We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good value , OK at $75 a night less .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae
Ranked #16 of 374 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2012

It's a good hotel with some disappointing aspects .Good and bad points are :
Staff at all times tried to help but we found only one young woman who they called to speak English .
Rooms were good but so tiny that the second person in the double bed had to climb over the other to get out .
There was no English channel on TV ( eg. BBC World or CNN ) . Sure , this is a Japanese country but this hotel obviously aims to attract foreigners .
An an excellent feature is the close proximity to Kyoto Station and the bus terminal there .

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kidman255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
There are newer reviews for Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 580 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012

I don't have many comments about this hotel as I see any special thing about it. Very small room, average buffet breakfast, but expensive (we paid JPY 25000/room/nite in early april 2012). The only advange is its location (near Kyoto station). We will opt for another hotel for our next trip in Kyoto.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunflowerhanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Bored with standard, small, bland and inspired by business hotels around Kyoto-Eki, I splashed out a wee bit for a night at the Dormy Inn. Extremely well worth it.
Lovely decor throughout the hotel... modern japanese design. The twin room was a bit of a weird layout; walk in to an entrance area with hanging/ closet space; bathroom vanity; then toilet and shower (unremarkable shower, but there is a great onsen in the hotel). Then through a sliding door to the main room. The main room was also split with a baggage shelf and desk area, then the bedheads as a halfwall to the main room. TV/ sitting area at the foot of the beds. My room looked straight accross to other business buildings, but being late and the weekend I did not notice anyone over there. Room was quiet and good black out curtains

I always struggle to find power outlets for charging phone etc (and prefer them close to the bed)... however this hotel had a great service... there was a power point panel in the bedhead; this infact included the appropriate attachements for charing various types of mobile phones/ ipods/ cameras etc. VERY handy.

The gem of this hotel is the rooftop onsen. Very secure entry, with a keypad password to enter, which changes daily. There is basic information about how to use the onsen in english for those that are not familiar with the process. ** The 'no tattoos' sign was not very clear, I don't know if the hotel itself is strongly against tattoos in the onsen, or it's mostly just up because japan prefers people to not have tattoos in onsen (because of connections between tattoos and yakuza). I have a small tattoo, and I entered the onsen, but had no trouble.
Anyways, the onsen was lovely. Inside is the washing area and main bath... with lovely design features. There is also an outdoor bath, again with a lovely garden area. There are no views from the bath, and really only a small open-air area, but it was a perfect way to end the day.
Also, I didn't read the information properly, and the onsen is open from 3pm until 10am the next morning.

I arrived late and left early, so didn't look in the restaurant or other services. The hotel has a Lawson convenience store attached to the lobby, and is very close to Kyoto station.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pineapplesensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Great location near Kyoto Station. Room had small sleeping/sitting area, more spacious bathroom with excellent shower, but sleeping area size not unusual for Japan. Terrific breakfast buffet included in our rate which helped offset the price. Very nice rooftop onsen. Staff friendly, most with very limited command of English. During 6 days, I did not see another non-Asian, which I enjoyed. Windows very effective at blocking outside noise. I would choose this hotel again if I return to Kyoto.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kupunakane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I have stayed at a couple of Dormy Inns now, and I love the concept. These are classy business hotels that offer a great value (I paid $100/night in June, the high season!) and have rooms that are bright, clean, and very well thought out in terms of the usage of space. I stayed in the Kyoto Dormy Inn for a week for a conference and was very pleased with my choice. On top of all that, there is a nice onsen on the rooftop that is perfect for relaxing after a long day of business or sightseeing. The location is outstanding, just a short walk from Kyoto station which is great for transportation by bus, train, or subway to get around Kyoto or outside of it; the shopping and eating options around the station are excellent as well (I didn't opt for breakfast at the Dormy Inn because there are so many fast and cheap options nearby).

If you're in Kyoto on a once-in-a-lifetime experience, I'd recommend splurging a bit and staying at a traditional ryokan. But if you looking more for a combination of value and location, it's hard to beat the Dormy Inn Kyoto.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Compact but Lovely rooms. Hot spring baths were just the ticket to combat jet lag, really nice set up in communal baths. Breakfast was extra for us, pricey but really good quality & great choice. 5 min walk from train station is great location. Great modern, spotless hotel - excellent choice for Kyoto.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SachmoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We decided on Kyoto as our first ever annual family winter vacation spot. As we didn't have any definite plans, we randomly chose Dormy Inn as our choice of hotels when we arrived in Kyoto. Getting a reservation at 4pm, proved to be a breeze with the receptionist, giving us (2 adults, 1 child) a decent sized room w/breakfast plan at a very reasonable price. Initially we booked for 2 nights but ended up extending our stay to 4 nights.

The hot spring baths were just what a weary traveller needs to relax and the massage service was incredible. With a location within close proximity to Kyoto station and easy access to the various sites, this hotel was perfect. Shopping was convenient, the decor modern, the staff incredibly friendly and the breakfast buffet was nothing short of great!

We recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Kyoto and will most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lonewolfwfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#18 of 374 in Kyoto
3,039 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#26 of 374 in Kyoto
726 reviews
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#44 of 374 in Kyoto
2,134 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace
Sakura Terrace
#19 of 374 in Kyoto
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae

Address: 558-8 Higashishiokozicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#17 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $123 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Hotwire, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing