We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wasn't impressed with my Tourguide” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kyoto Cycling Tour Project

Kyoto Cycling Tour Project
Ranked #6 of 118 Outdoor Activities in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A city where is full with history and culture. In such a city, ancient traditional daily practices are remained in the backstreets, where usually not put in travel guide books. KCTP cycling tour leads you to explore those Kyoto’s chessboard like backstreet’s culture and custom with professional English speaking guides. Probably, it is the slowest cycling tour in the world, so even senior has no hesitate to join. Let’s explore Kyoto’s little treasure together!
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wasn't impressed with my Tourguide”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Probably we were unlucky, we were not happy with our tour guide assigned to us due to the poor English command. Unlike other reviews, our tour-guide seems to have difficulty in explaining all the attractions well. It was a let down with the price we were paying. She is definitely a very nice person, polite and try to accommodate our requests as much as possible but that is not enough as a English tour guide, we are expecting she/he is able to explain in a more fluent manner and keep the tours interesting. I regretted for not asking for another guide because we didn't want her to feel bad.

Nevertheless, cycling tour around Kyoto is definitely a fun way to see Kyoto. my 2cents to the readers, please make sure you get a good english speaking tour guide and get ready if you are taking a full day 8.5+hours bike as it is quite tiring :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheery66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyotoCyclingTour, 営業ディレクター at Kyoto Cycling Tour Project, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Mr./Ms. Cheery66,

Thank you for joining KCTP cycling tour and expressing your opinion.
We are sorry to hear that you found the tour guide’s English ability unsatisfactory.

Kyoto Cycling Tour Project (KCTP) is the first company proposes bicycle tourism in Japan and has been around for 12 years. For the cycling tour guides, they are all officially certified as simultaneous translator through a national examination and are deeply educated in regulations, manners, and safety measures about bicycle. Therefore, all KCTP tour guides can communicate freely in English and are qualified to be an English translator in Japan.

We understand Mr./Ms. Cherry66 has a high English skill and we believe you were expecting a tour guide who has native English speaking ability, but we are sorry to say that we could not address it sufficiently.

We wish you could kindly understand that you are not unlucky to have a poor English speaking tour guide. It is because other KCTP tour guides who have received good evaluation of good English ability from customers from Europe, North America and Australia, they do have the same level of English ability. We earnestly hope that you will kindly understand our situation.

To those who read this message, we hope that you will understand that all cycling tour guides are officially qualified as English translator in Japan. Although they may not speak like a native English speaker, they are all well-educated to guide you around by bicycle safely. Please understand that there will not be any lucky or unlucky in tour guide selection.

Kyoto Cycling Tour Project
Marketing Director  
Eiichi Morita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    24
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Essential Kyoto!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We always prefer to "scope-out" a new destination before focusing on key attractions. We very much enjoyed the "Kyoto World Heritage" bicycle tour with Keiko (our well informed and patient tour guide). It was an 8.5+ hour bike tour of the Western side of Kyoto. While the various temples, shrines and gardens were amazing, what we especially enjoyed was the "back street" experience of the tour that showed us how the local people live. We highly recommend this trip to anyone up for a day on the bike (we'd suggest that a good level of fitness is necessary to truly enjoy this tour).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cannondalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Back Streets of Kyoto!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Saw this on the http://www.kctp.net/en/ website and was immediately interested. Told my two kids that they had a week to learn how to ride the bike (before our trip) so that we can see and experience a different side oj Japan.
Our Guide was Ms. Hiroko, she spoke good english, explained all the safety signals that supposed to follow and of course she explained all the sites clearly.
another guide who took care of the rear of the pack was a Mr. H (sorry forgot his name).
**bikes all had gears, quality and maintenance were top notch**
**cold water and cold towels were also provided**

Do remember to pack some an extra shirt and a small towel, cuz the ride is quite long.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“LOVED seeing Kyoto by bike in the sunshine and fresh air...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked this tour in hopes to see a lot in the only full day we had in Kyoto. We were right on target with that idea. Our guide Yoko was wonderful. She spoke English, and was very knowledgable about everywhere that we biked. She was also patient with all the pictures we wanted to take, and she even took many of us. There are several different tour options, we did the Kyoto back streets one. On the tour we went through the streets of Gion, the Imperial garden and palace, a park, a Budha temple, and there more other sights too. At each stop Yoko would tell us about the history or information. The other great thing about the tour is that after the 4hrs or so with your guide you are welcome to take the bikes on your own until the evening, 6-7pm. We biked on our own to the Golden Pavilion. Our hotel was right off of the Kyoto Station (which you DEFINITELY want to stay near if flyi g in from Osaka). The bike tour is also right next to Kyoto station. We are going back this summer and plan to book a tour again with this company.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank L7657905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Looking for at least 2 people for the Kyoto or Machiya tours between June 4-7th”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Sorry, it's not a review, I'm looking for at least 2 people who would like to join me for a Kyoto or Machiya tours between June 4-7th. If you're interested please drop the line. Thanks, Aleksandra

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyoto Cycling Tour Project also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Kyoto Cycling Tour Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing