We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Keiko”
Review of Guesthouse Keiko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Keiko
Ranked #15 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely Keiko”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights last November. What made this place so great was Keiko, the owner. She came every morning to prepare us breakfast. We tried both Japanese and western style breakfast, they were delicious. Keiko also gave us tips on places to go and food to eat.
The direction to the house was clear, we took a bus and walked, we arrived at night, but found no problem getting to the house. The toilet is quite small, but very clean. We stayed in the room on the first floor and liked it very much that we got a small living area with a low table so we could relax after a long day.
The area is close to Kyoto university so you could easily find good foods at student price around the corner.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jitchaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
22
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Our family of 5 (with 3 girls aged 7-13) had a fantastic stay here. Keiko is a lovely hostess with great tips on what to do & see in Kyoto. The B&B is in a quiet lane & is very convenient to buses etc - the directions to get there were excellent. Delicious breakfasts that set us up for the day. We had the place to ourselves and loved the tatami matting & traditional Japanese bathroom. Close to restaurants, transport, laundromat etc. Will definitely stay here next time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbugs5_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed for one night in this 80 year old traditional two storey house in downtown Kyoto. We had the house to ourselves and slept in two traditional tatami rooms upstairs with beautiful painted screens and sliding doors. The bath and toilet were Japanese style, giving your the experience of what it was like to live in a traditional house in Kyoto. There was a low table and cushions downstairs where you could drink tea and look out at the tiny garden, which you had to cross to get to the toilet.

Room Tip: Let the owners know your arrival time
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaBloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

My family (one child) stayed 5 nights in this B&B and found the place to be value for money. The owner Keiko was an excellent hosts! She had a lovely daughter Juno who happened to be in the same age as my daughter. They both clicked on very well.

Keiko speaks good English. She was able to point us to good attractions and gave us valuable guidance on transport and getting around Kyoto. For info, travel around by bicycle and beware parking the bicycles in tow-away zones. We had the unfortunate experience our bikes taken away. Keiko was very understanding and helped us to retrieve the bikes as our flight was on the following day. There is a free 24-hr wireless internet connectivity which came in very handy for emails and updates.

Keiko cooks excellent American breakfast which is a nice change from the Japanese meals we had been eating daily. There is a common bathroom and a common toilet which may be a hassle if there are many guests. Fortunately there was another family with a kid during our stay.

I will recommend this B&B to anyone, especially small families who will like a value-for-money accommodation that includes a very sumptuous American breakfast (I'm not joking!). It is catered for those who will like to be on the go right after the breakfast and come back after dinner.

PS. Do consider cycling in Kyoto. My 8-yr old daughter cycled on the road with us from B&B Keiko to the city. That's how friendly it was.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelene3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

B and B Keiko have two locations; this review is for the downtown b and b. If you want a traditional Japanese experience, you'll have it here. Not all of it will be comfortable but it will be pretty authentic. And not too expensive - as some Kyoto ryokan are.

My room was lovely - big and spacious with gentle light coming through the matchstick blinds. A charming little tokonoma with a calligraphy scroll, a tatami floor, very comfortable futon and effective heating made the room a relaxing haven after a busy day's temple gazing. The bathroom is traditional Japanese style, so you wash yourself first before stepping into the deep tub to soak in and contemplate life. The toilet is outside and Japanese style, which was a struggle to get to on a couple of the very cold days I was there. But the pretty little garden that you pass through to get to the toilet compensates. Raphael is building a western-style loo at the moment, so no adapting will be required after he's finished. There's no TV or any modern technology (apart from the heating and lighting!). N.B There are only two rooms in this machiya (traditional townhouse).

The location is great. Teramachi is a great street to stroll along - head north and you'll find the Imperial Palace; head south and you'll hit the shopping arcades with some great browsing and people watching opportunities. Along the way are lots of interesting shops to tempt you to step inside, as well as a few little cafes. Breakfast is provided at the boulangerie around the corner.

Keiko and Raphael were always friendly and helpful and I can highly recommend this little b and b. After the first couple of days, I found myself slowing down and relaxing - which was a pleasure after the daily hustle and bustle of Hong Kong.

As a bonus, there was a very welcoming Irish bar a block or so away, called The Gnome. Good beer, delicious pizzas and a charming hostess ensured it became my local.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickeymacHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

B&B Keiko was a great place to stay with two families with small children. Great value for money, well located near the northern key tourist points in Kyoto, and Keiko's breakfasts are sensational!

Highly recommend staying at this place if you visit Kyoto. Cyrus & Gary.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C-Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2010

This was a great choice in Kyoto: close to a number of bus stops for easy travel, lots of nearby restaurants, and a 15/20 min walk to some of the major sights. The place itself is quite simple, with a tatami mat room on each floor, and a shared toilet and bath on the ground floor. You are given a key and can come and go as you please; it feels like you've got your own place in Kyoto. Keiko herself is great. She is very helpful (she speaks English, Portuguese, and Spanish in addition to Japanese), dispensing information on sights, restaurants, and the bus system. She serves enormous and delicious Western-style breakfasts (we could skip lunch). If you go in for luxury and pampering, this is probably not your spot; but if you like feeling like you've got your own little home, this place can't be beat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sesrjb17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 369 in Kyoto
1,202 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Noku Kyoto
Noku Kyoto
#17 of 369 in Kyoto
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kamuroan
#6 of 132 in Kyoto
42 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
FUJITAYA BnB
FUJITAYA BnB
#1 of 132 in Kyoto
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Keiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Keiko

Property: Guesthouse Keiko
Address: 576-1 Matsumotocho, Ebisugawa Agaru,Gokomachi, Nakagyo-ku | Teramachidori Ebisugawadori Nishiiru, Kyoto 604-0982, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Keiko is a cozy, beautifully-decorated traditional house located south of the Kyoto Imperial Palace Park, a few meters west of Teramachi Street. Major bus routes and the subway system are minutes from the front door. There are many restaurants and Cafes near the house. And you can walk easily to the down town area. Teramachi is a convenient neighbourhood located right in the center of Kyoto, a few minutes by walk away from downtown, and near all the major bus routes and subway stops for easy access to sightseeing spots. The neighbourhood has some of the best restaurants, cafes, bars and boutiques in the city, and after a long day of sightseeing you can relax in any of the adjacent cafes. There is also a delicious breakfast cafe and bakery right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Guesthouse Keiko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing