We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and affordable...but way too cramped!”
Review of Nagomi Ryokan Yu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nagomi Ryokan Yu
Ranked #59 of 370 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Clean and not expensive, but a 2x3 m room is not enough for 3 people.
And some futon have a bad smell, like someone went to sulfureous onsen and slept in, and they not washed it, just changed the sheets.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
Thank PaoloZ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 142 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2010

My husband and i stayed 2 nights in this Ryokan. It has features of a hostel - ie shared kitchen and a common room. Our room had a private bathroom which was very small and although I am a small person, found it hard to move around freely and find places to put my toothbrush and 'bath things' without fearing they might fall into the toilet. Once the bedding is laid down, there's pretty much no where else to walk / move but in the cold of winter, it made for a very quaint and cosy experience. The Ryokan provides free wireless and 24hour accesss (as long as you check in before 10PM they give you a code to the front door so you can come and go as you please). We booked through HostelWorld and paid around 11,000Yen which was ok value.

Navigating streets in Kyoto can be difficult so the first time we simply caught a taxi from Kyoto train station. It cost 1000Yen which is quite expensive however was worth it for us as we were running very late due to an accident on the Shinkansen tokaido line, it was dark and we had a lot of luggage.

We found the subway more expensive in Kyoto than in Tokyo and thus walked a lot to our points of interest (ie Gion corner, Nishiki Market, Pontacho). It took us around 40+ minutes walk from the Ryokan to these areas.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelMonki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2009

We stayed there for 1 night to explored the Kyoto temples. We chose this Ryokan because of the traditional designed of the building. We like the room very much, it is cosy & clean bathroom. The staffs are very friendly, they help us for the direction to the temples. We also tried to put on the Kimono at a very good price at 1000yen. The only drawback is the location of the Ryokan, it is quite far from the Kyoto train station it takes 20 minutes to walk there. During the night when we walk back to the hotel need past the alley is quite scary.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights, in a 3-tatami mat room with a tiny bathroom and "closet" - where the futons & blankets would have gone if they hadn't been left out in a corner of the room itself. Not quite the space for hanging up clothes that I had envisaged, but at least it gave us somewhere to keep our luggage out of the way.

We paid 11,000 yen per night for the room, which was quoted months before when booking our accommodation (I believe the price has gone up since). Given the size of the room, and the fact that it was a hostel, I thought it was quite overpriced. I suspect guests are paying for the heritage value of the recently renovated building (a "machiya", traditional Japanese wooden townhouse), which started taking guests in the northern hemisphere spring of 2009. The term "ryokan" is used in the accommodation name, but this seems merely to indicate that it's a Japanese inn - this is actually a "minshuku", so you won't get a high level of service or facilities. Note that you’ll also have to pay a deposit (1000 yen, I think) for the room key, refunded at the end of your stay upon return of the key.

Having said that, the room was air-conditioned, which was quite a boon in humid, mosquito-infested Kyoto. Staff were friendly, spoke good English (certainly far better than my virtually non-existent Japanese!) and did their best to answer any enquiries. The newness of the accommodation meant that the facilities hadn't yet acquired many hints of wear & tear, much less shabbiness. The entrance area has 2 computers with internet access, available to use free of charge, and you'll also find a small library there of travel guides (possibly donated by other travellers) for Kyoto and Japan in general, in English and other languages (well, at least one book was in German). You can also buy some public transport passes at reception: we bought a 500 yen bus pass valid for one day, and also a 2000 yen pass valid for buses and the 2 subway lines over 2 consecutive days (the 2000 yen pass came with a map with discount vouchers for some tourist attractions, but the issuing authority only publishes this in Japanese, which was very frustrating). Unfortunately, though, the reception is an open area and the smell of smoke can be quite intense at times, with a mosquito coil burning at the entrance, and smokers congregating just outside.

The location of the inn is ok. It's a walkable distance to Kyoto station (maybe 15 min?), and Gojo subway station (about 10 min). However, it is located in a residential area, so not exactly close to any centres of activity. If I were going to Kyoto again (and fingers crossed, I will), I would try to stay closer to either the station or the shopping/restaurant areas. Tourist attractions close about 5pm, and daylight savings isn't implemented in Japan, so it gets dark quite early. You can easily fill in a couple of hours before dinner with some shopping, and I find it's easier to do that if you don't have to worry about bus connections, etc.

A word of advice to first-timers at Nagomi Ryokan Yuu: If walking there from Kyoto station, take the route down Karasuma-dori , turning left at the 7-11. We took the other route marked on the map provided on the inn's website (going past Lawson's, down Shinmachi-dori), and got quite lost. The problem with the maps we had (some also from the tourist information centre on level 9 of Isetan department store at the station) is that many of the sidestreets aren't shown. We were also hard pressed to find street name signs, even in Japanese. The map on the inn's website notes that you should turn left when you see the public bath house on the right. However, the bath house is closed at certain times of the day, and the big sign showing figures in water was not on display when we walked past. As it was raining, the big red umbrella at the inn's entrance had been stowed away, so that marker was missing, too. We ended up taking over an hour to get to the inn, as many people we asked for directions either didn't know where it was (it had opened only a few months before), or knew where it was but we didn't understand them (with our limited Japanese); the one person we found who spoke English had been there only a few weeks (on exchange from Australia, we later learnt!) and unfortunately took us a long way off our goal in her friendly attempt to help. It would have been a lot more helpful if the instructions to get to the inn had mentioned the red-and-grey pavers of the alley on which it is located - it's the only sidestreet in that area that is paved in such a distinctive manner, and we passed it a few times during our search. Granted, it crosses more than one block, but at the very least we would've known that we were on the right street!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djinnooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights and loved it! It's really new, but still maintains the traditional Ryokan features.

Warning, this is a Ryokan, not a hotel, so don't expect big rooms and big bathrooms. The rooms are small and you have to duck down to get fully inside but it's all part of the experience. You sleep on the floor and bathrooms are small but adequate. Our room had a private bathroom so that was good.

There is a communal area with kitchen, fridge, internet, sitting are which is great. You can cook your own meals to save money.

Location is good, about 10 minute walk north of station.

We stayed in about 8 Ryokans whilst in Japan and this was our favorite.

Tip: Allow plenty of time for Kyoto, there is so much to see!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicken_features
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank EUNHEE Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Begoña G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Guest House Ikoi-no-ie
Guest House Ikoi-no-ie
#169 of 370 in Kyoto
97 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Nagomi Oyado Sato
Nagomi Oyado Sato
#201 of 370 in Kyoto
25 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Fujitaya Kyoto
Fujitaya Kyoto
#6 of 370 in Kyoto
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Haruya Aqua
Haruya Aqua
#46 of 370 in Kyoto
114 reviews
Gion Ryokan Q-beh
#16 of 370 in Kyoto
116 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hale Temari Kyoto Rokujo
Hale Temari Kyoto Rokujo
#150 of 370 in Kyoto
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nagomi Ryokan Yu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nagomi Ryokan Yu

Address: 94 Kamiwakamiyacho, Wakamiyadori Rokujo Nishi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8313, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 370 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range: $58 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nagomi Ryokan Yu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Machiya, Japanese traditional wooden, Guesthouse in Kyoto. Good location for sightseeing by city bus and subways. You can feel the authentic Kyoto's culutre and life with lovely antiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Rakuten, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Nagomi Ryokan Yu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nagomi Ryokan Yu Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing