We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely oasis in Kyoto”
other travelers have booked this property
House Front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House Front
Entrance Living room/Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
House Front
Entrance
Living room/Kitchen
Japanese style main room
Bedroom
Hallway/Stairs
Utility room
Bath room
Toilet
Ninenzaka & Sannenzaka slope- 1 minute walk
Kiyomizu dera temple - 10 minutes walk
Yasaka Shrine, Gion - 10 minutes walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
noosadrea...
noosa
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely oasis in Kyoto”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We just finished a 5 nt stay at Kyoto Nene house and really enjoyed it. There was plenty of space to relax in and we followed Nobu's suggestion and had one of our sons have his bed in the living room, which gave the other the smaller bedroom to himself. We loved walking around the local area - the house is so well situated and in a very pretty,old part of Kyoto and it was only 5 mins walk to two 24 hr supermarkets, so we were able to get some food,even after arriving late at night.
Not every one will enjoy sleeping on the floor. It is not super comfortable on the mats, but we have done a fair bit of camping, so were fine.
Our only drama was finding the place. We flew to Osaka and caught the limousine bus to Kyoto station and then needed to get 2 taxis in order to fit the four of us and four bags. When we gave the taxi drivers the printed address, they had no idea where to take us. Of course all of this happened late at night while it was raining. Fortunately a local lady saw us standing in the rain looking a bit concerned and came and helped out, and rang Nobu for directions. A couple more phone calls during the drive and we got there, to great relief from all.
I loved walking out the door in the morning and seeing young women all done up in their geisha make up and dress, literally metres from the house. Definitely recommend as a great place to get into the feel of old Kyoto.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, Australia
Reviewed November 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jube N
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Feeling at home in a superb location!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Nene house was a perfect lodging for 7 of us during our 3 nights stay in Kyoto. The location is right in the middle of various tourist attractions in Kyoto Eastern area, whilst being as peaceful as a cozy Japanese house could be.

The service is very well provided by Mr.Nobu, including convenient online reservation, details and map of the house location, warm welcoming reception and explanations about the house, nearby attractions and traveling in Kyoto.

Nene house is an old traditional house that has been renovated and very well taken cared of. The house is neat and clean with one spacey living room (which we turned into another bedroom at night), one kitchen, one bathroom and 2 bedrooms (one big/one small) upstairs. Our group of 7 (5 adults, 2 children) are fine having a family time altogether in the mornings and at nights, just like home.

As we travelled quite a long trip, clean towels, and the laundry machine provided were very useful for us. Soap/shampoo/detergent and a hair-dryer are also provided and the kitchen is also well equipped.

Though the house is only 1 minute walk to Ninenzaka, a traditional shopping area, it is located in the residential area which is calm and peaceful. It is actually very very quiet the whole day.

I love everything at the house and cannot find what I may dislike about it. Nene house is truly a lovely place to stay if you like living in a home atmosphere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, cleanliness, well-equipped, peaceful atmosphere and location...everything!
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama
Reviewed October 3, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Reviewed September 3, 2013 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jervis Bay Australia
Reviewed September 2, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Australia
Reviewed July 17, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing