We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect way to take in Kyoto sights”

Kyoto Cycling Tour Project
Ranked #6 of 129 Outdoor Activities in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A city where is full with history and culture. In such a city, ancient traditional daily practices are remained in the backstreets, where usually not put in travel guide books. KCTP cycling tour leads you to explore those Kyoto’s chessboard like backstreet’s culture and custom with professional English speaking guides. Probably, it is the slowest cycling tour in the world, so even senior has no hesitate to join. Let’s explore Kyoto’s little treasure together!
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The perfect way to take in Kyoto sights”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

There are hundreds of temples and 'must see' sights in Kyoto. I've no idea how anyone gets to even a tiny selection of them without joining some sort of tour.

If you like to know what you're looking at when you're travelling, but the thought of joining any sort of bus tour fills you with misery, there is nothing better in Kyoto than the Kyoto cycling tour project.

We booked onto a full day guided tour. We cycle a lot anyway, but even if you don't it's not hugely demanding on you physically. For the two of us we had one dedicated guide, Hiroko, who was a fountain of knowledge, stamina and was keen to make sure we had plenty of pictures to remember our experience by.

In one day we got to the Nishi-Honganji Temple, Nijo Castle, went through the Geisha training areas and residential back areas of Kyoto, the golden Kinkaju temple, Ryoan-ji with its rock garden, cycled through paddy fields and through the path of bamboo all with a stop for lunch where Hiroko shared with us the Japanese translation of our names. So many of these places are just breathtakingly amazing, we were so happy we'd had the chance to see so much.

I would 100% recommend this to any visitor to Kyoto.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MooMaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    25
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Explore Kyoto with KCTP”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Our family of 3, with daughter 12 years old did the full day west tour. Our tour guide Yoko was extremely friendly and informative. She rode with us at our own pace and explained everything to us. The cycling tour was really enjoyable as we were able to experience the back streets which you cannot do if you are on a big tour bus with 40 other people on it. Another great thing about the tour was that you could choose what cuisine you had for lunch. We had tofu lunch which serves a varity of tofu dishes, very interesting. Overall it was an unforgettable experience and I would recommend it to anyone.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SydneySharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best way to experience Kyoto!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I booked a half day east west tour, and a full day north south tour for two consecutive days. In total we visited 9 attractions including several temples, a samurai castle, bamboo forest and even the flea market which wasn't listed on the tour (once a week on Tuesdays highly recommended to book a north south tour for Tuesday as this was a highlight).

Our guide Nok was amazing, it was so good to not only visit the temples but the information she provided about the different denominations of the Buddhist religions for each place we would never have got if we were to visit these places by ourselves. Riding around the backstreets of Kyoto was great as we got to see everyday living rather than sitting on a bus or a train, also Nok was pointing out little places where sake was made, smaller geisha districts other than main Gion, tiny places which specialized in tofu etc. Her English was great and gave us so much more of a background on everything. We were running ahead of schedule on the half day so she even took us to extra places not listed on the tour including the Nishiki food market.

Light lunch was included on the Half day, and she took us to an amazing restaurant on the full day as well as tastings from different stalls at the end of the day. All cost including lunch, snacks, entry to each place was inclusive and type of food was our selection (restaurant choice was hers as she definitely knew the best places)

We never felt rushed and would never have experienced Kyoto in the same way without her. I've already recommended KCTP to friends who are traveling to Kyoto. Seems expensive but covering everything that we did, the information, and the experience it's worth every cent!

P.s. we aren't super fit and was at a steady pace, Kyoto is basically flat so don't be phased by a full day tour. Also special thanks for letting us keep the bikes overnight free of charge in between our tour days!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank buzzjackpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The best way to see Arashiyama”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

With two adults (one not particularly fit) and two teenagers we embarked in winter on the Kinkaku Arashiyama Golden Cycling Tour. Fantastic way to see the place. Keiko was a wonderful guide, good English and able to expand on the history of all the sights we visited, and always concerned as to how we were going. Peddling around the paddy fields was a highlight. Always felt safe, not too strenuous, and Keiko took some great photos of us. Bikes were in good condition. The half day was just enough for us.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyFlaneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great way to experience Kyoto!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We had the most amazing day on this tour. We did the full day West Tour and it was definitely one to remember. Our guide was only new to guiding this tour but we wouldn’t have known if she didn’t mention it. She was fantastic! I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Kyoto. It was a great way to see a lot of the city and we learnt much more than we would have if we attempted to ride between the sites ourselves.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Geehee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyoto Cycling Tour Project also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Kyoto Cycling Tour Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing