We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice view, the essence of the old Japan”
Review of Togetsukyo

Togetsukyo
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.00*
and up
Arashiyama and Sagano Walking Food Tour
Ranked #53 of 1,113 things to do in Kyoto
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“nice view, the essence of the old Japan”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

It was raining and a bit crowded when I was there.
It was autumn and the maple leaf was marvelous.The bridge gives you general idea of the old Japanese landscapes, the kind that exudes the essence of the old Japan.
There are a lot of small stores selling Kyoto specialties and souvenirs on the road walking to the bridge. There are also many restaurants at the sides of the river offering the view of Togetsukyou.
In all I love the stroll and the scene despite rain and the crowd.
I would love to visit it again in different seasons.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    271
    133
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
216 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Just a bridge?”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I visited Arashiyama during the start of Hanatouro, the 10-day illumination festival. The information is available on the internet. I planned to do the Togetsu Bridge last to take in the illuminated sight of this bridge in the evening. So I visited other Arashiyama attractions before heading here. Unfortunately it was so crowded that I did not walk over to the other side. After taking some photos and enjoying the scene, I quickly head to the JR Station to escape the crowd.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Allkuans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fresh air, nice view and tranquility”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Better arrive there early. Less traffic and tourists.

We walked around to feel the fresh air, listen to the water flow, watch the wild birds and enjoy the hilly scenes with various colours due to season change. It was a great escape from city life and work stress.

It was a pleasure walk along the river bank and our kids enjoyed it, probably due to the nice weather. The river is clean and the environment is nice. Public toilets are nearby and everything is convenient.

At the other end of the bridge, there was an orange tree, full with fruits, standing next to a maple tree. The leaves for the maple tree turned red and this makes a good colour contrast for outdoor photo shoots.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kloss2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“History outweighs impression”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

It's a bridge. It's long. It's made of wood. You can travel on it - even cross a river!
It does provide a nice view, but is usually crazy crowded.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LandStander82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
1,031 reviews
223 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“It's a bridge”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Uh... not sure why Togetsukyo is so popular. In my eyes, it was just a bridge. I guess the view of the water isn't bad, but the water looks nice on either side of the banks too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tunaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Togetsukyo also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Togetsukyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing