we've had in restaurants. Even though her recipe for the soybean paste wasn't on the menu (she has it pre-prepared), she took time at the end of our class to explain the recipe while I took notes. She told us that the red beans in it have the health benefits of red wine so we won't need to feel as guilty when we eat a little of this with ice cream (or similar) for dessert! She showed us her frozen containers of this in her fridge so an economical dessert too! Our other favourite thing on the menu was the sesame dressing. Emi said it can be served with any greens in season...we had it with sugar snap peas and beans. We also got some good ideas for a few utensils such as the sesame seed roaster and some round/flat bamboo mats/strainers in various sizes...having the food washed & set out on the little mats ready to cook was not only efficient but visually appealing. The beauty, freshness and simplicity of Japanese food has us hooked. Always loved eating Japanese food at home but a big thank you to Emi for inspiring us to cook some of her simple dishes at home. We'll be on the look out to buy some more Japanese cookbooks with similar recipes, to add to our collection. So...if you're just a home cook like me who would be interested in cooking/eating authentic Japanese food in Emi's cosy kitchen (it was just 3 of us on the day) we would highly recommend it. Emi showed us where to catch the No 5 bus back to the station - an interesting trip in itself, seeing miles of colourful, brightly lit stores/arcades along many miles of strip shopping. On our arrival we met Emi at the Uni steps-taxi out there didn't cost too much...really worth the effort. Thanks again Emi!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NotMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This was cracking! Go to this one!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Emi was great, fantastic host and so very polite!

The three of us that went had a great time and learned a lot about Japanese cooking.

Emi shared with us some of her family recipes and also some of the family's Saki.

It was great fun and definitely worth the bus ride out!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hydeyhihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I love this class”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Emi was a very patient teacher and excellent when explaining the various of steps, ingredients, and preparation techniques. This is a fabulous cultural experience that's not to be missed if you have at least half a day of free time! We had such a great time, learnt a lot, and the food was fantastic.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Albelda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uzuki Cooking Class also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Uzuki Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing