We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent well-equipped modern serviced apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Ranked #9 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent well-equipped modern serviced apartment”
Reviewed October 12, 2010

I would highly recommend Citadines Kyoto to anyone looking for a comfortable and modern place to stay in Kyoto. The serviced apartment is pleasantly spacious and well-equipped. There is complimentary wired broadband, a BIG plus in my book. Convenient location, there is a 7-11 right across the street. We got good rates by booking on the internet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucygoosey168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    621
    93
    13
    7
See reviews for
469
898
90
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

I really can't say enough good things about this hotel. Only a 10 minute or so walk from Kyoto station (head north along the Karasuma Dori and you can't miss it) it's ideally located to explore Kyoto. The sights of Higashiyama are only a 15 minute walk away, the shopping along the Shijo Dori is less than 5 minutes from your front door and there are tons of restaurants (including quick and convenient ramen bars) in the vicinity.

The room (a studio double) was quite large with a kitchenette, a small living area and a compact but usable bathroom. There was an iron and ironing board in the room, and unlike a lot of hotels the air conditioning was very effective. Keep an eye on the specials offered on the website - when I booked they were including daily housekeeping in the price of the room which, although not essential, was a nice touch. Finally, the staff were absolutely wonderful and more than willing to go out of their way to make everyone's stay more comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattB83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at this new hotel in Kyoto. Excellent location, with eateries, convenience store and the subway at its doorstep. Decor of the hotel was really tasteful, and felt more "glamorous" than its other sister hotels we tried in Tokyo and Paris. The room was also immaculately clean.

However, what really impressed us was the excellent service from the staff who were also fluent in English. They patiently explained how to get to the various sightseeing attractions and gave excellent recommendations for the eateries. And when my friend was sick and threw up the room in the middle of the night, they promptly sent up clean sheets after a call, and showed much concern the next morning. They also cleaned up the room thoroughly the next day without additional charge. We'd like to thank all the staff at the hotel for leaving us great memories of Kyoto with your warm hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Icejan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2010

This was our third hotel while visiting Japan for our honeymoon. The staff at this hotel were by far the most helpful and fluent in English -- and one of the previous hotels was the Grand Prince Akasaka, which is an upscale hotel in Tokyo.

The rooms are stylish and modern, so it's fun to stay in despite being on the small side. Free internet is convenient (need to bring your own ethernet cable). Laundry room is also convenient.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeybeemucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The hotel is modern and nice. It was money worth and walking distance to Macdonald's and Japanese restuarants.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur, MY
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I started looking for a hotel in Kyoto in promo sites, then read a positive review about Citadines, then went to their website and found an even better price! Until the last minute I kept a reservation at the Westin, but then decided to give it a try - there was no much picts of the hotel and it seemed too good to be true for the price we'd pay.

Although they say it takes 5' by subway, it's in fact a nice stroll from the train station and a super walk when you arrive in Kyoto. We made it with a 3y-old, a stroller and 2 suitcases and the sidewalks are so...japanese you don't even notice all the luggage ;)

The hotel has a fantastic and welcoming entrance, the staff is more than perfect - we made a reservation for a double bed - used to sleep with our son when travelling - but nevertheless they had put a sofa-bed in the room and it was made for our son. We didn't keep it and it was gone in 5'.

The room has a fantastic acoustic - no sound from either the rooms or the street, and it's in a busy avenue - and was super clean on arrival. In the package we had there was no room service but trash collection (upon request) but you can add this service, or get products at the main desk. The kitchen is well equipped, fully equipped in fact, but we barely used as there's so many eateries around. They serve breakfast but we haven't taken as we had everything to serve in room and there's a bakery and several mini-markets in the area.

You can get the towels changed for an extra cost, but it was not necessary (staying only 3 days) - I love the eco-thing behind everything the hotel does :)

The room is quite big for japanese standard, and there's a movable division btw the room and the 'living room'.

Very good linen, bed, internet connexion (seeeeeveral podcasts for bullet trains ride) for free, dvd player....absolutely perfect with a young kid and after a 10h walk around the temples....

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marisoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam / Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Five night stay with no disappointments. Hotel is relatively new so the atmosphere was crisp and fresh. Our twin room was spotless with very comfortable beds - not always easy to come by when traveling. Great location with Gojo Station just a few meters away as well as nearby bus stops. Gojo is just one subway stop away from Kyoto Station. Daily cleaning was excellent! Extremely helpful and friendly staff. On my husband's birthday, a signed greeting card along with sweets and origami figures were placed in our room while we were out! Very sweet and personal touch. We did not have the hotel breakfast at the Breakfast Corner but instead enjoyed it in our room with goodies from the department store Daimaru (breads, cheese, marmelade etc.). Starbucks (located in the Karasume Kyoto Hotel) is just around the corner where we could get our morning coffee. Take a right when you leave Citadines and then the first right at the intersection into Karasuma Dori - Starbucks will be on the opposite side. Fresco (mini market) is just a few minutes down the road on the same side of the hotel (take a left when you leave the hotel). Kyoto was amazing with so much to see. The gardens and temples are beyond words and you cannot help but to be moved to tears at times. Bring good walking shoes - we walked an average of 8 to 10 hours a day. Consider a Zen meditation course at the Shunkoin Temple (www. shunkoin.com). Rev. Takafumi Kawakami was incredibly informative and friendly. This was a very special experience for us. Everyone should experience Kyoto once in their lifetime. We will be returning... Thank you Citadines for your hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank conchala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 369 in Kyoto
2,958 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace
Sakura Terrace
#19 of 369 in Kyoto
833 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 369 in Kyoto
569 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
#11 of 369 in Kyoto
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto

Property: Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Address: 432 Matsuyacho, Gojo Karasuma-dori Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8105, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#9 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#16 Best Value Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for business and leisure travel, Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto is located a short walk from the business district and Kyoto's tourist belt. Restaurants, shopping and entertainment are close by as are many of the cultural heritage sites. For destinations throughout the city, the subway is highly efficient and the Gojo subway station is outside the residence. It is one stop from the main Kyoto station of Shinkansen. These stylish serviced residences provide the comfort, convenience and security desired while living and working in Kyoto. Choice of Apart'hotel Choose from the studio twin, studio double, studio premier twin, studio premier double and one bedroom premier for the apartment that suits your requirements and budget. Each of these Kyoto serviced apartments is fully furnished with stylish interiors, designer fittings and modern amenities. The prime address allows for easy access to the city as well as a retreat with 24 hour security, services and facilities. The resident's programmes provide the opportunity to explore and discover Kyoto. Relax in the resident's lounge and work efficiently with business facilities available. Ideal Location Discover Kyoto, the cultural center of Japan. The vast number of world heritage sites, shrines, temples, palaces, and cultural facilities are easily accessible to you from Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto. Shopping, restaurants and entertainment venues are also close by the residence and the business district is a convenient 10 minute walk. The Gojo Subway station is one minute from the residence offering access to the network of subways throughout the city. Comfort and Convenience Every apartment is designed to offer space to relax with the amenities to live, work and entertain in comfort. Each apartment is fully furnished with modern and stylish fittings. The fully equipped kitchen has a cooker hob and hood, microwave, refrigerator, and glassware, crockery, cutlery and utensils. Also provided are the bedroom linens, bathroom towels and toiletries and daily cleaning services. Broadband internet access is available in each residence along with direct dial telephone and IDD service. The home entertainment system includes satellite TV, cable, DVD and a HiFi system. To accommodate your stay you may choose extra services from the flexible service menu to fit your budget and lifestyle. Included are the daily maid service, daily continental breakfast, automatic laundry, dry cleaning service and private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Kyoto Karasuma Gojo Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing