We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value and service of all places I've seen in Kyoto”
Review of Hotel Mume

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mume
Ranked #1 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
somewhere in
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best value and service of all places I've seen in Kyoto”
Reviewed December 2, 2010

I’ve stayed at 3 places: Westin Miyako, Iori Kyoto Machiya and here. I loved all three, but for best overall value and service, Hotel Mume wins! I know another review said the price doesn’t compare to Brighton. However, if you visit during the high season (spring Hanami viewing and fall Koyo viewing), the price is incredible and cheaper than most places, to include Brighton, since they do not charge a high season rate.
The hotel and rooms are well decorated with touches from Japan, China and Southeast Asia. The bathrooms have incredible toilets. Heated seats, bidets, and seats that automatically raise and lower when you enter the bathroom are just a few descriptions of the white throne that awaits you! The bathroom also has heated towel warmers.
The hotel is in a great part of Kyoto. Location is VERY important if you do not wish to take cab rides every where. It is situated on a road surrounded by Japanese antique shops. It is a five minute walk to Gion Corner. It is a 11 minute walk to the nearest subway station Higashiyama (the bus is even closer). It is a 2 minute walk to the prettiest street in Kyoto (Shirakawa-minami Dori). It’s a 15 minute walk to the second prettiest street Ishibei Koji. If you are in good shape then there are several temples/shrines within walking distance: Shoren-in and Chion-in (15 min), Heian Jingu and Nanzen-ji (20 min), Kiyomizudera (35 minutes). I recommend taking a taxi the first time to the hotel since the hotel can be difficult to find without help.
Breakfast was outstanding and I could not get over the fact that the non-alcoholic drinks and refreshments are complimentary throughout the day!
Hisako-san, the owner, exemplifies Japanese service and attention to detail. She strives for perfection and the result is an amazing hotel with impeccable service. There is also internet connection in each room, if you bring a laptop.
I would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LivingforJesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    27
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
106
459
40
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed 5 nights in this lovely, small boutique hotel. The hotel is located on a quiet street, easy walking distance from the city centre, subway and many bus routes.The rooms and public areas are nicely furnished combining Japanese and western styles. We shared one of the smaller rooms and found it worked very well for two people. The bathrooms are luxuriously appointed - complete with a loo with at least 20 settings! The public areas were decorated with beautiful seasonal floral arrangements that changed weekly.

The breakfast room/bar looks over a lovely stream at the back of the hotel and is a lovely serene setting in which to eat breakfast. We had advised the hotel that we were vegetarian when we booked and this was no problem. The breakfasts were a delight - fresh fruit salad and freshly squeezed juice, freshly baked pastries, a boiled egg, tea/coffee and (this being Japan) a bowl of delicious soup! The pastries and soup changed daily and the whole experience was one of the highlights of the day!

The staff were very attentive and very knowledgeable about the best things to see in Kyoto and how to get to them via public transport. They also had an extensive knowledge of the local restaurants and were happy to make bookings including dietary requirements.

There are very few western style boutique hotels in Japan and Hotel Mume is a perfect base to see Kyoto.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suki023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

Having accommodating staff members might be the most important thing when talking thinking of how a hotel should be. But it did not stop there at Mume Hotel. The breakfast offers an array outstanding homemade food, the rooms are furnished with antiques and the location is great. No big words needed, this hotel is just great.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Like many others, I booked a room at Hotel Mume after reading all the great reviews on Trip Advisor and it was everything I could have hoped for as a first time visitor to Kyoto.

Hisako, the owner and manager, is more than accommodating, with a deep knowledge of the city sights, and wide array of restaurants to recommend each night. Her staff is ultra-courteous and offer a delicious daily breakfast and complimentary early evening drinks (both in a room overlooking a small stream).

I've stayed at nice hotels but am generally a no-frills traveler. I found the thoughtful, personal service here overwhelming. I wish every hotel could give this level of attention to guests. I felt a genuine appreciation for my patronage.

I stayed in the Butterfly room alone but it struck me as quite romantic for a couple (even with two separate beds). Pontochō, the charming path of restaurants and bars, is only a 15 min walk away. Most of the temples are either a long walk or short cab ride away.

A second Japan trip is most certainly in my future and when I return to Kyoto, there is no question I will be staying again at Hotel Mume.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trip_taker_jdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

The service at Hotel Mume was just outstanding! Everyone from the owner to the staff serving at breakfast was so helpful, polite and just the nicest people. They helped us with everything we needed - restaurant reservations, detailed directions to the restaurants and sights, recommendations on sights, shopping, laundry, and train schedules for our next destination.

We loved their freshly made breads and jams for breakfast. Their breakfast also included juice, coffee, tea, fruit bowl, yogurt, hard boiled egg and soup.

In the afternoon after you return from your sightseeing, they have coffee/espressos/teas and small tea cookies that they also bake themselves. I think there was happy hour as well, but we didn't make it to that. All of these were complimentary.

The rooms are filled with asian antiques and very comfortable. Hotel is located in Gion in a small street with lots of antique shops. Lots of restaurants within walking distance and walking distance to Pontocho and shopping area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emsf29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

The hotel is located in the Gion district of Kyoto, close to the Eastern attractions and Pontocho. The hotel has seven rooms decorated in Chinese style. The staff of the hotel is absolutely outstanding. Ask them anything about Kyoto and they will find it out. The breakfast is also worth mentioning, as the soup, bread and jams are all home-made. Only the rooms are a bit dark due to a very dark wall paint.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank febe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We stayed in Hotel Mume for four nights in October on our honeymoon,and can happily say the reports on Tripadvisor are not exaggerated, it really is a wonderful hotel.

From the relaxed check in over a cappucino, the delicious breakfasts and complimentary evening drinks each day to the absolutely beautiful rooms everything was fantastic. But above all else, the service from every single person in the hotel is what really sets it apart. The staff have excellent english, and provided us with local maps, recommended sightseeing spots and restaurant recommendations every night.

On our last night we mentioned to Hisako that we had nothing booked for the next 3 nights as we planned to travel away from the big cities and hopefully visit some traditional Japanese inns and try some onsen before returning to Tokyo. She came up with some fantastic suggestions and then very kindly spent about 3 hours making reservations (which would have been a nightmare for us to try and do via english), printing off train timetables, arranging our transportation and basically came up with a whole itinerary for us. I can't imagine any other hotel which would go to so much trouble.

All in all, a fantastic stay and my favourite hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJS1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 369 in Kyoto
550 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 369 in Kyoto
2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#13 of 369 in Kyoto
2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mume

Property: Hotel Mume
Address: 261 Shinmonzen dori, Umemotocho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0064, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Gion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing