We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Guesthouse Keiko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Keiko
Ranked #20 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The BB is nice and clean, the owner (keiko) is very friendly and the house is spacious and full of character. It is located in close to the main attractions in downtown kyoto, so you should be able to walk anywhere you wanna go. Also, follow the directions in the BB's website on how to get there. The directions are very easy to follow by public bus from the train station.

For those expecting a traditional BB experience, you must keep in mind the following:
1) the owner doesnt live in the house which means that it feels more like a rental house than an actual BB. This is by no means a bad thing, you can get in touch with Keiko at any time using the phone in the house, and it gives you more privacy because the house is practically yours. However, dont expect the usual atmosphere where the owner lives there and you get to see him/her regularly and perhaps his/her family as well.
2) Breakfast is provided in a restaurant. Unlike most BB, breakfast is not homemade and served in the house. But instead you go to a french restaurant/bakery a block away, order something and get it reimbursed at the end.
3) The house is a traditional and charming house. This also means that the walls are thin and you can hear the people in the other room. The fact that is a traditional house also means that there is no shower or bath, you go to the faucet and use a bucket to pour water on you and that is how you shower yourself. The beds are also traditional meaning that they are laid on the floor before you go to bed, they are thin and dont have the usual western springs. I love hard beds so this was perfect for me, but the comfort of the traditional japanese bed will vary depending on the user.

You must understand that this is a traditional japanese old house meaning that there are certain things that are different for what you expect back home. The house is beautiful and it is well kept. The experience is different but special and memorable. So, if you choose this place you must come with an open mind and remember that things are going to be a little bit different from what you are used to back at home.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank malai85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 63 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great location in the antiques/art district just minutes away from the main shopping arcade in Kyoto.

The guest house is walking distance to all the great things that Kyoto has to offer and around 1,000 yen in a taxi to the station. The bus stop is also just next door.

Keiko is really nice and house is an awesome slice of old style Kyoto living - with Wi-Fi. At the price there really is nothing bad to say. If you want a western style bed / bathroom stay at the Hyatt, if you like to keep it real this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Only has two rooms, both are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Keiko B&B and had a great time exploring Kyoto during 4 days. Its location is very close to the city centre so we visited most sites on foot. Our room was spacious and had excellent air conditioning which we very much needed in September. The B&B was very clean and quiet as well. Keiko gave lots of restaurant and shopping tips and paid for European style breakfast around the corner.

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oaxaca12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

After staying in Tokyo - I was heading to Kyoto. And after seeing the good reivews of the B&B Keiko's Ryokan I decided to stay there.

And that was the right decision. It's not big, fancy or modern. But it's cosy, old fashioned and very homely. For me, it was the essence of living at a Ryokan to experience to more down to earth feeling of a Japanese B&B.

You are very much on your own unless there's company in the house as the host is not staying there (but will come by if requested any time). And with a free bike to roam around on, you're quick to feel home in Kyoto with your own little apartment and transportation.

Keiko, the host, is a wonderful host that are quite good at English and willing to offer suggestions, help you with bookings (hotels, plays, transportation) and even gave me a ride to the train station when leaving.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frostworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Staying at B&B Keiko for 3 nights in Kyoto made my trip so much more memorable! No joke. I hurried to Keiko's place right after arriving at KIX, being my first solo trip, I felt everything was so rushed and overwhelming, and even when my taxi arrived at B&B Keiko I still found myself a little lost. But Keiko came out of the minshuku and welcomed me in, showed me around the place, indicated on a map of the good places to dine at. Keiko is so nice! When I checked out she even went out of her way to drop me off at the next place I planned to stay at.

The minshuku itself is lovely, and a truly authentic experience (the stairs can be a little scary though, and the Japanese bath requires a little getting used to, but that all part of the experience!), but this didn't mean that there was a compromise on the amenities! There was an iPad for you to use, a CD player, awesome wifi coverage, and also air-con in the bedrooms. Keiko also put a little electric insect repellant thing in the bedrooms because it was summer.

You eat breakfast at a little cafe nearby, present the receipt to Keiko and she will deduct the amount from the fees.

In terms of location, it is in a very quiet neighbourhood, but extremely close to city centre as well, so no trouble at all for getting around!

I cannot praise B&B Keiko enough and will definitely stay there again next time I head back to Kyoto.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank animprobablelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This is a second time we stayed in B&B Keiko. This review is for downtown B&B and we stayed there for 6 nights in Nov 2011 with our 8 year old daughter. The price comes with breakfast at the nearby ShinShinDo cafe. It's a traditional Japanese house with the comfort of modern toilet and fairly traditional bathroom. There are 2 rooms upstairs with a common seating area, a bathroom and toilet downstairs. Location is ideal for exploring surrounding Kyoto on foot and bicycle. As usual Keiko and Raphael as such wonderful host, helping us with bus and train schedule etc. We had a wonderful time in Kyoto because of the lovely hosts and great accommodation to come back to!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelene3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Highly recommended!
- Very near Kyoto's town centre
- REAL Japanese style house experience with tatami flooring
- Fantastic English-speaking hosts: Keiko + Raphael: They even let us use their bicycles!
- Good western-style breakfast included at the nearby Shinshindo café

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank King Tai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#25 of 376 in Kyoto
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Shimogyo-ku
FUJITAYA BnB
FUJITAYA BnB
#1 of 154 in Kyoto
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Keiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Keiko

Address: 576-1 Matsumotocho, Ebisugawa Agaru,Gokomachi, Nakagyo-ku | Teramachidori Ebisugawadori Nishiiru, Kyoto 604-0982, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Price Range: $277 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Keiko is a cozy, beautifully-decorated traditional house located south of the Kyoto Imperial Palace Park, a few meters west of Teramachi Street. Major bus routes and the subway system are minutes from the front door. There are many restaurants and Cafes near the house. And you can walk easily to the down town area. Teramachi is a convenient neighbourhood located right in the center of Kyoto, a few minutes by walk away from downtown, and near all the major bus routes and subway stops for easy access to sightseeing spots. The neighbourhood has some of the best restaurants, cafes, bars and boutiques in the city, and after a long day of sightseeing you can relax in any of the adjacent cafes. There is also a delicious breakfast cafe and bakery right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse Keiko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing