We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice casual Katsu restaurant”

Katsukura, Kyoto Station Bldg The Cube
Ranked #16 of 12,186 Restaurants in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Shimogyo-ku
Description: We serve Fried pork cutlet,as a healthy dish, using carefully selected ingredients. Set menu includes all-you-can-eat"sliced cabbage, miso soup, rice, and pickles".
Perth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice casual Katsu restaurant”
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Tasty Katsu! Best I have had (and I've had a lot!). Plenty of accompaniments. Relaxed and comfortable surroundings. Good value for money.

Helpful?
Thank Have2GoNow
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    206
    36
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value to taste Japanese tonkatsu (pork cutlet)”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This place does not take reservations but the turnover is rapid so we did not wait long to enter. We ordered 'fillet' cutlet (better and tender pork meat) and set with a giant shrimp. The first thing is to make your own sesame (grinding sesame) for sauce base. There are two type of sauces; hot or sweet. There's yuzu dressing, a Japanese style salad dressing without oil, for cabbages. Except the meat, you can have free refill as much as you want. You can ask for more rice, miso soup, cabbage. It is Japanese branded pork but imported from Denmark(?), according to the server. As real Japanese pork (or any beef) produced in Japan is expensive, the imported meat makes possible for this value price within 2000 yen. You can also enjoy Kyoto pickles, which you can buy at the counter. We went there after climbing Yoshino mountain walk thus enjoyed the volume and good tonkatsu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJS1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level Contributor
107 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A fun place for a group”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were brought here with our small group tour. It was a fun evening. The place is very popular and doesn't take reservations, so we waited In line a short while. The atmosphere is peppy, almost rushed and rather noisy, but we got into the spirit of it. I had some crab croquettes and a small pork cutlet. We all enjoyed grinding our own sesame seeds for sauce. The rstaurant is located above the Kyoto station, which is worth seeing in any case. The descent down the many escalators and huge long stairs into the huge open station space just adds to the festive quality of the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JRwisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Truly great”
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

People say it's good. It indeed is.
Ordered the fillet, so tender and juicy. Just don't understand the difference between the two categories of fillet... It was written in Japanese...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zyxlsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tender Tonkatsu”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my second visit to Katsukura, and I found the same good service, abundance of sauces, the ritual of preparing your own with sesame seeds, in which to dip the tender pork cutlet, which always comes accompanied by cabbage or other vegetables. You can then have some miso soup (mine was very good) and even some steamed rice of you like. I have not tried noodles, but I gather those are fresh and full flavoured. Beer (Sapporo) was also of good qualit. A very good place to eat, in a relaxed atmosphere and at very moderate prices, in the centre of Kyoto.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diago_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katsukura, Kyoto Station Bldg The Cube also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Katsukura, Kyoto Station Bldg The Cube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing