We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern, spacious and affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Ranked #7 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very modern, spacious and affordable”
Reviewed April 21, 2011

This is a rather new hotel property in Kyoto. The entrance is very arty and nice, but it is also a bit confusing at first time. Don't say "wow" yet, because you will do it again when you're entering your room. The rooms are very spacious, especially compared to the other hotels we stayed in during our trip in Japan. The rooms are small apartments, and include a small kitchen (which we didn't used).

The location is not perfect, but at least it is central in Kyoto and rather close (15 minutes by foot) to the central station. Wifi is available for free, but only in the lobby. Staff is very helpful, and is well able to speak English (as most do in Kyoto). Breakfast is served in the basement. It is neither fantastic nor expensive.

The value for money factor is clearly present at this hotel. You get really a lot of value and comfort, this was certainly the best hotel (and city) we stayed in Japan.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruben v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,115
    624
    94
    13
    7
See reviews for
478
901
91
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Gorgeous elegant modern apart-hotel in a good location in centre of Kyoto. Staffed by the most beautiful, helpful, delightful people! They just can't do enough for you, even standing on the kerb waving goodbye as we drove off in a taxi!!! The rooms are Asian-cute - read small - but so cleverly designed and the built-in furniture was efficient, effective and unobtrusive (maybe the likes of Sheraton could learn a lot here). Not the cheapest in town, but probably the best. Such lovely lovely staff - I want to take them all home :-)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mozza47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

15 minute walk from the train station and within easy walking distance to key sites and the city transportation is on the same block. Just walking into the hotel reception was relaxing - we smiled every time with contentment! One downside was the wireless connection only available in the lobby lounge, not in our room. We used Kyoto as a base for day trips to Kobe and to Osaka.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethanddavetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

This hotel is right by the Gojo Subway station or, alternatively, an easy 15-20 minute walk north from Kyoto Railway station. It's location provides a good base from which to explore Kyoto. The good sized Studio Twin rooms were comfortable and well equipped including tea making facilities. We stayed using the 'Winter Value Promotion' deal of JPY8000/night for a Studio Twin, which was good value. The buffet breakfast was an additional JPY735/person, considerably, cheaper than other hotels I investigated. We had previously stayed at the Citadines Apartment Hotel in Shinjuku, Tokyo which was also very modern and nice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed in this hotel last January for a week and I was very pleased. We paid less than USD 100 per night and for that price, it is worth every penny. From Kyoto main train station, you will spend 600-700 Yen for a cabride, if the weather is good you can walk it. Theres a 7-11 right across the street and let me tell you that if you want cash then 7-11 is your only hope. We realized that Japanese ATMS do no dispense cash to international ATMs unless its a 7-11 or an international ATM machine which is only far and few in between. Lesson here is if you see a 7-11 then get your cash or you will end up like us walking through the streets of Kyoto trying to find cash. Theres also a train station (Gojo, I think) right outside the hotel and there are bus stops. There are restaurants nearby , watsons, etc. You have everything you need within walking distance of this hotel. If the weather is nice you can walk to bustling Gion where you can eat, dine and sightsee. The rest of the places to see can be reached by bus or train. I was ok staying in this location since I dont have to be in GIon every single day, you can use this as your base and then just travevl from there. Gion hotels are more expensive. During out stay, it was unseasonably cold so we didnt walk from the hotel to the closer sites but if it were nicer, we could have easily walked it.

The hotel itself is immaculate, from the lobby to the rooms to the amenities in the room, everything was well done and thought of. The internet in the room is free and it was high speed, it is not wireless though but big deal. The room was a studio (cheapest) and I felt that it was ample space. We stayed at Citadines in Shinjuku and they are pretty much the same. Our room was facing the street and let me tell you, I am such a light sleeper but I was able to sleep without my earplugs. The rooms are built and soundproofed pretty well. What sets this hotel apart is the service, they really go out of their way to help you. If you stay in this hotel, look for Tomoko, she is a pure gem and will help you to the extent that she can. She answered our questions about sites, schedules, etc. She's on top of things which sometimes is diffiicult when theres a language barrier but she is very well versed in english. Thanks Tomoko for all your assistance.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlexisRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Can't really add more to the other reviews and comments regarding this little jewel of a hotel in central Kyoto: it has it all at a very reasonable price. The 'non-smoking' rooms are truly non-smoking (no scent or residue from previous occupants) and the window does open to let in fresh air. The interior design is fabulous (think upscale IKEA, but with a distinct Japanese influence) and all very well done. The toilet alone, with heated seat and 'bidet' option is a little retreat all by itself. The beds are very comfortable. Cleanliness is outstanding. The lockable safe (you set your own combination) is always a nice feature to have in any hotel room to safely store passports, extra cash etc. Front desk reception is exceptional: always a friendly welcome or good-bye, always a willingness to help. Breakfast is convenient but I didn't think it was worth the price (powdered scrambled egg) although the vending machine coffee was surprisingly good. Standard VISA or M/C credit cards are accepted.
If you're planning on staying in Kyoto, give serious consideration to staying here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingBee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bratislava
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

the hotel is clean, located on a perfect place, friendly staff, i do recommend, best price, we shall return

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turista_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 373 in Kyoto
2,999 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace
Sakura Terrace
#19 of 373 in Kyoto
846 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 373 in Kyoto
582 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
#10 of 373 in Kyoto
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto

Property: Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Address: 432 Matsuyacho, Gojo Karasuma-dori Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8105, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#3 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#9 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#16 Best Value Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for business and leisure travel, Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto is located a short walk from the business district and Kyoto's tourist belt. Restaurants, shopping and entertainment are close by as are many of the cultural heritage sites. For destinations throughout the city, the subway is highly efficient and the Gojo subway station is outside the residence. It is one stop from the main Kyoto station of Shinkansen. These stylish serviced residences provide the comfort, convenience and security desired while living and working in Kyoto. Choice of Apart'hotel Choose from the studio twin, studio double, studio premier twin, studio premier double and one bedroom premier for the apartment that suits your requirements and budget. Each of these Kyoto serviced apartments is fully furnished with stylish interiors, designer fittings and modern amenities. The prime address allows for easy access to the city as well as a retreat with 24 hour security, services and facilities. The resident's programmes provide the opportunity to explore and discover Kyoto. Relax in the resident's lounge and work efficiently with business facilities available. Ideal Location Discover Kyoto, the cultural center of Japan. The vast number of world heritage sites, shrines, temples, palaces, and cultural facilities are easily accessible to you from Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto. Shopping, restaurants and entertainment venues are also close by the residence and the business district is a convenient 10 minute walk. The Gojo Subway station is one minute from the residence offering access to the network of subways throughout the city. Comfort and Convenience Every apartment is designed to offer space to relax with the amenities to live, work and entertain in comfort. Each apartment is fully furnished with modern and stylish fittings. The fully equipped kitchen has a cooker hob and hood, microwave, refrigerator, and glassware, crockery, cutlery and utensils. Also provided are the bedroom linens, bathroom towels and toiletries and daily cleaning services. Broadband internet access is available in each residence along with direct dial telephone and IDD service. The home entertainment system includes satellite TV, cable, DVD and a HiFi system. To accommodate your stay you may choose extra services from the flexible service menu to fit your budget and lifestyle. Included are the daily maid service, daily continental breakfast, automatic laundry, dry cleaning service and private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Kyoto Karasuma Gojo Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing