We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay with convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Ranked #7 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Our family (5 persons) stay in citadines kyoto during nov 14-17, 2010. We stay in 2 rooms. Size of the rooms are about right with spaces for small sofa, and working tables. The rooms are also equipped with mini kitchen with full of utensils e.g. knife,knifeboard, dishes, bowls, small water pot. In cupboard, there' re also iron and safe box as well. The toilet is very clean with automatic machine (which is normal for all japanese toilet) . Overall, room is very clean and comfortable. The decoration is in white tone and quite modern.

Breakfast is optional for guest. We tried on the first day. It's quite cheap (around 600 yen, if not wrong). However, it's western and too few choices to be selected. They serve only few choices of bread, omelette, beans, vegetable soup, milk. An automated coffee machine is also available. However, we think that this is too few for us. It's very easy to find food everywhere in japan. We eat at restaurant in Kyoto JR station on 2nd day.

The receptionists are very helpful at check-in, welcome to provide info about transportation and tourist place. They also help to keep our luggages after check-out due to our late night flight.

The location of the hotel is very good. Subway Gojo is right in front of hotel. It's just one station from Kyoto JR train station. Bus station is at the corner. It's very convenient for us to travel around Kyoto. Next to hotel, there's also McDonald and 24-hr Japanese restaurant. We haven't tried there.

Overall, we do recommend this hotel to tourist and also business traveller.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MemorableJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,350 - 1,356 of 1,935 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2010

We werent really sure what to expect as the photos on tripadvisor dont really do this hotel justice. The rooms are large modern and clean. We had a kitchen in ours which meant we could cook our own food which was great. There are supermarkets near by. Its in a good location and the beds are comfy. We got a twin room and pushed the beds together to make a double which worked well. The is a washing machine and dryer inthe basement. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentHkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Booked the room through Agoda as it was slightly cheaper for our 5 night stay than through the hotels own website.

Quite easy to get to using the underground, but would not walk from the main station itself. The position for us was great with shops, inc a supermarket and places to catch a bite to eat.

On arrival the entrance is quite dark, but once your eyes get used to it liked the way the entrance was set out. We did arrive quite early so left our bags and went straight out, as the hotel was full from the night before so no rooms were available, fine not a problem

When we got back out room was ready, we had booked a queen studio. The room itself was bijou! But larger than what I had expected. There was a small kitchen area which contained a fridge, hob a microwave, kettle toaster. And 2 of everything else, cups, plates etc along with some pans and sharp knives and chopping board. All very spick and span. If you want washing up stuff the front desk can sell you what you need. A small annoyance is they give you 2 packets of tea on day one (along with water) then no refills for the duration of the stay, thought this a bit cheap.

Nice small area to sit with a table and extra folding chair in the wardrobe, which also contains the safe, iron/board. Plenty of hanging space and shelves opposite (but bring extra hangers, too few for me).

Plasma TV and DVD player and a desk area/chair with a super fast internet link.

Bed was very comfy as were the pillows and quilt no complaints about that. You could also open the window and even though we faced the street, sound was not a problem. Soundproofing in the hotel was excellent between the rooms I would never of guessed it was full.

Shower over bath, which was quite deep along with the all singing all dancing toilet, but the wash hand basin was outside the bathroom, and really thought it could of been enclosed somehow, but with ample room for toiletries etc. Towels on the small side, but that’s not unusual for Japan.

Everything to me (except the above) had been well thought out even having small stoppers on the walls to stop cupboards banging against the walls and a thick plastic cover on the door lock, so the door did not slam, when housekeeping were going in and out.

Towels (Inc tea towel) and bedding changed daily, although if you book direct there is a housekeeping charge for this. The room and bathroom were immaculately clean.

We did not eat b/fast preferring to have it in our room, and thought the charge for it was expensive, did not use the laundry facility that’s available but good to know its there if needed. Staff fine on reception but did not know were a couple of places were that we want to go to. Readily available with info on busses/trains etc.

All in all this apart/hotel suited us perfectly and have no hesitation recommending it and again next year we are planning another extended stay. Getting food from the food halls and not having to eat out every night was great for us and the ability to eat/cook/not cook when you want to is perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Englandsscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

we stayed 4 nights in Kyoto - was just about enough as Kyoto has so much to offer - and had a very pleasant stay.
The whole building is brand new so everything is modern and in good condition: the studios are small but very well equiped although the basin that you would normally expect inside the bathroom is in the bedroom. Bathroom includes a bathtub/shower and toilet only. In the basement they have a laundry, very practical!
I would say the major plus in this Citadines is the staff: very good English spoken, very helpful and knowledgeable about the city, friendly and welcoming.
No great view to expect but the location is convenient as the main tube line and bus stops are nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudinaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

This is a great hotel/apartment. It is very central: only a 10-15min stroll away from Kyoto Station (worth a visit on it's own). Very clean, functional, well equipped and spacious by Japanese standards. Staff were all friendly and helpful. The entrance is marked but not obvious: looks like you've walked into an exit, but just walk upto the door and it slides open (the wonders of modern technology). There is a laundry in the basement which is handy. Maps, as always, available at reception.
If you've not too much luggage you can easily walk but for the luggage laden: grab a taxi - it's buttons.
Plenty of transport on tap. Metro and a fair few bus lines on the door step. Day passes can be purchased in the bus office of the main staion or at any metro station and are good value. If you're getting a bus more than twice in a day get one. You can get bus, metro or a combination pass. Buses run until around 11.30. There may be a night service but I didn't have the need.
Near the hotel there are a couple of cheap eats and the ever valuable 7/11 and a Lawsons. But it is very easy to navigate the bus system (though can be very crowded at peak periods) so get up to Gion where it is restaurant central. All tastes catered for.
There is plenty to do and see in Kyoto itself, but if you're sick of looking at Temples head to Fushimi / Momoyama it's only about 20 -25mins from Kyoto staion. There you will find friendly locals, some nice shopping and some very scenic views. Famed throughout Japan for it's Sake and Beer brewries. There is a beautifil river walk and a slightly wobbly boat trip (you'll see if you take it). If you're a burger fan don't bother with McDonalds or Burger King. Give Mos Burger a go. You'll find it in the main shopping arcade, along with a host of other eating oportunities.
If you are travelling across Japan there is a fantastic luggage transport service. It's fast, safe, cheap and save a whole load of hassle. Well worth the cost. Use it. The hotel will be able to help with this.
So. Kyoto. More sedate than Tokyo but with a character all of it's own. The Citadines is an excellent base for discovering the delights of Kyoto. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GFC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

After reading trip advisor reports, booked this hotel directly on their website and had an excellent rate.
It is a bit hard to find initially since we arrived after dark and even the taxi driver wasnt sure and I had to direct him since I printed a map from google maps beforehand.
Once you get your bearings, it is an excellent location. Gojo Subway 2 mins walk, the bus stops less than 5 minutes walk and 15-20 minutes walk to kyoto station. A 7-11 is directly opposite and some shops and McDonalds and pizza shops nearby if that is what you like.
The staff were excellent and spoke enough english (better than my non existent japanese) and extremely helpful.
The rooms were reasonable sized with a kitchenette and fancy toilets although the toilet/bathroom is a bit small.
Compared to some other hotels in kyoto costing £70+ more per night than what I paid to stay here, this was excellent for room only and I would thoroughly recommend to anyone thinking of going to Kyoto.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dselvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

This was our first experience of a Citadines hotel and we were very impressed. The rooms are a very good size for Japan and this hotel is in an excellent location. The rooms were beautifully clean and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Free wi fi in the lobby is an added bomus. The mini kitchen is brilliant in such an expensive country and I would recommend you stay on a room only basis and make your own breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreyNomad27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 379 in Kyoto
3,099 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#5 of 379 in Kyoto
620 reviews
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#19 of 379 in Kyoto
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto

Address: 432 Matsuyacho, Gojo Karasuma-dori Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8105, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#9 Business Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $91 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for business and leisure travel, Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto is located a short walk from the business district and Kyoto's tourist belt. Restaurants, shopping and entertainment are close by as are many of the cultural heritage sites. For destinations throughout the city, the subway is highly efficient and the Gojo subway station is outside the residence. It is one stop from the main Kyoto station of Shinkansen. These stylish serviced residences provide the comfort, convenience and security desired while living and working in Kyoto. Choice of Apart'hotel Choose from the studio twin, studio double, studio premier twin, studio premier double and one bedroom premier for the apartment that suits your requirements and budget. Each of these Kyoto serviced apartments is fully furnished with stylish interiors, designer fittings and modern amenities. The prime address allows for easy access to the city as well as a retreat with 24 hour security, services and facilities. The resident's programmes provide the opportunity to explore and discover Kyoto. Relax in the resident's lounge and work efficiently with business facilities available. Ideal Location Discover Kyoto, the cultural center of Japan. The vast number of world heritage sites, shrines, temples, palaces, and cultural facilities are easily accessible to you from Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto. Shopping, restaurants and entertainment venues are also close by the residence and the business district is a convenient 10 minute walk. The Gojo Subway station is one minute from the residence offering access to the network of subways throughout the city. Comfort and Convenience Every apartment is designed to offer space to relax with the amenities to live, work and entertain in comfort. Each apartment is fully furnished with modern and stylish fittings. The fully equipped kitchen has a cooker hob and hood, microwave, refrigerator, and glassware, crockery, cutlery and utensils. Also provided are the bedroom linens, bathroom towels and toiletries and daily cleaning services. Broadband internet access is available in each residence along with direct dial telephone and IDD service. The home entertainment system includes satellite TV, cable, DVD and a HiFi system. To accommodate your stay you may choose extra services from the flexible service menu to fit your budget and lifestyle. Included are the daily maid service, daily continental breakfast, automatic laundry, dry cleaning service and private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Kyoto Karasuma Gojo Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing