We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely traditional House in the centre of...”
other travelers have booked this property
House Front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House Front
Entrance Living room/Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
House Front
Entrance
Living room/Kitchen
Japanese style main room
Bedroom
Hallway/Stairs
Utility room
Bath room
Toilet
Ninenzaka & Sannenzaka slope- 1 minute walk
Kiyomizu dera temple - 10 minutes walk
Yasaka Shrine, Gion - 10 minutes walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Georgie S
2 reviews
“Lovely traditional House in the centre of everything”
Reviewed April 12, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Nene House is a really beautiful traditional house . Very well equipped, extremely clean, lovely tatami mats and wooden floors. Very close to very popular quaint pedestrian shopping streets but at the same time just a little removed and quiet. Lovely Japanese bath. Host super helpful and responsive. As others have mentioned steep stairs and second room is quite small. 4 is perfect I think 6 would be a squeeze. Overall we loved Nene house and would love to go back .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannahsia...
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic ”
Reviewed February 7, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The house is lovely. Really feels like a home.
The kitchen/dining area is a good size and is perfectly functional for cooking meals if you don’t want to eat out every night.
Loved the kotatsu in the living room. So lovely and warm!
The Japanese bath is great if you like to take a good long soak! It’s short but deep which is great.
Upstairs there’s one large bedroom and one that is quite small. Futons and quilts are lovely and cosy.

The house itself is in a great location. Perfectly situated for all of the main sight seeing in Kyoto.

The only real drawback (other than be prepared to spend a lot of time getting up and down off the floor) is that it does get rather cold in winter. But I think if you’re going to Japan in the winter you should expect that. I’d imagine it’s rather lovely in summer though.

Nobu san was very helpful and an excellent host. We had a bit of trouble finding the house at first and so we called him and he came to find us and take us there.

We would stay here again without hesitation!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole R
Bassendean
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely, warm traditional home in a gorgeous street not far from fabulous sights.”
Reviewed February 4, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I, and our two kids aged 11 and 13, loved staying in this traditional home in a beautiful and quiet street that's very close to some great sights. There was plenty of room for the four of us and we really enjoyed sleeping on the futon-style beds on tatami mats. We also loved the heated living room table, and the shower is fabulous. The house is only a short walk to several beautiful pedestrian only streets and sights including Kiyomizu-dera Temple. It's about a 10 to 15 minute walk to the most interesting parts of Gion. The steep internal staircase may not be suitable for families with very small children. The host Nobu was amazing and his communication with us couldn't be faulted. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we're ever lucky enough to return to beautiful Kyoto.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabbbby
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Trust the reviews!”
Reviewed December 11, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

There is a reason that this place is so highly rated by visitors.
The place looked even better than the pictures.

We stayed for 3 nights here, and a further 5 nights in a hotel in Osaka. Yes, the hotel room gives you housekeeping, the AC keeps the room warm always. But if you want an authentic experience of living as a local and making your own breakfast, sleeping on tatami mats, while being not far away from the action and sightseeing places, I will definitely recommend Nene house.

Just a word of caution, the staircase is very steep, and there is only 1 bathroom/toilet on the ground floor. So take precautions especially if you have small kids travelling together.

Other than that, great place, great host, great experience.
Thank you Nobu-san!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wistar K
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet convenient & spacious”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Nene House is on a lovely backstreet in a beautiful neighborhood close to Yasaka Shrine and Kiyomizu Temple. It is full of tourists in the day but this street stays peacefully just out of the bustle and yet is close to everything. By evening the area becomes wonderfully quiet and lovely, perfect for enjoying old Kyoto architecture.

There is plenty of room in the house for a family of 6 but we were only 4 and so had a living room to use for reading and computer time. The kitchen is also spacious and has windows on all sides that allow a nice breeze. If it gets too humid and hot there are air conditioners in each room too. The small washing machine was a big help. We had to get a bit creative to find places to hang the clothes so they would dry in a day. A few hooks out on the veranda (engawa) would be a big help.

The super market down on the main street below the temple is next to the Family Mart convenience store so everything you need to make breakfast is close by. We enjoyed eating breakfast at the Maeda coffee house a few times though.

I wish I had taken some interior photos of Nene House so others can see how nice it is. Not fancy but very pleasant and traditional. It reminded me of old houses in Kyoto I lived in as a child and I loved sleeping on tatami again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiger05
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fabulous location. Great for three”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Great stay. Nobu was an excellent host with great communication prior to arrival and a thorough briefing upon arrival. Location is fantastic for exploring Kyoto. There are only limited restaurants nearby at night, however after some long exploring days we enjoyed eating in with sashimi etc from the nearby Fresco supermarket on a couple of nights. We stayed five nights which was perfect. Plenty of space for the three of us, would be a bit tight for 5/6. The heated sunken table in sitting room was a great novelty on cool nights.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel W
1 review
“Nice house”
Reviewed April 7, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Nobu San is very nice and this house is very clean and convenient to everything. We have a great experience and would stay here again next time when we visit Kyoto.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing