We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time warp.”
Review of Guesthouse Keiko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Keiko
Ranked #20 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 8 nights in September 2011. After leaving the Kyoto station we took a taxi and after a phone call to the B&B for further directions we arrived to be greeted by Raphael. The building both outside and in is a time warp; tatami matting, sliding doors, low (ouch) doorways and futons. The garden is small and serene surrounded on 2 sides by a toilet and bathroom. The surrounding area is fairly peaceful with the odd talking truck in the early hours. The B&B is located about a 10 minute walk from the subway and main shopping area. There are plenty of cafes, restaurants and izakayas close by. For breakfast we went to a boulongerie around the corner. A bit of Paris in Kyoto. The big plus for the B&B is the host Raphael. I thought I was cool but you don't need the air-conditioning on when he's around. He gave us lots of advice, did our washing and was good for a chat now and again. We really loved our stay here. The modern world was left outside.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrThrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 63 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2011

I highly recommend B&B Keiko in Marutamachi. My partner and I combined my work trip (conference) with extra 4 days of holidaying and we chose B&B Keiko in Marutamachi. The location was ideal as it was close to shops, restaurants, downtown area, train station and Kyoto Imperial Palace (5 mins walk). Traditional setting of the place was extremely comfortable (tatami mats and futon style beds) but it was really the friendliness and welcoming of the hosts, Keiko and Raphael, that made our 9 days stay in Kyoto memorable. They gave us tips to not only the best places to go within our budget but also directions and translation scripts. Thank you Keiko and Raphael.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackalini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at B and B Keiko and were delighted with the friendly welcome and charm of both Keiko and Raphael - lovely people. Great little traditional B and B, with just the futon style Tetami mats in an original room, we slept like logs!
We found the printed directions, in Japanese script, we could show the taxi driver at Kyoto station were really useful. Central location really handy to walk to the temples and Philosophers Path, and local restaurants. We really enjoyed our Soba noodles at a nearby traditional restaurant. Recommend it

Room Tip: for those looking to do the traditional Japanese stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anyoldiron2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights last November. What made this place so great was Keiko, the owner. She came every morning to prepare us breakfast. We tried both Japanese and western style breakfast, they were delicious. Keiko also gave us tips on places to go and food to eat.
The direction to the house was clear, we took a bus and walked, we arrived at night, but found no problem getting to the house. The toilet is quite small, but very clean. We stayed in the room on the first floor and liked it very much that we got a small living area with a low table so we could relax after a long day.
The area is close to Kyoto university so you could easily find good foods at student price around the corner.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jitchaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Our family of 5 (with 3 girls aged 7-13) had a fantastic stay here. Keiko is a lovely hostess with great tips on what to do & see in Kyoto. The B&B is in a quiet lane & is very convenient to buses etc - the directions to get there were excellent. Delicious breakfasts that set us up for the day. We had the place to ourselves and loved the tatami matting & traditional Japanese bathroom. Close to restaurants, transport, laundromat etc. Will definitely stay here next time.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbugs5_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed for one night in this 80 year old traditional two storey house in downtown Kyoto. We had the house to ourselves and slept in two traditional tatami rooms upstairs with beautiful painted screens and sliding doors. The bath and toilet were Japanese style, giving your the experience of what it was like to live in a traditional house in Kyoto. There was a low table and cushions downstairs where you could drink tea and look out at the tiny garden, which you had to cross to get to the toilet.

Room Tip: Let the owners know your arrival time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaBloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

My family (one child) stayed 5 nights in this B&B and found the place to be value for money. The owner Keiko was an excellent hosts! She had a lovely daughter Juno who happened to be in the same age as my daughter. They both clicked on very well.

Keiko speaks good English. She was able to point us to good attractions and gave us valuable guidance on transport and getting around Kyoto. For info, travel around by bicycle and beware parking the bicycles in tow-away zones. We had the unfortunate experience our bikes taken away. Keiko was very understanding and helped us to retrieve the bikes as our flight was on the following day. There is a free 24-hr wireless internet connectivity which came in very handy for emails and updates.

Keiko cooks excellent American breakfast which is a nice change from the Japanese meals we had been eating daily. There is a common bathroom and a common toilet which may be a hassle if there are many guests. Fortunately there was another family with a kid during our stay.

I will recommend this B&B to anyone, especially small families who will like a value-for-money accommodation that includes a very sumptuous American breakfast (I'm not joking!). It is catered for those who will like to be on the go right after the breakfast and come back after dinner.

PS. Do consider cycling in Kyoto. My 8-yr old daughter cycled on the road with us from B&B Keiko to the city. That's how friendly it was.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelene3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyoto
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#25 of 376 in Kyoto
1,268 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Uji Cha-gan-ju Tei House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Keiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Keiko

Address: 576-1 Matsumotocho, Ebisugawa Agaru,Gokomachi, Nakagyo-ku | Teramachidori Ebisugawadori Nishiiru, Kyoto 604-0982, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Price Range: $276 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Keiko is a cozy, beautifully-decorated traditional house located south of the Kyoto Imperial Palace Park, a few meters west of Teramachi Street. Major bus routes and the subway system are minutes from the front door. There are many restaurants and Cafes near the house. And you can walk easily to the down town area. Teramachi is a convenient neighbourhood located right in the center of Kyoto, a few minutes by walk away from downtown, and near all the major bus routes and subway stops for easy access to sightseeing spots. The neighbourhood has some of the best restaurants, cafes, bars and boutiques in the city, and after a long day of sightseeing you can relax in any of the adjacent cafes. There is also a delicious breakfast cafe and bakery right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse Keiko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing