We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place to stay to experience Japanese culture”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyoto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Myoshinji Daishin-in
Ranked #94 of 346 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Reviewed March 19, 2011

I read about this place on the net - and never having stayed at a place that was remotely cultural in Japan, decided to give it a try.

The place itself is beautiful - they give you separate shoes to wear indoors, rooms only have sliding doors without locks.. Breakfast (vegetarian, rice, soup, vegetable, etc) is included and served in Japanese style on the floor. There are a lot of gardens all around the room so I just spent a few hours sitting in my rooms with all doors open!

The location is excellent sicne it is inside the Myoshinji temple complex - it has narrow stone streets and mroe than a dozen shrines. If you walk in the morning, you can see abbots go about their prayer walks. There is also a pond closeby. And the temples smell real good due to the aroma of incense.

The only thing I did not like was that the baths were shared and did not have any privacy. Toilets were VERY CLEAN. You must bring your own soap etc. There are at lest 12 rooms of varying sizes - some contain 1 person and some 4 people (on the first floor).

I like the cherry blossom tree outside my room (no flowers, though!). Rooms are threadbare - no tv. Lights should go off at 10, but they do not enforce it. You must book by calling over telephone. The place is very difficult to find - I had to call the abbot and they stood out to receive me.

They have free wifi internet int eh lobby, but reception in room was limited.

Some clarifications - Shukobus are rooms (I think they were originally meant for monks to rest) let out to travellers in temples - they are threadbare, have common baths and toilets, and usually some restrictions on times. Similar to Dharamshalas in India except that they are much cleaner.

Ryokans are budget guesthouses - more like youth hostels and traveller places. They mostly have dormitories (It is rare to find a real ryokan -- except like kyoto ryokan) and more suited to young teenage backpackers on a budget.

Staying here was definitely better than staying at Kyoto city. Incidentally Kyoto city is just 15 minutes by train from here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank timetohangupmyboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Myoshinji Daishin-in
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 28 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2011

A very good place for seasoned travellers who like to be "in the midst" of nature and action. But do not recommend it for families. Here is why...

You get to sleep on mattresses on the floor (very soft!) In a heated room (felt warm even though it was snowing outside). Rooms do not have locks - only sliding doors. But the rooms felt pretty safe. Else, the rooms are really thread bare -with only tatami mats, 2 electric points, 2 heaters, and a heated table with green tea. And a lot f soft mattresses and pillow.

Baths and toilets (Japanese and Western style) are common (spotless clean!). Ask the hosts for towels.

Everything is wooden so I had to walk real slow else I ended up making sound (which seemed like a racket in the silence!). Indeed the first thing I noticed was that it was SO QUIET!

What I loved - it is right in the midst of pretty gardens, and a temple and there are lots of shrines in the complex. I actually woke up early to enjoy the sunrise while watching the shrines and "listening to the silence". The mornigns and evening s were wpent walkign throught eh courtyard and the innumerable shrines (what a difference from the rest of the town and most of Kyoto).

I think just for the location and ambience it is worth staying here. But I would have loved it if there were attached baths for a little more cost. (The Ryokan which came close to this ambience and luxury costs 200 usd)

Some words of caution -
1) Not recommended for families - you will not like the common baths (need to be nude in it - undies and towels not allowed!). (I was the only person staying there save for another Japanese traveller, so felt like a king. I can imagine how this place must feel when there are lots of people - esp. Foreign tourists like me!)

2) Highly recommended if staying for 1-2 days, but if you are in Kyoto for longer, better stay here for 2 days for the experience and then shift to a place with attached baths.

3) The priests who run this place speak very little English and if no one picks the phone, try later. One of their children does speak English. Booking is through telephone. No email.

4) It is very difficult to find this place - esp. At night. No signposts in English. So avoid reaching at night.

Pros -
1) Excellent ambience (see the photos) - nature and shrines 3 feet from your room, all wooden accommodation
2) You get to "live inside" the temple complex, and saunter around any time (I loved the early morning walks along the shrines with the sweet aroma of incense wafting by)
3) Economical (the ryokan which offered a similar coommodation charged abt 400 usd per night)
4) Authentic Japanese experience
5) Off the beaten path (if that is your taste)
6) You can boast of having "been there, done that" - staying at a shuboku is something even most locals have never done
7) You do NOT have to wake up early for meditation - in fact there was none on the days I was there (though prayers were offerred by the priest early, judging by the flowers I saw)

There is a good coco curry house 5 mins across the south gate that serves 2 dozen dishes and has menus in a 6 languages.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank JabberwockyIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myasha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Dudo que se pueda elegir habitación, pero lo mejor es comportarse y seguir las pautas marcadas
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Arriaga25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 森のかんちゃん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016
3  Thank ボボ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tripsato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Northern Kyoto
Ryokan Yamazaki
Ryokan Yamazaki
#91 of 374 in Kyoto
207 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Fujitaya Kyoto
Fujitaya Kyoto
#5 of 346 in Kyoto
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Piece Hostel Sanjo
Piece Hostel Sanjo
#1 of 346 in Kyoto
462 reviews
Gion Ryokan Q-beh
#14 of 346 in Kyoto
116 reviews
Chion-in Wajun-Kaikan
#60 of 346 in Kyoto
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myoshinji Daishin-in? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myoshinji Daishin-in

Address: 57 Hanazono Myoshinji-cho, Ukyo-ku, Kyoto 616-8035, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Western Kyoto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 346 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing