We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A different but excellent (budget) experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
First Cabin Kyoto Karasuma
Ranked #30 of 279 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Amstelveen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A different but excellent (budget) experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The location of the hotel is excellent, only fifty meters from the metro (take the right exit otherwise you'll walk a long way). It is in a side street.

It was my first time in a cabin hotel in Japan, but this one is very different from other ones. This is not the claustrophobic capsule. It is very, very clean and all the equipment you need is available. Flat screen tv with headphones. For those who sleep light, bring earplugs. I spent six nights here and some of the guests do snore. The hotel is mainly catering for single (Japanese business) persons. Male and female cabin areas are separate. Wifi works in the central area and some of the staff speak basic English. Do not try to gather tourist info from them, an official information stand is nearby. The staff will off course help you, but since they do not know what you want, they will go on the internet and do the same as you probably did: finding the answer there.

Again, I found it an excellent alternative to the expensive lodging in Kyoto and did use the hotel for all the trips around Kyoto: Osaka, Nara, Himeji, Kobe etc.

Room Tip: Again this is different. Female and male sections. Walk in rate is around 4.000 yen. Internet offers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricAmstelveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstcabin_kyoto, お客様担当マネージャー at First Cabin Kyoto Karasuma, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you very much for setting high value on FIRSTCABIN KyotoKarasuma. We will try to improve the English level of the staffs and provide more available tourist information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    136
    60
    16
    2
See reviews for
5
6
181
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I just stayed 5 nights at First Cabin in Kyoto and I must say I really enjoyed my stay there.

Of course the concept has it's drawbacks (you ear everything next door ... actually there is no "door" ... just a curtain ...lol) but the look, the style and the super friendly staff makes up for it.

As mentioned by other reviewers many things are provided (as usual in Japan), beds, towels, pj's are replaced each day.

Also as often in Japan, wifi is only in the main lounge, in the cabin it seems there is a lan-connection (no cable provided in the cabin, maybe at reception, didn't ask).

The bath and shower area is to share but with private booths.

And if you are on a longer trip ... you can do your laundry for only 100 Yen (soap available at reception for 50 Yen).

In the end, you need to know what you go for and what you book. Let's say it's a luxury dorm style accommodation and for once, the single traveler is not penalized as it only provides ... single accommodation (men and women separated).

Room Tip: Check on their website as they also offer "weekly plans" which comes up 50 % cheaper than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matsounet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstcabin_kyoto, お客様担当マネージャー at First Cabin Kyoto Karasuma, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you very much for commenting on FIRSTCABIN KyotoKrasuma. The Wi-Fi signal has already been broadened to the whole hotel area. About the noises, we would try our best to improve the situation. Thank you very much for the advice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Location: Less than 5 minutes walk from Shijo station on the Karasuma Line. Easy access to places of interest such as Kyoto Tower, Nijo's Castle, Manga museum and Gion.

Room: Room is in a form of a small cube, retrofitted with a bed and lockable drawers beneath the bed. Rooms come in 2 sizes and they can only fit 1 person. A 32 inch TV hung at the feet of the bed provides late night entertainment. Oh! Please remember to use headphones as the soundproofing is very bad. Do take note that doors are not present. Instead, the cabin has a curtain with a magnetic end which will be attached to the cabin's frame for privacy.
As mentioned, the soundproofing is bad. You can hear sounds from neighboring cabin. Due to the absence of lockable doors and cupboards, we can leave our luggages at the super friendly help desk.

Toilets and shower are shared and there are vending machines and laundry room outside the toilets.

Service: Pajamas were changed daily and rooms were cleaned daily or as needed. Breakfast was not that bad and the front desk staff were fantastic. However, not all are able to speak english.

Verdict: Although it's good, this should be a last resort. I just wanted to try this out and I had a good experience with the service. My sleep was interrupted a couple of times because of the snoring sound from neighboring cabin. It's a capsule hotel experience for the claustrophobic.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstcabin_kyoto, お客様担当マネージャー at First Cabin Kyoto Karasuma, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you very much for the objective evaluation on FIRSTCABINKyotoKarasuma. About the noises, free ear plugs are provided at the front desk. Also, we will keep trying to improve the accommodation environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed here because we wanted the pod hotel experience while travelling in Japan. It was interesting, but not a proper Japanese pod hotel, more a tourist attraction. If your travelling on your own it will be a good way to save money but as a couple you can get a room for the same price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the doors, it can get very noisy with the comings and goings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrddaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstcabin_kyoto, お客様担当マネージャー at First Cabin Kyoto Karasuma, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you very much for the evaluation. FIRSTCABINKyotoKarasuma only provides single rooms with the customers, and the female floor is separated from the male ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

I really liked staying at this hotel as it is cheap, clean, fun concept, great location and the staff are amazing. When I needed assistance looking for a Giesha performance and booking another hotel in a different city, the staff went out of their way to assist. Always smiling and polite.

The cabins are clean, comfortable and modern.

HOWEVER, be reminded there is no sealed door, only a curtain for privacy. The first night of my 3 night stay I had a man next to me snoring his head off, not good when you are trying to get over jetlag. Lucky for me there was a free cabin to move to over the other side. Night 2 was much better. Ask for a cabin from 402 to 406 as there will be less noise.

Overall a positive experience ;-)

Note to owners: If you install sliding doors on each cabin to reduce noise it would be perfect.

Room Tip: Request a room between 402 and 406
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldholdonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstcabin_kyoto, お客様担当マネージャー at First Cabin Kyoto Karasuma, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you very much for the valuable advice and the favorable comment on FIRSTCABINKyotoKarasuma. We will try our best to make your stay here comfortable, including changing the room for free (if there are available rooms).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

I stayed at business cabin. It is clean as well with tv attached in the room. Little English explanation which may be a problem for non-Japanese.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuroken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstcabin_kyoto, お客様担当マネージャー at First Cabin Kyoto Karasuma, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you very much for the favorable comment on FIRSTCABINKyotoKarasuma. We will try our best to improve the English ability of the staffs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
245 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

This hotel is correct in many of its advertising. PIctures are accurate. Clean, helpful staff, good price and good location.

BUT there was no mention that the cabins are without locks. True, they provide safes inside the cabin and the reception but that means you still have so much of your stuff exposed to anyone. Yes, they have video cameras. Yes, most japanese are very honest people but not everyone is japanese in this accomodation. They should mention this in their advertising. It's a clear omission. If I knew that it will be a lock free cabin area, I would have chosen a different place. I was stunned when they told me that the cabins do not have locks when I checked in but was so tired (around 10PM) and cannot be bothered looking for another hotel.

Also the bed felt like it was covered in vinyl. Worse, the pillow was so awful, made of some synthetic vinyl-ish material that was so bad that I had to use the duvet/ comforter as my pillow.

Will not use this hotel again but if you are on budget, don't mind a plastic-y pillow and bed and you don't mind having no locks- it's a good option. Personally, will not stay here again as security is a priority for me.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyFNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstcabin_kyoto, お客様担当マネージャー at First Cabin Kyoto Karasuma, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you very much for the evaluation. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience caused by the misunderstanding of the doors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Karasuma Kyoto Hotel
Karasuma Kyoto Hotel
#62 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Eco and Tec Kyoto
#7 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Toyoko Inn Kyoto Shijo-Karasuma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Centurion Cabin & Spa Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
9 Hours Capsule Hotel Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Capsule Ryokan Kyoto
Capsule Ryokan Kyoto
#4 of 279 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Cabin Kyoto Karasuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Cabin Kyoto Karasuma

Property: First Cabin Kyoto Karasuma
Address: 331 Kamiyanagicho Higashiiru Karasuma Bukkojidori Shimogyoku | Takanoha Square 4F, Kyoto 600-8099, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 279 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — First Cabin Kyoto Karasuma 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Cabin Kyoto Karasuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing