We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Capsule Ryokan Kyoto
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Wakamiya(Kyoto)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (990)
Filter reviews
990 results
Traveler rating
683
249
46
12
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
683
249
46
12
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsensuite roomspace ageshower and toiletbus routesrooms are smallextra pillowswould definitely stay here againjapanese toileta great place to stayjr stationbudget hotelpublic transportconvenient locationfolderstoragetatamikazu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
521 - 526 of 990 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Review of Capsule Ryokan Kyoto

Capsule Ryokan
Kyoto, Japan
204 Tsuchihashicho Shimogyo-ku

Good location from this capsule hotel. About a 10 minute walk from the Kyoto station.
It is in a good area, with a major temple just near by as one main tourist attraction. There is a convenience store nearby, laundromat across the street and a bakery next door.

To describe what a capsule hotel is. It is more of a modified dorm room. The beds are more enclosed with tvs and lights inside and a privacy screen on the side. Your bathroom is outside and is a shared bathroom and shower facility.

Check in at this facility was very fast with the owners being very friendly and welcoming.
Very clean facility and has good internet and good information for other travellers to the area. Large selection of Lonely Planet books available for someone to plan their Kyoto adventure.

For sleeping in the capsules, it is very comfortable, mattress was nice and clean. Just bring ear plugs as you can hear your neighbours in the room, who may be snorers. So be aware of any snore type of people. . Very innovative way to store the luggage in your room. The room is small, but you have everything that is needed. There is a free use of kimono to wear for taking photos. Bicycle rental store is closeby as well The owner has tried to combine the international atmosphere of a youth hostel with the hospitality of a traditional Ryokan.
The rooms them selfs have free internet access (cable). The lobby also have some rent-free items, as for exemple: ethernet cable, extra pillows, shaving kit, cliplights and a few other things.

For those interested in a unique accommodation as the lay out of the capsules is very interesting. I suggest everyone to try this style of accomodation at least once in a lifetime.

I recommend this property for a recommended accomodation. Be good for singles, groups, and even couples. It is good for anyone looking for something basic and on a tight budget. More less for the price yo

Room Tip: Good area to stay. Reserve in advance as Kyoto is popular city.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravellers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We love the location and the friendly service. Very innovative way to store the luggage in your room. The room is small, but you have everything that is needed. There is a free use of kimono to wear for taking photos. Bicycle rental store is closeby as well, so we rented bicycles for the day to tour all of Kyoto. Breakfast not included but there is a budget restaurant 3 minutes away where one can buy breakfast for 200 yens.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tbwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were able to walk from Kyoto Rail Station to Capsule Ryokan in 10 minutes. Once we arrived we were given a tour of the place and shown our room. We came down a bit later and one of the people who worked there gave us a map and explained most of what we needed to know to start our exploring. He told us there were great restaurants on the same street as them, and we had some of our best meals in Japan in some of the locals spots on that road. The next day we hired bikes from a company not far from the Ryokan and toured alot of the temples and shrines, including the Path of Philosophy. It was great to have the bikes for a day! The room is just what you need. I was amazed at how functional everything was. The shower was great too :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mothercityhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Unconventional, but great! The owner has tried to combine the international atmosphere of a youth hostel with the hospitality of a traditional Ryokan. I stayed with my wife in one of the Ryokan en suite rooms. The room was tiny (and I mean tiny!). As soon as you walked in you passed the toilet cubicle (with a heated toilet seat and about a dozen control buttons), and then you were basically sitting on the bed; the only storage space was under the bed (a roll-out futon style bed). The decor was Ryokan-inspired, with Tatame mats on the bed, and a paper screen in front of the window. The shower was integrated into the room, but had it's own exhaust, so that it doesn't steam up the room. - it's the funkiest shower I have ever seen, with colored LED lighting, and mist and massage functions. A flatscreen was is mounted onto the wall - everything very compact, but functional, so that the limited space doesn't become a burden. The room was absolutely spotless, quite, and the bed comfortable. The personal at the front desk was very friendly (we arrived 3 hours before check-in time, but they had the room and were happy to accommodate us), and in the Lobby there were always young fellow travelers to talk to. It's within easy walking distance to the train station, a convenience store is close by, as well as several Japanese fast food places (fish and rice for breakfast) and a really good bakery. Not only one of the cheapest ways to stay in Kyoto, but also one the most interesting ways (it feels a little bit like Japan in a microcosm: ancient culture and modern technology combined together with a<excellent service, all in a very limited space) - a very cool place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed in mid October for 5 nights in the double rooms and loved every minute at the Capsule Ryokan. What a wonderful place. We arrived well before check in hoping to leave our bags and do some sight seeing, but the room was already ready, the staff gave us a tour, showed us to our room and recommended things to do for the day. There is also a folder in each room with restaurants, shopping, sight seeing, bus maps etc that was invaluable!
The room is so well set out, so cute with everything you need. And the shower is amazing.
Be sure to take advantage of the free kimono trying in the lobby for a great photo, and they have everything you need to borrow as well - hangers, internet cables, iron. etc.

The highlight however would have to be the friendly staff, always smiling, always available to help and always so full of information, recommendations and happy for a chat.

A must for anyone staying in Kyoto!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews