We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent cooking lesson at the home of a japanese woman”

Uzuki Cooking Class
Kyoto, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent cooking lesson at the home of a japanese woman”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Very nice introduction at the home of Emi, an older Japanese lady that speaks english pretty well. She is really the sweetest Japanese person I met, really helpfull and friendly. Definitely a great experience!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LucaNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kanagawa Prefecture, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Lovely homestyle Kyoto cuisine in a cozy setting”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I found Emi through my Rough Guide: Japan and wanted to learn how to cook homestyle vegetarian Japanese dishes like shira-ae (spinach with sesame tofu dressing) and dashimaki (rolled omelette). She is more than willing to focus on particular types of dishes (vegan/vegetarian, sushi, Japanese sweets) that you may be interested in; just be sure to give enough advance notice when you make your reservation.

Emi's house is close to an art school, and she meets you at the nearby bus stop, where it's a quick walk back to her cozy home. I was quickly made to feel right at home in her toasty kitchen, and the three of us in attendance that day were put to work with various prep tasks after our tea. The cooking plus eating takes around three hours; ours went a little over. We made several dishes involving fresh fish and shrimp, chawanmushi (steamed egg custard with vegetables), Kyoto-style omelette, and mochi with red bean paste for dessert.

Emi was a very patient teacher and excellent at explaining the various steps, ingredients, and preparation techniques. This is a fabulous cultural experience that's not to be missed if you have at least half a day of free time!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Bundtlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great introduction to Japanese cooking”
Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

I've done many cooking classes but this was the most personal. We spent three hours in the home of teacher Emi with a small class size of three. We did a number of small dishes including sushi, grilled fish, prawn salad and more based on seasonal foods.

Emi is a really friendly, outgoing cook and I felt at home in her kitchen, she speaks great English and also taught us a lot about japanese culture. I would definitely do the class again if i return to Kyoto.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We recently visited Kyoto, and Emi's cooking class was the highlight! We had such a great time, learnt a lot, and the food was fantastic. Emi is such a great host and teacher. Would definitely recommend this cooking class to anyone who's visiting Kyoto. Thanks to Emi for a fantastic evening :)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An at-home cooking class with lots of Japanese heart and soul!”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

yself and three friends just recently attended Emi's Uzuki cooking class in Kyoto. We arrived in Kyoto in the morning from tokyo and after checking into the hotel went directly to meet emi for the class. It was the best first attraction in kyoto we could have done. all four of us were hungry by the time the class started. Emi opened up her home to us and made us all feel welcome, like we were old friends! We each had a hand in preparing the dishes which were all very yummy! My husband and I love taking cooking classes when traveling, and this was the best because it was in Emi's home and allowed us to connect with a local. You will not be dissapointed in this class!

Helpful?
2 Thank ustreetmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uzuki Cooking Class also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Uzuki Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing