We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our return to Malebranche” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malebranche JR Kyoto Isetan Salon

Malebranche JR Kyoto Isetan Salon
Ranked #229 of 12,161 Restaurants in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Shimogyo-ku
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Our return to Malebranche”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

A year ago, we visited the Malebranche store (located on the South side of JR Kyoto Station) and raved about the green tea white chocolate biscuits.

True to our word, we came back in September 2012 and visited the store again, bought quite a few boxes to take home and had a nice sit down breakfast of French toast.

The cafe's interior design is quaint as even the seats and wall fittings look like the biscuits. It is still one of our favourite places in Japan to sit down, have a coffee (or tea) and munch on their delicious confectionery.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    32
    15
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best green tea and white chocolate biscuits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The best green tea and white chocolate biscuit! Individually wrapped and comes in very nice boxes. Perfect gifts to bring home or to share and eat. Absolutely delicious. The green tea flavor is very authentic. The slight bitterness is offset by the sweet white chocolate. When you walk into the store they let you sample this yummy biscuit. Its a great marketing blitz and works both ways. We've discovered a great new snack and they'll surely make a sale with the sample.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beap_manila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“We're coming back to Kyoto just for this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

If you are a foreigner visiting Kyoto, you must find this store. They sell mouth watering green tea macaron-like biscuits with a beautiful white chocolate filling (called Chanoka (Langues de chat)) that is absolutely to die for.

We bought several boxes to take home to Australia and regretted not getting more. It was difficult to find in Tokyo, and there were none being sold at the airport.

We are returning to Kyoto for a second visit in September 2012, and this cafe will be our first stop the moment we get off the Shinkansen.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malebranche JR Kyoto Isetan Salon also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Malebranche JR Kyoto Isetan Salon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing