We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oishi!”

Myoudai Omen Ginkakuji Honten
Ranked #31 of 12,141 Restaurants in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
104 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Oishi!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stopped at Omen today towards the end of our trip on the Philosophers Walk. We are in our fourth week in Japan and this was probably the best meal I've had so far. It was delicious. I had a side of the grilled chicken with homemade spicy sauce - it was juicy and tender and very good. For a main I had the Omen noodles with mountain vegetables and vegetable tempura. I'm not usually a fan of tempura but this was really good stuff, certainly the best I've ever had. The noodles, vegetables and tempura all come on separate bowls and you place them in a larger bowl with a broth inside (SO good!).

The setting is traditional Japanese - you sit on mats on the floor (there are some tables), a small table in between, and the waiters wear a kind of kimono. It has a nice vibe.

My girlfriend also got the omen noodles with tempura and it cost us 4,400¥ - worth every yen. Definitely drop in if you are taking the Philosopher's Walk. It is towards the end, turn left down the last street before the street going up to the Ginkakuji Temple. Walk to the intersection and it will be on your right.

Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Connor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    82
    16
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
288 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I had in Japan”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Omen restaurant was recommend in our guide book and I am so happy we decided to stop there post our visit of Ginkakuji.

The place seems very popular, even at the slightly later lunch hour when we arrived. There's floor seating on tatami mats on the ground floor and table seating on the top. We got a table on the top and promptly decided to order one of their set meals featuring their classic - the omen. This is basically thick udon which is served separately with a bowl of soup, a platter of vegetables for garnish and a bowk of sesame which you toss in. Along with this sits a set of 4 organic japanese spices on every table, which you can also add if you want more flavour in the soup.

The dish was absolutely delicious and definitely one of the best meals I had on my trip to Japan recently. We also had some appetizers ahead of the soup as part of the set meal. which were also excellent.

A must do when visiting Kyoto and a welcome relief from a hectic temple & shrine seeing day!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Reliable quality and atmosphere”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Felt like a very local, authentic place to eat but helpful instructions in English on how to enjoy the cold or hot noodles. Enough variety but not overwhelming menu.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
158 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Classic udon spot”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Lovely house close to Ginkaku-ji. Classic interior, with a tatami mats and a bar area, with a reassuringly large local crowd (given its in guidebooks and close to a main temple). Simple noodles, hot broth, 7 vegetables and sesame, all delicious when mixed together.

Good value, prompt service and recommended if in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
250 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Unlike any other noodles”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This places offers what seems like regular udon noodles, but they arent. Apart from the beauty of the plates when they are served, they are remarkably tasty. I like udon everywhere, but this place has something special- the delicious vegetables, the sesame, the noodles served separately from the broth - something about all of it together is just delicious. Dont forget to try the other dishes - they change with the seasons but each time they are just amazing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mish_H50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myoudai Omen Ginkakuji Honten also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Myoudai Omen Ginkakuji Honten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing