We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to it's Ranking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Ranked #9 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Germantown, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lives up to it's Ranking”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I booked three rooms for our group - one studio premier twin, one studio premier double, and a studio double. We were in Kyoto for three nights. The hotel was kind enough to place us all on the same floor. Each party were very happy with their room. Check-in went smoothly. There were two employees behind the desk and we were all checked in within 10 minutes. Friendly and very helpful staff.

I believe there were 2-3 elevators; the longest we waited may have been a minute. We were all on the 7th floor in different areas (probably due to the variation of the type of rooms). All rooms were clean, well stocked, and well maintained. Our room faced Gojo Dori and, despite being on a very busy street, was very quiet. We were in a corner room; I heard people to the one side when I was in the hall but never heard them when we were in our room. I heard the same comments from the others in our party; all were very pleased with the accommodations.

We were pleasantly surprised at the amount of room we had. A nice storage closet (with much appreciated slippers!) and a wardrobe (with two nice robes to use) were ample for our belongings. There was a safe in the closet for our use, a desk, a nice 2 person sofa and small TV table. Loved having the kitchenette...made ample use of the small fridge and enjoyed coffee & tea in our room. If we would have stayed longer we would have made better use of the kitchen facilities. The bathroom, while small, was nicely appointed...nice deep tub to soak in after longs days of walking around Kyoto. Both beds were very comfortable, more on the firm side which is to my liking but my husband slept fine too. Linens were all clean and in good repair. Nice curtains that were lined enough to keep the room pretty dark during the day (i.e., keeping the room cooler as it was quite hot during our visit). The AC worked very well, thankfully, as did all the other electronics in the room. We welcomed the small amenities on the vanity (shower cap, toothbrush/paste, razor, etc.) as well as the tea, bottled water, and cookies in the kitchen area. It was also nice having a medicine cabinet in which I was able to keep our toiletries. There were plenty of outlets in the room, a small end table between the beds, and free WiFi which was used every time we were in the room.

While the room was very good it was all the attention to details that made it all the better than the typical hotel. Daily we received assistance from a very helpful front desk staff, their ability to speak English was a real advantage to us, another item we appreciated. It was just a 2-3 minute walk to the Gojo metro station (one stop away from Kyoto Station) as well as numerous restaurants, a convenience store is right across the street (picked up some snacks & drinks as well as used the ATM), and Citibank is about a 15 minute walk if you need use of a bank. We didn't eat at the hotel during our visit but found a great 'western' style coffee shops for breakfast on Karasuma Dori called Takagi Coffee (north on Karasuma Dori, about a 1.25 blocks).

I recommend this hotel without hesitation. Should we ever find our way to Kyoto again, we will stay at Citadines Karasuma-Gojo.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, they tend to be quieter. We also had a corner room which was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharoninOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    621
    93
    13
    7
See reviews for
469
898
90
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Nice and tranquil lobby which was a contrast to the burning heat outside. Rooms were big, modern and clean. Really good value. The hotel was 2 mins from an underground and there was a 7-11 just across the road. I'de deffo go back here.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road mean you get a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattandsuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Citadines has a prime location only one subway stop from Kyoto station. The hotel itself is in proximity to numerous excellent restaurants, as well as walkable distance to the major sites in Central Kyoto. Immaculately clean and the beds were very comfortable. A great experience, will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travisdallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

A beautiful japanese boutique hotel. Bed's rooms are mini-apartments with microwave, hotplate, refrigerator, ironing equipment. Very clean. Staff frendly and helpful, english speaking. Few minutes from Gojo metro station, twenty five minutes walk from central station, ten minutes walk from Higashi-Honganji temple, just moments away from Shijo-Kawaramachi shopping area. Nearby there are several very good restaurants, typical japanese restaurants - menu in english not avaible !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paolofortunati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, CA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at Citidines Kyoto for 4 nights and loved the hotel. It was fairly spacious for Japan standards, had a nice bathroom and very cheerful decor. Our room was kept spotless by the staff. The air conditioner worked like a charm and was a haven to return to since we were trekking around the temples and sights all day in 90 degree temps plus humidity. The lobby is super modern and everywhere it is clean. We appreciated the free in room WiFi since we brought our iPad along. We brought Starbucks instant coffee and bought bread/rolls/yogurt from the 7-11 convenience store across the street. Coffee is about $3.75 per cup at most places. Plenty of restaurants around and a Citi Bank was about 15 minutes walk away where we used our ATM to get yen since hardly any establishments there take credit cards. Also, the hotel is right outside the metro stop but we used the bus a lot. The hotel staff can provide you with a map of all the main sights and the bus stops close to the hotel to get there. It was quite easy to get around. Be careful of mosquitoes at the Silver Temple!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jelligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Very nice good place to base yourself for exploring Kyoto. Apartments are modern, nice and clean and now also have free wifi which is very handy. You can rent bicycles close by which is a great way to explore Kyoto and the very friendly staff allowed us to keep the bikes at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Cannot fault this lovely hotel (almost): it is a 15- min walk from the main station and right outside the subway. The rooms are spacious by local standards and ours included small equipped kitchen and terrace (although we couldnt get onto it). Breakfast was more than adequate for 730 yen, salad, hot and cold choices, western and japanese, certainly enou to fuel a hard day at the temples.
However we dropped one very small rice bowl on the tiled floor in our room and it shattered. While we could have replaced it from the breakfast counter we were honest and owned up - only to get a charge of almost 900 yen! If we had busted the bed, Tv etc through careless actions then I'd expect to pay but I think this was not a reasonable charge for a utility item. Very disappointed with the hotel in this regard so be warned.....if you drop a plate on the tiled floor take one from breakfast.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank islandgirlcityboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 369 in Kyoto
2,958 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace
Sakura Terrace
#19 of 369 in Kyoto
833 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 369 in Kyoto
569 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
#11 of 369 in Kyoto
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto

Property: Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Address: 432 Matsuyacho, Gojo Karasuma-dori Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8105, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#3 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#9 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#16 Best Value Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for business and leisure travel, Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto is located a short walk from the business district and Kyoto's tourist belt. Restaurants, shopping and entertainment are close by as are many of the cultural heritage sites. For destinations throughout the city, the subway is highly efficient and the Gojo subway station is outside the residence. It is one stop from the main Kyoto station of Shinkansen. These stylish serviced residences provide the comfort, convenience and security desired while living and working in Kyoto. Choice of Apart'hotel Choose from the studio twin, studio double, studio premier twin, studio premier double and one bedroom premier for the apartment that suits your requirements and budget. Each of these Kyoto serviced apartments is fully furnished with stylish interiors, designer fittings and modern amenities. The prime address allows for easy access to the city as well as a retreat with 24 hour security, services and facilities. The resident's programmes provide the opportunity to explore and discover Kyoto. Relax in the resident's lounge and work efficiently with business facilities available. Ideal Location Discover Kyoto, the cultural center of Japan. The vast number of world heritage sites, shrines, temples, palaces, and cultural facilities are easily accessible to you from Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto. Shopping, restaurants and entertainment venues are also close by the residence and the business district is a convenient 10 minute walk. The Gojo Subway station is one minute from the residence offering access to the network of subways throughout the city. Comfort and Convenience Every apartment is designed to offer space to relax with the amenities to live, work and entertain in comfort. Each apartment is fully furnished with modern and stylish fittings. The fully equipped kitchen has a cooker hob and hood, microwave, refrigerator, and glassware, crockery, cutlery and utensils. Also provided are the bedroom linens, bathroom towels and toiletries and daily cleaning services. Broadband internet access is available in each residence along with direct dial telephone and IDD service. The home entertainment system includes satellite TV, cable, DVD and a HiFi system. To accommodate your stay you may choose extra services from the flexible service menu to fit your budget and lifestyle. Included are the daily maid service, daily continental breakfast, automatic laundry, dry cleaning service and private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Rakuten, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Kyoto Karasuma Gojo Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing