We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food of the gods”
Review of Kerala

Kerala
Ranked #242 of 12,287 Restaurants in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $9
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food of the gods”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Initially you may think that the menu looks expensive but let me reassure you that the food is an absolute bargain! It's worth having something that you wouldn't normally choose because your in safe hands. I would recommend the fish dupiaza, however. It's rare to have a fish curry where the sauce tastes of the fish and not vice versa.

Eat, eat, eat. It's rare to get Indian food this good!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    49
    15
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A fun Indian restaurant”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We decided that a month without a curry was too long, so found this place through TA. It was great, with an excellent variety of curries to suit all tastes. We consider ourselves to be quite experienced curry eaters from the UK and this place was up there with our favourite family Indian restaurants back home, along with a fairly typically modest location (that isn't easy to find on the 2nd floor hidden away).
The head waiter was really helpful and made sure we were well looked after including making sure our taxi arrived and took us home (which as a party of 5 needed a special taxi).
All in all to be recommended if you like curry!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulD-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Since we had no breakfast included in our hotel we ate several times at this great indian restaurant. The tandoori deal is fantastic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gewo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, USA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great for a bargain lunch”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

While I agree with other reviewers that the a la carte menu is a little pricey (though worthwhile for the excellent food), you can have a fine lunch for much less. There are three options available (including on weekends): non-vegetarian for 850 yen, vegetarian for 1150 yen and the special for 1700 yen. All three feature two small bowls of curry (which change from day to day), a piece of papod, rice, onion salad, a healthy sized naan, and tomato soup or a cup of chai. With the non-vegetarian you get a piece of chicken tikka, with the vegetarian a small samosa, and with the special a generous portion of tandoori chicken.
Just 5 minutes walk from the Okura Hotel.b

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Boguespierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level 6 Contributor
895 reviews
659 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Favorite Indian place in Kyoto”
Reviewed May 17, 2011

This is my favorite Indian restaurant in Kyoto. It is a little more expensive, but also a little nicer than other places in town. Individual dishes are a better deal than the set meal unless you are very hungry. I have eaten here several times and enjoy several dishes.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hitcher84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kerala also viewed

 

Been to Kerala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing