We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chris P” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae
Ranked #17 of 362 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Chris P”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights on a recent trip to Japan - the location is excellent, right opposite Kyoto station, buses and shops. Rooms were compact, but had everything you needed. We adjusted to the breakfast options quickly and really enjoyed it. Great to be able to catch up on washing with the washer & dryer on upper level. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Beds were very firm and the pillows quite small and hard, but other than this we enjoyed the stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisp89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    215
    36
    4
    1
See reviews for
95
161
91
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel is very close to Kyoto train station and ideally situated for the bus, main line train and subway stations. As many of the Kyoto sites are on the outskirt of the city, being near the transport hub was ideal.

Rooms were small but well equipped - perfect if you're only looking for somewhere to sleep, but if you plan to spend lazy days relaxing in the hotel, this isn't really one for you.

Generally, we were very happy but the bed wasn't the most comfortable we slept in all holiday and initially we found the pillows too hard. I know this is very much down to personal taste, so I haven't docked the rating at all for this. However, after asking at reception, we were provided with a different type of pillow. But a word of warning - supplies are limited.

Given what we paid, our stay was great value and we would probably stay again if we were just looking for a room to rest our weary feet each evening. There isn't much to do in the area itself and we found that we stayed out all day, including for dinner and drinks, before returning to the hotel. If you're happy with food courts etc, then there are a couple of good places nearby, they just don't have much of a buzz!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The only problem is the japanese breakfast. Prefer going to the Starbucks near there. There are other options. The hotel is near close to the Central Kyoto station. Dormy Inn PREMIUM is great. I Nagoya I stayed at the std. one. It is not the same thing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was in a central location to main train station and easy to find after trip from airport. Rooms were small but efficient and had everything you need. Hotel staff was very accomodating and always tried to help us with resturants or directions. Nice bonus to have ramen every night and breakfast was great. Would definately stay again next time I go Kyoto.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenndewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed for three nights at "Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae." It is a lovely hotel right next to the Kyoto Railway Station. The location is absolutely perfect. For those who fancy sauna there is one at the hotel. The service is superb. I liked it very much indeed. It was a wonderful stay. Cheers!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

stayed 3 nights at this hotel from 19-21 april. hotel is located right across kyoto station and easily reached on foot within 5-10mins via subway entrance/exit (Porta) or road surface. Importantly, there is a well equipped convenience store adjacent to the hotel for those who prefer something other than free noodles provided by the hotel from 9-11pm. Amenities within the hotel are very good from the onsen to well designed amenities within the room (eg. very efficient exhaust system in toilet and shower room). While the hotel is sited along a main road, the double glazed windows provided effective noise isolation. Breakfast is buffet style with a large selection of japanese breakfast cuisine. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: choose a twin bed room as it is slightly larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric_TanSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in March 2013 for a 3 night stay, while visiting most of the sites Kyoto has to offer. Like all hotels in Japan; as well as the rest of Asia, space is at a premium. Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae offers a comfortable stay without a hefty premium. It is located across from the Kyoto station, slightly less than one block, and you can recognize it from the station as it stands out from the other buildings in terms of colour. Check-in was a breeze as I had booked the hotel through japanican.com. Be aware that you cannot book the hotel through their website, so you'll need to see a third party booking site (current at the time this review was written). My only complaint, at check-in, was that I couldn't use my Discover credit card; even though the Diners Club logo is shown as one of the many credit cards the hotel accepts. Discover owns Diners Club and had signed an agreement with JCB. Not a big problem as I had a Visa and Mastercard with me. Staff spoke acceptable English though talk slow with them. The room, twin bed shared with my brother, was small but enough space to move around. Bathroom was small but better than a shower curtain as this had a door you could close and prevent the water from gushing out. Each night there is free ramen on the 1st floor. I had about two and sometimes three bowls of it because it tasted so good. The woman who mans the small cooking stand is very nice but doesn't speak English. Knowing the pronunciation of the Japanese number, that you receive from her, helps a lot when she calls out the number for the guest to pickup the bowl. Can't comment on the onsen. Buffet breakfast was good and featured a variety of mostly Japanese dishes with some Western dishes mixed in. Internet was free and relatively quick.

Right next to the hotel, there is a Lawson convenience store for all your basic miscellaneous needs. If you are foreigner, like myself, you won't be able to use Lawson's ATM machine to withdraw money. Instead, there is a 7 Eleven (7-11) store around the block, next to APA Villa Hotel, which accepts foreign ATM cards.

I left with a good impression of this hotel as it is across from the Kyoto station and avoids fumbling with ground transportation, which can be difficult if you are not familiar with Kyoto. The location also allows you to quickly catch the next bullet train to your destination; whether heading east or west. I would stay at this hotel again if I came back to Kyoto.

Room Tip: The rooms should be all non-smoking as there is a smoking room on the 1st floor. Inquire at check-in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian90212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 362 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,786 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace
Sakura Terrace
#19 of 362 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#27 of 362 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae

Property: Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae
Address: 558-8 Higashishiokozicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#17 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Ctrip TA so you can book your Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing