We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, service, and value! Lackluster location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Ranked #9 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2010

I really only have good things to say about the Citadines Kyoto hotel itself. After coming from a disappointing hotel in Tokyo (the Granbell Shibuya), the Citadines was a refreshing change. The lobby is large and inviting. The front desk staff are incredibly helpful and nice. And their English abilities were great, which was very helpful when we had questions or needed advice.

The best part of the hotel was by far the rooms. They were HUGE by Japan standards, very clean, and comfortable. It was almost like a mini-apartment with a kitchenette, large comfy bed, closet space, and plenty of room for our luggage. And the price of the room was very reasonable.

The biggest draw back of the hotel is the location. It's on a busy street between Kyoto train station and the big shopping area. There is pretty much nothing of interest within easy walking distance. But, a subway station is right on the corner and there are a few cheap eateries near by.

The only other gripe I had was that there internet charges were a bit excessive. They charged 550 yen (almost $7 when we were there) for 30 minutes of usage. I'm sure we could have found a cheaper place in the city, but you never know what kind of language barrier you'll have to contend with. I know $7 isn't much, but it's the principle.

Overall, though, this hotel is a great value and definitely worth the stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wlfmn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,371 - 1,377 of 1,983 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2010

We stayed for two nights. The hotel was very easy to find, and convenient to Kyoto Station. The lobby is hip and nicely decorated. The staff was very helpful. We don't speak any Japanese and the staff all seem to speak excellent english. They helped us with bus information, restaurant recommendations, and other logistics.

We had a studio twin. It is not huge but pretty good for Japan. Everything seemed very new. It was comfortable, convenient, and a good deal. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2010

Good location, modern and clean room, efficient & English speaking receptionists. Seven eleven across the street and several reasonably priced restaurants (including Makdonarudo) close by. Try pizza-la close by (for to go only) - excellent!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simpangratis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Location

The hotel is located in the streetblock between Kyoto Station and the main Shijo-dori and Nishiki market area, so there isn't a lot happening in its immediate vicinity of about 400 metres. You will have to walk about 10 minutes to hit the heart of the busier shopping and dining streets. It's however, right next to the Gojo subway, so it's easy to get around by train if you're feeling lazy.

We managed to find a popular local ramen store which was rated "Top Ramen in 2009" as well as a top rated local dessert shop within walking distance of the hotel, so that was a fun experience.

We took a taxi ride to the hotel which was an easy option given the luggage we were carrying - it cost us about 700 yen from Gion where we were first staying in Kyoto.

It was a tad hard to locate the hotel as the entrance was very inconspicious and small - just tell the taxi driver to go to Gion station and look out for a McDonald's and 7 Eleven. The hotel is along the same street as the McDonald's, and directly opposite a 7 Eleven store.


Convenience

There are two 24-hour Japanese chain eateries and a 24-hour McDonald's within right next to the hotel, so if you're feeling lazy and don't mind some simple food to fill your stomach, that'd be your easiest option. There are 2 small local supermarkets and a 7-Eleven near the hotel so you could buy some delicious little Japanese puddings and snacks back up to the hotel.

Room

We booked a studio double room and were very happy with the size and comfort of the room. There was ample space for us to open our large suitcase and carry-ons without having to fall over them to get to the bed. The toilet was small but clean and sufficient.

There's free internet available but it's not Wi-Fi - you have to use an ethernet cable which is provided in the room.

Value

I felt the hotel was fantastic value for money - I paid 18,500 yen nett for 2 nights in a studio double room, which was more than 10,000 yen less than the rate offered by Granvia Kyoto. Given that both Granvia and Citadines are not close to the Shijo-dori, Gion and Nishiki market areas anyway, I thought Citadines was better value for money.

You do need to walk quite a bit to get to Shijo-dori but that can be easily solved with a short subway ride or a leisurely walk.

The area around the hotel is quiet with mainly residences and some offices but seems safe.

So if you don't mind a bit of a trek to the main tourist streets, then this would be an excellent choice given the bargain prices of the rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlasticTrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Stayed here 3 days in November.
One station away from Kyoto station, 1 minute walk from Gojo subway.
Better get taxi from Kyoto station to hotel - about Yen 600-700 if have luggage - 20 minutes walks and have to walk up a long and high stair.
The corridor and reception are very dark but nice decoration.
The staffs are okay and helpful.
The rooms are okay - twin room is a bit bigger and has street view. The double studio is smaller the window and facing next building.
The bathroom was nice and very clean - have 2 different controls for water pressure and temperature.
Although it closes to subway but a bit far to walk to Shijo - shopping and entertainment area. It opposites 7-11. Walk about 5 minutes on the left, there is shop you can get everything ... at night - they discounted on most of pre-packed foods.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SydneyPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

About a 15-20 min walk from Kyoto Station to the hotel. There's a sign but it maybe hard to find at night. The building overall is nice and clean. We stayed at a twin bed studio room. There is just about enough room for your luggage and to walk one-way. The room is small but just good enough for 2 small and skinny people. Good internet connection and some tv channels. The bed were comfortable and bathroom were clean. Location is nearby mcdonalds, subway and other convenience stores. Hotel staff spoke english and were friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azngirl988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Our final hotel was Citadines Karasuma Gojo and was very happy with our stay. The hotel is very nice and the rooms spacious. It was a nice treat to be able to cook within our room as we were sick of eating out by the end of our holiday. Being onl metres away from the subway I would highly recommend this hotel. The only negative aspect would be when arriving we were charged extra for services an taxes, which I wish we were told about before.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tay_coun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace The Gallery
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
#11 of 407 in Kyoto
536 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
#35 of 407 in Kyoto
352 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 407 in Kyoto
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto

Address: 432 Matsuyacho, Gojo Karasuma-dori Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8105, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#9 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#17 Best Value Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $93 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for business and leisure travel, Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto is located a short walk from the business district and Kyoto's tourist belt. Restaurants, shopping and entertainment are close by as are many of the cultural heritage sites. For destinations throughout the city, the subway is highly efficient and the Gojo subway station is outside the residence. It is one stop from the main Kyoto station of Shinkansen. These stylish serviced residences provide the comfort, convenience and security desired while living and working in Kyoto. Choice of Apart'hotel Choose from the studio twin, studio double, studio premier twin, studio premier double and one bedroom premier for the apartment that suits your requirements and budget. Each of these Kyoto serviced apartments is fully furnished with stylish interiors, designer fittings and modern amenities. The prime address allows for easy access to the city as well as a retreat with 24 hour security, services and facilities. The resident's programmes provide the opportunity to explore and discover Kyoto. Relax in the resident's lounge and work efficiently with business facilities available. Ideal Location Discover Kyoto, the cultural center of Japan. The vast number of world heritage sites, shrines, temples, palaces, and cultural facilities are easily accessible to you from Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto. Shopping, restaurants and entertainment venues are also close by the residence and the business district is a convenient 10 minute walk. The Gojo Subway station is one minute from the residence offering access to the network of subways throughout the city. Comfort and Convenience Every apartment is designed to offer space to relax with the amenities to live, work and entertain in comfort. Each apartment is fully furnished with modern and stylish fittings. The fully equipped kitchen has a cooker hob and hood, microwave, refrigerator, and glassware, crockery, cutlery and utensils. Also provided are the bedroom linens, bathroom towels and toiletries and daily cleaning services. Broadband internet access is available in each residence along with direct dial telephone and IDD service. The home entertainment system includes satellite TV, cable, DVD and a HiFi system. To accommodate your stay you may choose extra services from the flexible service menu to fit your budget and lifestyle. Included are the daily maid service, daily continental breakfast, automatic laundry, dry cleaning service and private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Kyoto Karasuma Gojo Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing