We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Ranked #8 of 395 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, convenient location and very friendly staff. We even found a little bag of sweets and a handwritten birthday message in our room on my boyfriend's birthday which was really lovely. The room was great, easily the biggest room we had in Japan and having your own kitchen facilities was great. I would recommend this hotel 100%!

1  Thank Koduck
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,019 - 1,025 of 1,953 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

Travelling with a family of 5 (2 adults, 3 children) we found at the citadines the most helpful and pleasant staff of our 15 days stay in Japan. The gentleman at the front desk helped us reserve our next two hotels. He really spent time making sure we had these reservations confirmed. Rooms were very big and with a very pleasant design. A perfect hotel to relax from the long walks/cycling Kyoto asks from travellers.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Alexandre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

it's a very nice and clean hotel in the center of Kyoto, very close to Gojo subway station, it's about less than one minute walk from the station exit 1. And there just one stop away from Kyoto Terminal (central station).

The room is neat and small, but very comfortable. And staffs are very friendly and helpful. Only the breakfast is very simple, but there are plenty places you can go for breakfast in Kyoto.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by how spacious, clean, modern and comfortable our studio (type 2 layout) apartment was for Japan since it is known more for its small rooms. We just came from staying in a tiny double room at the Sunroute Hotel in Shinjuku for 2 nights where we were stepping all over each other. We stayed at the Citadines for 6 nights and it made our time in Kyoto more enjoyable as we came back home to a nice place to recharge after full days of sight seeing and travel in Kyoto and day trips out to Osaka & Hiroshima. We booked it through Expedia then rebooked through Orbitz as it had better rates.

Even though its a studio room, there is a sliding door to partition the bed area if you wanted more privacy between it and the lounge area. A nice touch we thought. Comfy lounge with coffee table, good sized LCD tv, good ironing board and steam iron, good wardrobe space and enough room to keep luggage out of your way and an electronic safe. We didn't cook anything with the kitchen facilities, but it was nice to have it there to give us the option to if we wanted. It was well stocked with microwave, toaster, kettle, utensils, fridge, handy sink and bench space to keep any snacks we bought. Good comfy desk space for our laptop and free reliable inroom wifi as we were uploading photos to Facebook daily. Handy self service laundry facilities, and friendly English speaking staff. Big windows for natural light and plenty of lights so we could control how bright we wanted our space. I find many hotels rooms don't have many making it dark and gloomy. Another nice little detail.

Great location as its 1 min walk from Gojo Station (1 stop from Kyoto) exit 1, about 200m on your left after the carpark entrance. Its a bit hard to see the entrance unless you are right in front of it. It's not a busy station so less stressful to travel from compared to crazy Shinjuku in Tokyo. If you have luggage though, use exit 6 for lifts unless you want to carry it up the stairs. It's about a 5 min walk, turn left out of lift, cross traffic lights, go right crossing another set of lights (McDonalds is on the corner) and its about 400m on your left. Nice cheap food eats, convenience stores and the 100 yen shop very close by. Ask reception for a map they have of the places and definitely try them out especially the ramen place.

We enjoyed our stay so much, we tried to change our hotel in Shinjuku (as we were heading back there for 5 nights) from Sunroute to Citadines but it was all booked out.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissFrecklesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Citadines is a gem of a hotel in a great location. It is steps away from Gojo subway station (one stop from Kyoto Station), which means it is easy to get in and out of Kyoto. Even a taxi ride to or from Kyoto Station is 640 yen, which was $6.50 at the time of this review. You can take the subway easily to Gion or places west/east. Walking north 15 minutes or so, you will find the Karasuma-dori shopping area with many stores, coffee shops and restaurants. We like to walk so getting around on foot was easy to do.

The hotel units are set up as apartment/kitchenettes. This means you can cook, buy groceries/snacks at the 7-11 across the street, brew coffee and tea in the electric kettle, and best of all--have a bit more space in the room. We stayed in a Studio Double and the extra space was worth the cost.

There are many little extras that make this a nice place to stay. Free wifi in the room (and it does work!); a very nice, understated and well-designed entry sequence from the street into the hotel; very firm, comfortable beds; and hot, high pressure water in the shower.

One tip--the breakfast is not worth the 730 yen. It was very disappointing in quality and selection, and it was Western-style, not Japanese. There are plenty of breakfast cafes and restaurants within 5-7 minutes' walking distance up Karasuma-dori (even a McDonald's) so you won't go hungry. Starbucks is also fairly close by for those who like their coffee fix.

Room Tip: Choose a Studio Double. The bed is a real queen-sized bed (sometimes difficult to find in Japanese h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I reached Kyoto by JR Haruka line from Osaka and got out at Kyoto station. Took subway to Gojo and exit no1. Walk the stairs up and kept walk straight for 50m on the left found Citadines lobby. The automatic door was confused me for awhile, but when opened i found the reception desk. This hotel room is so white and clean, enough space for troleys. Stayed two nights and felt wonderful. Definitely reccomended hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

What I will say is what this hotel lacks in room size (don't believe these reviews that say the rooms are good sized, they are not), it makes up for in amenities. From microwave through DVD player to Steam iron & ironing board this hotel packs a lot into a small space. Cleanliness is impressive and the service from the staff is impeccable (all front desk staff have excellent English) and could not do enough for you. So whilst I would have liked more room the other benefits did make up for that. As for location, it is only 5 mins to good range of eating options and shopping/night-life. The centre is only 1 subway stop away, but it also only takes 15 mins to walk.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room on the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_H_Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 395 in Kyoto
626 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#13 of 395 in Kyoto
3,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace The Gallery
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#18 of 395 in Kyoto
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto

Address: 432 Matsuyacho, Gojo Karasuma-dori Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8105, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#3 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#8 Best Value Hotel in Kyoto
#9 Business Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $90 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for business and leisure travel, Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto is located a short walk from the business district and Kyoto's tourist belt. Restaurants, shopping and entertainment are close by as are many of the cultural heritage sites. For destinations throughout the city, the subway is highly efficient and the Gojo subway station is outside the residence. It is one stop from the main Kyoto station of Shinkansen. These stylish serviced residences provide the comfort, convenience and security desired while living and working in Kyoto. Choice of Apart'hotel Choose from the studio twin, studio double, studio premier twin, studio premier double and one bedroom premier for the apartment that suits your requirements and budget. Each of these Kyoto serviced apartments is fully furnished with stylish interiors, designer fittings and modern amenities. The prime address allows for easy access to the city as well as a retreat with 24 hour security, services and facilities. The resident's programmes provide the opportunity to explore and discover Kyoto. Relax in the resident's lounge and work efficiently with business facilities available. Ideal Location Discover Kyoto, the cultural center of Japan. The vast number of world heritage sites, shrines, temples, palaces, and cultural facilities are easily accessible to you from Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto. Shopping, restaurants and entertainment venues are also close by the residence and the business district is a convenient 10 minute walk. The Gojo Subway station is one minute from the residence offering access to the network of subways throughout the city. Comfort and Convenience Every apartment is designed to offer space to relax with the amenities to live, work and entertain in comfort. Each apartment is fully furnished with modern and stylish fittings. The fully equipped kitchen has a cooker hob and hood, microwave, refrigerator, and glassware, crockery, cutlery and utensils. Also provided are the bedroom linens, bathroom towels and toiletries and daily cleaning services. Broadband internet access is available in each residence along with direct dial telephone and IDD service. The home entertainment system includes satellite TV, cable, DVD and a HiFi system. To accommodate your stay you may choose extra services from the flexible service menu to fit your budget and lifestyle. Included are the daily maid service, daily continental breakfast, automatic laundry, dry cleaning service and private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Kyoto Karasuma Gojo Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing