We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern and new”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Ranked #9 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Modern and new”
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The hotel is modern and nice. It was money worth and walking distance to Macdonald's and Japanese restuarants.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,056
    591
    84
    12
    7
See reviews for
443
858
84
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur, MY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I started looking for a hotel in Kyoto in promo sites, then read a positive review about Citadines, then went to their website and found an even better price! Until the last minute I kept a reservation at the Westin, but then decided to give it a try - there was no much picts of the hotel and it seemed too good to be true for the price we'd pay.

Although they say it takes 5' by subway, it's in fact a nice stroll from the train station and a super walk when you arrive in Kyoto. We made it with a 3y-old, a stroller and 2 suitcases and the sidewalks are so...japanese you don't even notice all the luggage ;)

The hotel has a fantastic and welcoming entrance, the staff is more than perfect - we made a reservation for a double bed - used to sleep with our son when travelling - but nevertheless they had put a sofa-bed in the room and it was made for our son. We didn't keep it and it was gone in 5'.

The room has a fantastic acoustic - no sound from either the rooms or the street, and it's in a busy avenue - and was super clean on arrival. In the package we had there was no room service but trash collection (upon request) but you can add this service, or get products at the main desk. The kitchen is well equipped, fully equipped in fact, but we barely used as there's so many eateries around. They serve breakfast but we haven't taken as we had everything to serve in room and there's a bakery and several mini-markets in the area.

You can get the towels changed for an extra cost, but it was not necessary (staying only 3 days) - I love the eco-thing behind everything the hotel does :)

The room is quite big for japanese standard, and there's a movable division btw the room and the 'living room'.

Very good linen, bed, internet connexion (seeeeeveral podcasts for bullet trains ride) for free, dvd player....absolutely perfect with a young kid and after a 10h walk around the temples....

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marisoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam / Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Five night stay with no disappointments. Hotel is relatively new so the atmosphere was crisp and fresh. Our twin room was spotless with very comfortable beds - not always easy to come by when traveling. Great location with Gojo Station just a few meters away as well as nearby bus stops. Gojo is just one subway stop away from Kyoto Station. Daily cleaning was excellent! Extremely helpful and friendly staff. On my husband's birthday, a signed greeting card along with sweets and origami figures were placed in our room while we were out! Very sweet and personal touch. We did not have the hotel breakfast at the Breakfast Corner but instead enjoyed it in our room with goodies from the department store Daimaru (breads, cheese, marmelade etc.). Starbucks (located in the Karasume Kyoto Hotel) is just around the corner where we could get our morning coffee. Take a right when you leave Citadines and then the first right at the intersection into Karasuma Dori - Starbucks will be on the opposite side. Fresco (mini market) is just a few minutes down the road on the same side of the hotel (take a left when you leave the hotel). Kyoto was amazing with so much to see. The gardens and temples are beyond words and you cannot help but to be moved to tears at times. Bring good walking shoes - we walked an average of 8 to 10 hours a day. Consider a Zen meditation course at the Shunkoin Temple (www. shunkoin.com). Rev. Takafumi Kawakami was incredibly informative and friendly. This was a very special experience for us. Everyone should experience Kyoto once in their lifetime. We will be returning... Thank you Citadines for your hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank conchala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Everything in this hotel looks brand new. The hotel is in the center of the city and very close to several attractions and a metro station.The apartments are spacious for Japan and cleaned every day. They are without noise and internet is free via cable.Staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome . Hard to find a better place for this room rate anywhere else in Kyoto I suppose.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xalara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We cannot speak highly enough of Citadines in Kyoto. We stayed there in June 2010 and it had recently opened. The hotel is modern and so are the rooms. They are fairly spacious for japan standards and are bascially apartments with a bathroom, kitchen sitting area with couch, big window, big television with lots of channels and comfy, comfy bed and pillows!
The hotel itself is a 10 min walk from the main Kyoto JR station, pretty easy walk or there's a train station literally out the front of the hotel on the corner. You could probably catch a bus too if you weren't feeling up for the walk.
The highlight of our stay at Kyoto Citadines were the staff. They really went out of their way to help with anything that we needed and did everything they could to make you feel at home. It was lovely coming home from a LONG day of walking around Kyoto, having them welcome us back and ask us how our day was.
We hired bikes from near the station and the lovely staff allowed us to store the bikes in a little side access area, so that they were off the street. I'm sure it was a pain in the bum for them to have to come out to the front of the hotel and lock / unlock the gate everytime we wanted to access our bikes or put them away. But they were always happy to help and always happy to have a chat, their english was perfect!
One morning when we had a big day of sightseeing to be had, one of the staff members literally sat with us for almost an hour helping us find stuff on maps, looking stuff up on the net for us and finding the correct buses and trains that we needed to catch to get places. I have NEVER EVER experienced that level of service in any other hotel or accommodation I have stayed at.
The hotel is close to everything and you can even walk to the Nishiki markets, or Gion to see if you can find a Geisha, quite easily. Although, trust us when we say bikes in Kyoto are the absolute best way to get around, when the weather is nice and they are cheap!
My only disappointment is that when we stayed, we stayed at an introductory rate because the hotel only recently opened - I just looked at the prices and they seem to have gone up a bit. But, you know what? I'd probably pay that little bit extra when i go back, just because I know how perfect Citadines in Kyoto was. We loved it, we really did!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinjaStyle78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miyagi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I booked the hotel via a Japanese website before the hotel was even opened so I got a good deal. I paid around $45 per night for 2 nights while visiting Kyoto with my boyfriend. I usually do not stay in hotel while in Kyoto (usually at a ryokan), but I decided to try an apartment-hotel. It was super clean and nice because it was just opened for couple days when I stayed there. An added bonus was TV with many American channels. I loved it and will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilliannguyen86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for three nights, everything is brand new cause it has been opened at the beginning of 2010. The position is very good,it's just 50 mt from the subway station, McDonald's and Seven-Eleven are within 100 mt. Rooms are big, faced with the japan standard and in the apartmens there's everything you need (hairdryer, iron etc..). The staff speaks a good english and they are very helpful. But let's say that you have to pay everything, for example daily cleaning and breakfast are NOT incuded in the fare, it was a bad surprise to discover that to have the apartment cleaned we had to pay an extra of 20€ per day. Fare seemed to be good but there wasn't any specification regarding rooms cleaning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hiddenobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 366 in Kyoto
2,827 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 366 in Kyoto
511 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#31 of 366 in Kyoto
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto

Property: Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Address: 432 Matsuyacho, Gojo Karasuma-dori Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8105, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#9 Business Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for business and leisure travel, Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto is located a short walk from the business district and Kyoto's tourist belt. Restaurants, shopping and entertainment are close by as are many of the cultural heritage sites. For destinations throughout the city, the subway is highly efficient and the Gojo subway station is outside the residence. It is one stop from the main Kyoto station of Shinkansen. These stylish serviced residences provide the comfort, convenience and security desired while living and working in Kyoto. Choice of Apart'hotel Choose from the studio twin, studio double, studio premier twin, studio premier double and one bedroom premier for the apartment that suits your requirements and budget. Each of these Kyoto serviced apartments is fully furnished with stylish interiors, designer fittings and modern amenities. The prime address allows for easy access to the city as well as a retreat with 24 hour security, services and facilities. The resident's programmes provide the opportunity to explore and discover Kyoto. Relax in the resident's lounge and work efficiently with business facilities available. Ideal Location Discover Kyoto, the cultural center of Japan. The vast number of world heritage sites, shrines, temples, palaces, and cultural facilities are easily accessible to you from Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto. Shopping, restaurants and entertainment venues are also close by the residence and the business district is a convenient 10 minute walk. The Gojo Subway station is one minute from the residence offering access to the network of subways throughout the city. Comfort and Convenience Every apartment is designed to offer space to relax with the amenities to live, work and entertain in comfort. Each apartment is fully furnished with modern and stylish fittings. The fully equipped kitchen has a cooker hob and hood, microwave, refrigerator, and glassware, crockery, cutlery and utensils. Also provided are the bedroom linens, bathroom towels and toiletries and daily cleaning services. Broadband internet access is available in each residence along with direct dial telephone and IDD service. The home entertainment system includes satellite TV, cable, DVD and a HiFi system. To accommodate your stay you may choose extra services from the flexible service menu to fit your budget and lifestyle. Included are the daily maid service, daily continental breakfast, automatic laundry, dry cleaning service and private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Kyoto Karasuma Gojo Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing